December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lumen

by Nelien - Jam Entry

Take a deep breath and dive.

Lumen takes you underwater in a mysterious exploration of dangerous caverns and deep perilous trenches. Use of headphones recommended!

This entry is done by:

Cristian Cobzarenco
Jakob Calero


Made with MOAI (http://www.getmoai.com)
Music and SFX are based on free assets available online: see http://atl.nwydo.com/attributions.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Mood(Jam)4.16
#19Theme(Jam)3.94
#19Overall(Jam)3.99
#42Audio(Jam)3.77
#43Innovation(Jam)3.67
#44Graphics(Jam)4.30
#125Fun(Jam)3.30
#341Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

Oooh, this is a cool one. I love how the light bounces gently. Lots of fun, good use of theme, and looks absolutely gorgeous.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

Wonderful atmosphere. I felt that the controls were a little sluggish, which lead to me getting frustrated every time I died. I really like the idea though :D

gavintlgold says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

I got an error about the visual C redistributable not being available.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

Opens a console window that says this:

Audio Thread running
:

Then it crashes.

Relevant Windows 7 crash information, if you care about that:

Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: Lumen.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 52af22ab
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

Gameplay is too long

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

Beautiful graphics and fun game play.

MisterDerek2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Amazing! Really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Thanks all for the comments and feedback! For those of you who have technical issues with the Windows version, we recommend you try the WEB version now! It should be up and running and work on most modern web browsers.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Whoa, this is beautiful! :O

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fantastic game. Looks and sounds amazing.

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

You really set the mood on this one!

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Great game I should say, nice graphic, nice sound, fun and addictive. Well, it's a little frustrating to play sometimes, the movement is a little sluggish. However, to create this game under 24 hour is really awesome!

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Cool game, very immersive. The gameplay is a bit slow, but it fits well with the underwater ambiance.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Seems a bit hard to control the character, as he moves so slowly, but overall the game is really interesting, sounds good, and looks outstanding. Very well done.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

fun and it look freaking great. hard though hate taking it slow

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Man, that art design is incredible. I love the atmosphere that you built with this, and the gameplay is spot-on. Great work!

5elephants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

It's great. I loved the visuals and the gameplay (although it felt a bit too slow for me). I could see this game becoming a full game !

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Very cool graphics, I liked the bouncing light mechanic and the game is difficult in just the right way, like "damn, I should've dodged that. Well, I'll remember that next time" kind of difficult. Very good.

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

WOW. This game is amazing, by far one of the best entries I have seen thus far. I really like the dark underwater atmosphere which is greatly supported by your choice of cold colors. Also, the slow pace really contributed to that in my opinion, faster gameplay might have ruined it.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Great game! The atmosphere is amazing and it is pretty fun to play. Controls are a bit sluggish though and it is pretty slow to play through.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

By far the most complete and atmospheric game so far. Great music, sound, art, and gameplay mechanic. Amazing work!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Definitely one of the best entries... just amazing game. Graphics, lightening and sounds creates really creates great atmosphere, it gave me the chills quite a few times... Really, really good game!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Pretty nice, liked the art style and I thought the light mechanic was pretty well done. Very interesting to play, disorientating when you don't have the light. Good job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

The light can pretty easily get away from you and sometimes you can't see the spikes very well even though the light passes right through them. Really liked the audio effects, though.

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:34am

Beautiful game! I love games set underwater. You really managed to capture that feel.

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Relly great graphics and feel :D

I followed your comment, and I gotta say you nailed it head on hahaha, I added some extra text tot the description for it to clarify :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Wow loved the artwork and it fits the theme amazingly :D

godan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Excellent! The mechanic is pretty cool. Great atmosphere, too.

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Love the aesthetic, audio and the game play mechanic of using the light is extremely interesting, great entry

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Great looking game. I love the lighting and atmosphere.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Astounding visuals and audio, super innovative mechanic, and amazing overall feel. Excellent job!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02pm

really nice! beautiful =)

plaguespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The zooming camera could spice things up

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Excellent entry with wonderful visuals and sweet audio! Congrats!

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Neat concept that fits very well in the theme, and perfect execution. The graphics are beautiful and there's great attention to detail. There's even some recoil when you throw the light (yay physics!). The sound effects really make you feel like you're underwater.
In terms of gameplay, I found it a bit too frustrating though.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35pm

this was pretty cool. audio was really nice, and everything fit together well. nicely done.

