December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Diplomacy - You Only Get One

by taocayo - Jam Entry

This is our first LD and this is pretty much our first completed game ever! We are a two-person team, one developer and one design artist, who are trying to get the hang of the indie game development field.

Our submission is called Space Diplomacy and it is part memory game, part action game. You represent mankind and will need to keep these cranky aliens happy, or else we face extinction. How to keep them happy? With cake, of course. They love cake. But they are very egalitarian, and your mission boils down to feed each alien one and only one piece of cake, once. Feed one alien twice, and well, we will die :(

Controllers: Feed aliens by clicking on them as they appear on screen. Just remember who you already fed - they will appear on screen various times. Some are fast, some are slow, some are a little sneaky. Good luck!

Our tools: Unity, Illustrator CC, Figure by propeller head, and After Effects, yet sadly, we did not have time to polish and none of the animations made it due to time constraints. All code, all art, and one audio loop belongs to us. We used free sound effects and sounds, as well, please check the additional credits for more info.

Hope you like our first game! We will continue to work on it, polish, add levels, etc., after the jam, and perhaps release it for mobile devices. Critiques, suggestions are very much welcome :)

Please follow us @mandelbrew in Twitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#59Audio(Jam)3.67
#70Theme(Jam)3.50
#73Graphics(Jam)4.18
#107Overall(Jam)3.51
#110Mood(Jam)3.44
#126Humor(Jam)3.03
#193Innovation(Jam)3.08
#193Fun(Jam)3.08

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Wonderful game. Very well designed and executed. Lots of polish.

pwnedu46 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

The music and art were wonderful. Great use of the theme as well.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

Beautiful looking game and nice concept but far too easy to complete.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Great one! I really enjoyed the whole concept and mechanics and your polish in every single category :) I look forward your longer, more difficult (and probably as you said - mobile) version.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Graphics: WOW
The small cake is the best haha~
what I am missing is something visual at the time where the fish worm things eating the cake.
I played this game realy long because it makes much fun. Thank you for such an awesome indie game :)

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Best so far, looks beautiful and the idea is awesome! :)

FelixNemis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very nice. Good use of theme, great graphics, good sound, fun although a bit short. The one thing that really takes away from this is the fact that the aliens simply appear and disappear without any sort of animation.
Good luck and keep at it!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

The ambient music could be a bit louder.

The art is beautiful, the polish is great, but the memory mechanic wasn't terribly fun for me, and I normally enjoy puzzle/memory games.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Amazingly polished. The first game I played where the player isn't the one only getting one, so you get some extra points in the theme category :)

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

great little game, good workout for the old memory banks! well done

Scifer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very nicely put together. Love the art style, although a bit more animation on those alien dignitaries would have been nice. Still, solid game ... but what exactly do you only get one of?

taocayo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:27am

Hi Scifer! The idea is that each dignitary gets only one slice of cake. If any one gets more than a single slice they go on a wacky genocidal rampage. So it's the player saying "you only get one"... piece of cake.

thanks for commenting!

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:37am

Nice take on the theme! This game is funny and well executed! The idea of saving the earth by dealing with cake eating aliens looks like something taken from one of Douglas Adams books ;) Besides that, the game is well polished and the graphics are neat! Congratulations!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:38am

Lovely art, and a good take on the theme.
Great job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Very nice art, and the gameplay is addictive :D

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:34pm

VERY good art.

it was a bit hard to find out WHY i lost, but still very funny

humor 10 too

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I liked, like a revamped twisted version of Simon. Very polished, and music was awesome. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:15am

cool. I like cake too... :D Hey that is a cool puzzle game with a good stress factor. Like really much. nice artwork, nice idea. Thx

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Really nice take on the theme and I loved how the aliens' positions are constantly randomised at various speeds to make it more difficult.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:17pm

what a fun game! Also, art direction is TOP notch <3

Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I had fun

CaptainKraft says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

The music and art are great. It also pointed out how poor my short-term memory is haha

van noctar says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Yeah! Very amazing! Good job! And good polished!

kirbytails7 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:35am

Simple and polished, with a strong style. Nice.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:10am

Really enjoyed this, good work :)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:50am

Hehe, what I lacked in the memory department I made up in sheer mouse management skills. Didn't really have to memorize anything after I fed each of them so quickly :P.

Awesome graphics and an interesting game idea! Oh, andc ongratulations on finishing your first Ludum Dare in one piece :D!

taocayo says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 3:33am

Thanks to everyone who rated/commented/critiqued. We are very happy with the result (still working on the mobile version coming soon!). See you all in April! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]