December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CHOOSE W1SELY

by Vi-King Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are many things you take for granted in a platformer. Walking backwards, attacking, a good camera, and health for example, you'd usually expect to see. But what if you could only have one?

This is my first Ludum Dare game. Can you get all 7 endings?

(Linux users: This game works with Wine)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#51Theme3.83
#66Audio3.56
#91Mood3.55
#109Overall3.64
#133Fun3.47
#134Graphics3.78
#222Innovation3.36
#330Humor2.65

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

doh, no windows machine, but looks really neat!

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

@mcapraro Aw man, I'm sorry... :(
I was originally going to export it to java so that everyone can play it, but it didn't work quite right... :(

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I just play and it is very good idea. I love the graphics style gameboy. A little hard for me

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

audio is great, game is fun. maybe make the camera move smoothly with the character instead of jump around. Thanks!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I really like this game!
The graphics are cute,
it really goes well with the theme,
the music is nice,
and most important, it is very fun.
It seemed like collision detection was a wee bit buggy,
but otherwise it seemed very well put together! Good job!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Awesome, clever use of the mechanic, and I love the game boy style graphics. Great work!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Wow this game was so hard! But I liked it anyway and the main character is adorable.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Digging the MIDI stuff, the game was tough but the concept was really cool!

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

@TeddyNashor It does that on purpose. If you want a good camera, choose Improved Camera at the start! ;)

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

@minibutmany Whoa, you liked the music?? I threw it together at the last minute with a random generator, and almost scrapped it. XD

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Wow, more people are loving the music. That... is a very pleasant surprise.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Oh! Really nice take on the theme. It's a really cleaver game! Nice graphic style..

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Fun Fact: This was originally going to be an RPG Maker mystery where you're trapped in a mansion with a murderer. You'd have to figure out who the murderer was and kill him/her, all with one single bullet on hand. Who knows, maybe I'll use this idea for another game later on! ;D

ocmu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very nice game. Maybe the running speed is a little fast, but the concept is great!

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48pm

This is... way beyond my ability. It's saying something to even HAVE music in one of these things. Nice take on the theme... I was considering doing something sort of like this actually, but had no idea where to start... Great job!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Liked it very much. Great art style and sound/music. And very fluent controls. Also a great way to interpret the theme. You want to play it again and again.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55am

Nice graphics, good audio, funny, hard.... Really good game, I love it!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

Now that was a blast from the past. Really clever use of the theme! You need to be an old git like me to really appreciate how inventive this is.

stefan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

This is a nice approach to the theme. Graphics and audio are also great. All in all, your game seems very polished, you even had time for an easter egg =) Good job!

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16am

My goodness this game is difficult. I find myself really wanting a way of quickly retrying with my previous choice, as soon as I die (maybe a "press space to retry" sort of option on the game over screen).

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16am

Music generator? Seriously? Have four stars on audio! Lucky guys! grat sounds! Muahahaha! Nice game!

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:24am

@ryangatts Alright, I'll keep that in mind for future games. Thank you!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:28am

The intro is great! Game really needs variable jump height (ie depends on how long you hold the button) for a better platformer feel I think.

I like the application of the theme, in that you get to choose your own "only one" rather than it being static. I think the improved camera is my favorite, drives me crazy without it.

It's a pretty cool game though. The graphical style is nice too.

I give it 4/5!

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

That wrecking ball! I hate it!

Everything else though is wonderful! Easily one of the best use of theme yet.

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

@Managore I'm sure there's at least one Wrecking Ball we hate a whole lot more ;)

Clavus says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Bit hard, so I didn't get till the end, but the concept is pretty nice. Although having a "better camera" as an option seems kinda harsh.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Gorgeous pixel art.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:05am

fun idea and i love the gameboy like graphics. verry hard but thats fine, challange is fun. range of obsticals is great and music and sound effects are nice. Great marioesk game.

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:40pm

A bit difficult, but still very enjoyable.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:44pm

MAAAANNNNN LOVED THE GAME! :D VERY FUN!!!! AWESOME GRAPHICS :D NICE LITTLE STORY! XD i SCREAM BECAUSE I WAS ABOUT TO DIE hahahahaha GREAT WORK! :D

hirsch says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Really nice game, works with wine (except the music). One thing that was a bit disadvantageous is the [z] key to shoot (german keyboard layout) - beside of this the game is really fun to play! Good work :)
+ The sounds were really nice

Xanjos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Enjoyed this game a lot. Loved the gameboy style graphics and I really liked how each choice you pick is like a different challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]