Avocado says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Pretty neat, felt solid but fairly limited.

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Another w-o-w from me.
Music, visuals, gameplay, everything fits. Nothing bitchy to say here ;)

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Lovely atmosphere.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Fits perfectly with the theme, good atmosphere, i would like to move my character a little bit faster.

Ongaku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01pm

This is very very good, congratulations !

Kimau says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Wow that is so moody with the breathing and the light. Loved how little areas stayed lit up.

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:11am

Excellent in pretty much every way. One of my favourites.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

So very contemplative! Top marks for this, lovely mechanic and idea!

hbocao says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:36am

Great entry, dudes. Really good job. Beautiful graphics and a nice soundtrack really sets the mood. Well done!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:02am

Beautiful entry. Great visuals and sounds, of course. Was a little unclear what would kill you or not. Would almost have preferred if there was nothing but harmful spikes/coral etc, vs mixing it with non harmful things? This will do well.

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17am

Very neat use of lighting and good retrieval mechanic

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:20am

Wow solid atmosphere! the game as a whole feels very cohesive and immersive. Well done

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice game ! I love the graphics ! Great job :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33am

Nice atmospheres! Nice ligths!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:56am

Controls a bit slow but, everything you have here is amazing! very nice!
Reminds me of a game... But I can't remember what.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27am

very cool game.

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:07am

nice visuals (when it is not completely dark :P)

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41am

Wow, this is beautiful. There seem to be so many details that make it seem way more thought out than a 72 hour game. Music was beautiful, although the breathing was a bit creepy.

I played the web version and couldn't get past one level (2nd or 3rd - can't remember) because my window's maximum height (625px) was too small. When I tried to scroll down and then clicked back in the game to give it focus, the game automatically scrolled back to the top. I tried going doubly blind by alternating directing the diver and scrolling to see where I was, but this proved too difficult.

Other than that, awesome game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:53am

This is a really excellent little game! Excellent visuals and sound design, and a simple but fun mechanic. Great job!

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:25am

Just fantastic...

You really feel like your are underwater, the darkness and the visual effects are here to reinforce this feeling and make everything so vivid.

Only one bad thing I'd point out is the fact you can't really guess what's an enemy or not. You get some bad surprises at first, but get used to it afterwards.

Excellent job!

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:27am

It was a pleasure to play this game. Great ambience and mechanic.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08am

This one is truly a gem. I liked it overall and in details. The sound are truly immersing. I also liked that when you launch the light bulb, you rollback a bit as it would be in real life :)
Great job you've done there!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:16am

Cool game, nice graphics and great took on the theme :D

Tyu says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54am

The atmosphere reminds me a lot of They Breathe. It's great to see more and more games with this kind of style. Nice work!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:17am

Nelien, You need to install SDL to run the game

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

Atmospheric, immersive, engaging. Here, take all my scores.

ambi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:41am

The mood and audio is superb. The game is just a little bit of a resource hog and the actual gameplay can be frustrating.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:31am

Everything is perfect! Love this one!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33am

Awesome atmosphere whith those graphics and music. I really like how the light float and bounce. Great work!! :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Nelien, now it has msvcp210.dll included with it

Before Light says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52pm

It is fun, graphics look nice. Nice game!

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04pm

It's perfect.
The visuals, the controls, the difficulty - everything is great. The idea is awesome, too.

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:33pm

It loads and then the screen stays black(web) I tried chrome and firefox. Also tried the download the same thing happens but the screen is never drawn, I just get the window frame and it hangs there :( Must be my crappy video card though. On chrome is says there was a problem with WebGl.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This is somewhat mesmerizing...
I like how you throw your light, and how some parts remain lighten...

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Graphics so nice and smooth movement. On the other hand I think that player's lighting is too small to avoid enemies. Btw a great job and reminds a lot a game that uses the same gameplay concept.

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:10pm

That's how games should be made. Kudos.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Awesome entry especially for the idea and the graphics. Congratulations.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Great atmosphere, but very very hard.

van noctar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Waouh! I'm dazed!!! This game is wonderfull!!

