December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbbow Man

by Eric - Jam Entry

You only have one objective: get the cake. You only have one chance to do it(at least i think there is only one xp). Find the window of opportunity.

Yay finished my first ever major game!
used:
art: gimp, pixlr
language: C++
additional libraries: SFML 2.1 <- I recomend this

oh and if the link does not work tell me

edit: the game is not supposed to slow down but I could not get it not to do that xp. Also I do not know if its to hard. I can see the way through but apparently others cant. So tell me if you cant find the way.

edit2: apparently my computer thinks the game is going way faster than it is on everyone else's. I don't know if this is because I'm using a super computer or because of other reasons. Any way sorry for that I have no idea how to change it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#321Humor(Jam)2.14
#337Theme(Jam)2.56
#398Audio(Jam)2.27
#463Mood(Jam)2.23
#515Graphics(Jam)1.96
#523Fun(Jam)1.85
#529Overall(Jam)2.14
#542Innovation(Jam)1.70

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

Congrats for finishing your first game, well done! I tried a few times but with all the platforms moving to the right I couldn't see how to actually get to the cake. As soon as I started moving everything slowed down but so did rainbow man. Maybe I'm missing something important?

lilinx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Congratulations for finishing a game in time, using this C++ crazyness and all. Sounds like magic to me.
I've got the same problem with rainbow man, it gets slow...

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I couldn't find a way to finish :(
I like the humor though. The music really let that feeling sink in. It's a fun,simple game.

I think you have a problem with your game loop. My CPU usage is really high for a game like this. Did you forget to limit the number of game updates per second?

I also used C++ and there's just so little time to make stuff work. :P

Cayo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Great job submitting this in time! I echo what ashen has said about the platforms. Since none of them move left, there is no way to recover if you find yourself stranded to close to the right.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Cayo that is exactly the point you only get one shot through xD! oh and the slowness is my bad. I got some stuff mixed up and for some reason my computer runs it fine so.. I need to fix that! but thank you all for trying it!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I made it to the cake! Didn't think I was going to manage but a daring diagonal maneuver saw me across.

I imagine the slowdown was unintentional but it was still amusing to have everything get slow and tense whenever you started to move.

A neat little idea and well done on finishing the game.

Thanks, Mozart. Thozart.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Yea I attempted a few times to get through, but failed my one job lol. You could make it just restart the level if you fail, instead of closing the .exe usually is a good idea. Grats, and thanks for submitting!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

The problem with the game is that you need to limit the frames. It is running at such a high frame rate that it make my GPU whirl and actually causes to freeze.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38am

oh I guess i should look into that xD. Im using my custom built pc so its probably like running a small application to it but to others its like trying to drag a elephant around. Thanks for trying it!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46am

In order to fix some of the speed problems, you may want to
google "Delta based movement" or "Time based movement".
Nice first entry!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Very difficult!

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

85mb? ): I have poor internet connection :/

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:49am

I eventually found my way across. I just had to wait through about 10 sets of blocks, of and stand on the left side of the screen as well. The rainbow man's graphics tweak out if you are holding more than 1 key at a time, which can be amusing.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:44am

Oh no! It's strange emotion... On the gameover I can't close the game, and must wait for the end. It's not good.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Congratulations on finish your game!
Speed issue: it's always a good practice to not move your character by constant distance, but also multiply it a by a time elapsed since the last update. There's usually some method to read system time, then you just subtract the currect value from previous frame value. This way your movement won't be frame-based (which may differ for various devices) but time-based (time is measured accurately on all devices). But other comments might explain in a more sensible way.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:07pm

It had surprisingly big size and lot of bugs, but since it is your first game, it is ok :)

DBRalir says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Neat game, but it's unplayable due to the slowness. I have a very powerful machine, so even with an unoptimized game loop, it should run fine.

I noticed that there seems to be VC++ debug info (RainbowMan.pdb). If you're building the application in Debug mode, that could be the cause of the slowness, but I doubt it.

Using "delta time", like others suggested, fixes a lot of issues. However, it will probably not fix the speed issue. Limiting the framerate would be a good start. Perhaps you could upload your source code and allow a kind passerby to diagnose it.

Also, that Mozart music file is 90 MB! That is unacceptable, please never use WAV for music. I recommend FLAC (40 MB, lossless quality) or Ogg Vorbis (7.6 MB, use this one please). If you hate freedom, MP3 is similar to Vorbis (7.5 MB).

Anyway, congratulations on your first game! It's nice to see that others are using C++.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]