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very well done and slightly spooky

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Gorgeous graphics, but just a tiny bit more light might have helped. Also, pivoting light, rather than just flipping between front and back.

Works great on the web.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38pm

This one is so elegant! I love the little touches - the lights that activate as your lantern gets near, the tiny poof of light whenever you die so you can see what hit you, the little bit of recoil on launching the lantern. Would have loved to see a level that was all glowing grass. Nice work!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Beautiful, simply beautiful ,thank you for giving us this experience

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Fantastic!

robhor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Fantastically atmospheric, beautiful!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Very pretty! Lovely atmosphere, very calm. The idea of the ball as some kinda physically modelled lidar beacon is fun - really ups the tension in navigating the maze. Loved the kick-back when launching the ball! Great work, could do with seeing more!

pele says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Awesome! The interpretation of the theme is cool, the graphics are neat and the game difficulty is just right :)

angela says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:27am

Wow! Can honestly say this is the best one i've rated yet

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:31am

Nice use of lighting effects. This game reminds me of the swimming stage in the first TMNT NES game where you have to diffuse the bombs.

henrykun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:56am

Awesome graphics, sounds and mechanics, this is a really good idea, very polished as well.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:18am

Fantastic game!
I love how the level lights up as you explore it, I didn't realize it at first, but looking back at the level once you're almost done with it is a great feeling.
The mellow and immersive sounds combined with the intriguing graphics add up to an awesome atmosphere that makes me just want to keep exploring this underwater world.
My only gripe is that once the orb gets too far away from you in the wrong direction, getting it back can feel a bit tiresome.

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:06am

Hey, this is entry is great. I like what you have made out of the theme and it's also really well executed. The graphics are very nice, the gameplay is figured out in seconds and what I find best is the heavy breathing in the background. it really brings some atmosphere to the exploration ;)

bensoto says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:16am

Cool game. My only crit is that its hard to tell what is dangerous. good sound and mood definitely.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:32am

Man oh man the atmosphere on this game was stellar! :D!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:33am

Oh also I forgot to say you really implemented the theme well! :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice. Great use of the theme. Game felt a bit tense in places when the light had gotten away from me a bit and I had to traverse the darkness to get it back (not a bad thing). Not sure what else to say really, but well done!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Amazing sound and nice idea. First time I had problems identifying the 'enemies', so it was a little hard to get trough.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Gorgeous atmosphere, loved the art and use of audio.

alyip98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Great game with a nice touch of light to it :)
Love the little fish, but dun really understand how the spikes work

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Wow, you are right. Our games' core mechanics are very similar. Except this one is way more polished presentation-wise. Love the mood set by the audio and visuals.
Only problem I had was that I sometimes could not quite tell the dangerous spikes apart from random harmless shrubs. A higher visual distinction would have been nice.
Also, I would have loved to see some reward for getting through to the end. Maybe escaping the cave?
Apart from that, great entry!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Brilliant use of tense atmosphere and exploration, carefully navigating the caves had be on the edge of my seat at times. Seriously excellent job, grats :D

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Great take on the theme and gorgeous graphics! It's also a pretty fun and challenging game. congrats!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Really charming :) Kept me playing for a while :) Only the obstacles were abit hard to identify. Congratulations!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very Good, love the art. Simple concept, but still feels like a new experience.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09pm

That is definitely going to be a Jam winner

eli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Unbelievable mood. You nailed it. I really liked the sense of everything hanging on a thread, as your only light source is flung away at full power. It got really claustrophobic at times, as a sort of tunnel vision sets in.

Very impressive.

rezzish says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:39pm

This feels very polished. I think if you left the lights on after dying, that would take a bit of the edge off starting the level over.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Excellent game. The audio is really good for the mood. Also, it's terribly difficult when the light just go through some spikes and you have to go in the dark to catch it! Good job!

SamH says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:35am

Excellent game as it is, it won’t need much more polishing to become a shippable product!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:26am

Fun and simple, good job!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:31am

awesome

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:18am

The mood is strong with this one. Great job!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nicely done. I like the balance between exploring and protecting. The audio was nice and subtle, The graphics done well. I liked the glowing effects from the different fauna. A very well rounded entry.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:29am

Just a very well rounded entry, even if it could use some checkpoints

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19am

Really cool entry. The sounds where great. Innovative use of the theme.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:21pm

pretty awesome, I love the sound and the mood, thw world seems enought realistic to immerse the player. My only concerin is about the mechanics throw and re get the ball... not sure about that. well done

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Great little game, maybe the char is just a little too slow.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I was not able to run this game in Firefox, because it crashed the browser every time... Chrome worked fine though...

This is pretty amazing, the sound is perfect, the gameplay simple yet enjoyable and challenging...

On the third level, after I died and hit retry, I noticed that the character sunk faster... Not sure if that is a level thing or a bug though...

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I feel like the instruction to keep the light safe because you only get one is a bit misleading... you don't have to worry about the light dying, just yourself. But nitpickiness aside, I really like this.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wow, absolutely amazing. Very calm and relaxing, it's definitely a good job I had my headphones on, as the ambiance was fantastic. Just a shame there weren't more levels.

insane66 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Everything looks very polished. Challenging to get through. Really pretty with awesome audio effects.

ashen says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Great atmosphere created through excellent lighting and sound effects. It's also very fun to play thanks to responsive controls and a nice use of the theme. One of the best games I've tried this LD, well done!

Madball says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Holy crap, it's awesome! The best game I've seen so far. It's somewhat weird and mysterious... And somewhat short. It ended when I began to enjoy it.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:39pm

wow, such a solid and polished experience, great work on this! the atmosphere is especially well put together, and the graphics are really great!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I had to take a deep breath after finishing it. Well done!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:51pm

very good game, love how lighting was work in this game, really moody. Nice one Bofrano!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Gorgous graphics, good athmosphere. I like this one!

OneDee says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:26pm

VERY Cool, I had a similar concept but waaay different in execution. Like yours better!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Deep, dark, mysterious, creepy, beautiful .... fishy? In a good way :D Thoroughly enjoyed this, absolutely bang on feel and really nice controls - you have the physics balanced to a tee and the lighting effects are just excellent, thank you!

davisan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:23am

Wow, incredible game!!

deadlypear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:11am

Impressive! Found myself actually holding my breath. Love how the atmospheric soundtrack (yes, best with headphones!) is the first impression into this deep, dark underwater world. Challenging in the right ways; well thought out level design and beautiful art support each other. Liked the game mechanic of separating and rejoining with the light. Controls could use tweaking, for example: a) able to use arrow keys and/or WASD; b) all keyboard: spacebar or shift + direction to release light; c) and/or all mouse. Switching back and forth pulls me back out of the immersion of the game... and it is VERY immersive. Overall, great game! Run, er... swim with this idea!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:10am

Lovely, nice play on lighting, and the sounds gave it a very nice atmosphere.

At first I thought the walls were killing me, and then both the walls and some stuff along the walls, it wasn't until the third level I realized that I could touch the walls.

Also, since you wondered about my entry, I made the graphics by hand in MMF2, without reference.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very nice mood!

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Looks incredible, but got the better of the laptop I was testing on - so I couldn't play for too long due to overheating. But the mechanics that I got to see were very solid, and this looks incredible.

Zener says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very nice entry. It fits perfectly the theme and being blind most of the time brings a lot of tension. Well done!

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Great concept, I like it.
Could you please add arrows controls ? I'm not confortable with W A S D keys, especially with an "AZERTY" keyboard :/

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:31am

Really well designed levels! Awesome and impressive work for 2 guys in the short time frame!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:06am

hoaahhh cooolll

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:01am

Wow. This is quite good. The concept is simple and the execution clean. It's like what Aquaria should have been. Well done!

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Tremendous mood in this entry. It's simple to understand, and immediately fun! I had a little trouble deciphering what could damage my character and what couldn't, but besides that, no complaints.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice dark atmosphere!
A bit hard to spot the dangerous spikes, and once spotted sometimes it's a bit too hard to avoid them too in a tight tunnels.

One suggestion: put some small collectible lumen along the way. when you collect them, they might serve you as both health points, and light source (the light around the character to grow with every lumen).
Then when you get hurt by the spikes, the player might lose the lumen, lose light, but stay alive.
By this you'll give more chance to the player and some collecting mechanic might increase the fun.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I think that the graphics of the lethal elements should be more distinguishable by the background, but apart from that, quite a good game.

Raphy says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:23am

Great game, cool concept, really good graphics and simple but appealing athmospheric sounds. Problem with that concept is that it can get kindda repetitive and slow though.

anvoz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Beautiful graphics. I like the concept. You should add some checkpoints for long levels to make the game easier.

timothyolt says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Simply amazing. In the depths of the sea, where light is as valuable as life, you have the one source of hope.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:34am

Brilliant entry, lovely graphics, unique mechanic and atmospheric sound (kinda sounded like filtered breathing XD) leads to a fun game.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Incredible game, really rad! :D

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:15am

Excellent sound design and mood. I liked following my light sphere through the dark for a while, but it eventually got pretty tedious to guess and then have to track it down and then die on some spikes and start over. I wish it was a bit more forgiving or a bit more arcadey?

LatFoued says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

The mechanics are very cool and very well done. The gameplay and mood are amazing too. God job

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

A very good game with strong atmosphere due to a nice graphics/sounds combination.
It really feels like I'm trapped in the depths of some ocean...
Well done folks!

Muciojad says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Amazing. Excellent lights and mood. I love it :)

skiesgamingtv says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Wow, what a great experience ! Nice use of the theme, gorgeous graphics and that music ... Great job you guys ! Will definitely track your next games :)
French review available here http://youtu.be/o1m9BhljBWk

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Wow, what an amazing entry! Looks gorgeous, very atmospheric! However it was a bit too difficult to play for my taste - would have been nice to have a "call back" mechanism for the light. I tried firing it down and behind me to avoid traps but still ended up having to retry - gave up after about 6 attempts. Nonetheless, the most impressive LD entry I have seen so far. Spectacularly beautiful.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:42pm

It was a really cool experience, liked a lot the ambiance, the feel of loneliness in the dark with that small and precious light !
About the slow velocity of the character, it reinforce the challenge of following the light, and the Player can measure his moves precisely, that's good !

Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:56pm

great Fun :D love the Art

runvs says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice Game! I like the graphicstyle and the atmosphere.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:19pm

impressive art style, music, and great job implementing the theme!

spx says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:38am

I really like the visuals and feeling of exploration (incl. movement+sound). Maybe the spikes could be a bit easier to distinguish from the environment.

ViliX says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I think, that you might win this LD :)

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Great visuals :D but I had trouble to see what would kill me and what wouldn't.

michail says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Beautiful graphics and nice atmosphere, but a bit short.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

very nice lighting and graphics and sound. It excels at making you feel like you are immersed in the environment and the lighting and shadows work with this perfectly. I just wish i was more fun. :D (chase the ball if you miss, sigh)

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Amazing!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Excellent Graphics and Audio, but the game wasn't really fun

oxysoft says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Very artistically astounding work, but there needs to be more game mechanics being introduced to keep the player entertained

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Well done! Reminds me of a game in LD26. Would be nice to be able to control the strength of the orb throwing.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Cool Game, like the graphics!

Aaants says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Great work. There's a really nice mood created by the graphics and audio.

tklovert says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:07am

Wow. Yeah I went with 5's across the board except for humor (N/A).

This is a unique take on theme, looked beautiful, sound was great, and was actually really fun. I liked how it turned into a memory game when you had to go chase down the light.

Would love to see a fleshed out version with upgrades and other cool features.

30dogs says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Cool concept and a very good take on the theme. The audio and graphics made are very polished and came together well to create an excellent mood. My main complaint is that it was perhaps a little too difficult to distinguish which props were deadly vs. harmless.

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:15pm

This might be the best ld28 entry I've played so far. Excellent job.

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:42am

Very fun, and a challenging concept! It all pulls together with good, simple controls, and the audio helps set the mood. Good entry!

Clayblob says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Didn't work...? Probably just me.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Good lighting, I like it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:42am

Wow! Great mood, great use of lights, great atmosphere, simple game-play.. I really like this one :-) Good job

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Wow, this game looks and sounds very nice. One or two checkpoints per level wouldn't be that bad! :D

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I like the vibe of this game. Controls are little bit slow for me. Ah, don't listen to me, the game is cool. :)

yapshuter63 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Cool! A very relaxing game

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:44am

Beautifully made! My browsers did not play any sound or music, but the behaviour and mood was still perfect!

Elforama says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]