December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mama is Sick

by JaymeeMak - Jam Entry

******IF PLAYING WINDOWS/MAC VERSION, PLAY AT 800X600******

"Mama is Sick" is a resource-management, hard-times simulation game.

YOU ONLY GET ONE DOLLAR A DAY to look after your family (thanks to a generous family from overseas) while papa is away and mama is sick.

Buy food and water to make sure the food, water and health bars of you and your family don't reach zero or death will occur.

If your education bar reaches zero, you won't graduate high school.

You have to last 50 days until papa comes back. Will you manage to graduate? Will everyone survive?

You can work in a clothing factory to earn 50c a day, but be careful not to miss too much school. You also need to study at least three days a week or risk not being able to graduate.

Minor Bugs:
Expect them.

Made by:
Guerric Hache a.k.a. GarrickWinter (Programming and Mechanical Design)
http://playingwithmeaning.blogspot.ca

Jaymee Mak a.k.a JaymeeMak (Art, Narrative and Mechanical Design, Audio)
http://appletomypi.wordpress.com

P.S. Read the instructions plox :P
P.S.S. Jaymee is not an artist. She will never be an artist. But Guerric has been banned from touching art. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#48Mood(Jam)3.74
#84Overall(Jam)3.59
#85Innovation(Jam)3.42
#113Theme(Jam)3.29
#156Audio(Jam)3.25
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#305Graphics(Jam)3.08
#362Humor(Jam)2.02

Comments

GarrickWinter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

We did it, bugs and all! :D

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

Is there anywhere else besides Facebook you could host the Windows download? (Dropbox, Google Drive)

LukeR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Good game, but what has it to do with the theme?

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

Wow. sobering and powerful. Something I should have my kids play when they complain about their "third world problems." Well done!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

@doitle We are uploading a new link now, thank you for your feedback!

@LukeR Thanks for the feedback, in our game you only have $1 a day to help your family survive.

@Unept Your comment means a lot to us, we'd love to hear what your kids think about the game!

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

This game deserves a lot more attention than I managed to give it now: "Oh, I'll just play one more game before I leave." I'm giving it a high 'first impression' rating, so it appears in my list of rated games. I'll give it a full playthrough later.

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09am

You almost made me cry.. Truth is I've met several people in exactly this situation, forced to choose work (at absurd rates) over school in my travels. This hit home. Nice work.

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

That was super depressing but also very, very good.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

an ace idea and great game mechanics, loved the music too!

Calahagus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Really nicely done! The graphics are disturbingly happy for such a serious game, and the gameplay is very sound. My problem is that the upgrades were a little unclear as to what they did, but I didn't read the instructions so that's probably my fault. Good job!

MisterDerek2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice work!

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

One of the most brutal games I've encountered so far.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

good job but i dont enjoy

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

This fits with the theme, although the flavor text is a little dark. To be honest, this style of turn-by-turn game is not my cup of tea, but the graphics are really good, and the audio is well done.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44am

Wow that is great. Sad, but great. Also really difficult. Congrats!

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

This is a very interesting game. I found the interface a little confusing at times, but once I resolved the confusion, it was pretty simple, and the concept is powerful.

Well done.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

Sad but interesting game. It was very hard to understand the goat and upgrades mechanic, the fact that grey icon means you dont have the upgrade OR you have it but its unactive, is deceptive. Maybe hiding the price once you bought it.

Selecting the bucket everyday is boring, why not allocate it to someone until you change your mind ? ( like blanket )

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

Wow this was really brutal. Excellent use of the theme. I managed to get to the end with only one family member dying, but only because I didn't try to stay in school at all.

GarrickWinter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44am

Wow, we are really happy and humbled to hear the game made such an impact with you all! Thank you so much for your comments!

@Benjamin & @Calahagus: Thanks for your feedback regarding the interface. This was our first real foray into interface design, so we still have much to learn. We really appreciate your feedback!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44am

A very good game! You hit the mood spot on, and it made me empathise about what exactly I'd do if I also had $1 a day, haha. There were a lot of instructions to take in initially, but after reading I found out the game was pretty straight forward anyway. :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50am

Wow, that was dark. Very nice atmosphere you have going in the game. nice work!

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52am

Oh man, I can't keep my family alive :(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59am

Very nice mood!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35am

Agh why! So sad and depressing, EVERYONE DIED except me. And at the end I had like $30. Man, if I just had a time machine :(

Well. It's hard. It is a bit emotional and sad, especially since the dad writes letters about waiting to see everyone when they are all dead. I don't think I could stand to play another minute of it, so... take that however you want.

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

First thoughts: DAT THEME...DAT MUSIC...step1, try not to cry, step2, cry a lot...instant 5 for Mood, without hesitation!

This is way the most powerful part of this game. Graphics are enough for this game, music fits perfectly for mood.

Not even sure if I should even rate Fun in this case.

A great-great 5 overall.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Depressing game, but nice too. Good job!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Wow...you've done a terrific job. Gameplay is brilliant: it serves the sad story (and the theme) amazingly well, and so does music. Congratulations!

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Great job!

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Wow!
Great graphics and music.

Really a game that makes us reflect. Sad and the story box... powerful.
Great game! One of my favorites on this jam, for real! Awesome job!

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :)

KayZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Sad game with fitting music. Very good. On my first try everyone died but second time everyone survived. Nice story too.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Great experience. Thanks for making it!

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

What a sad game. Well done.

taocayo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

Moving game, loved the music, the story... everything... I am playing it a second time, and I think I will another time after that. :D it reminded me of Papers Please, one of my favorite games right now!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21am

This is a sad game :(
The graphics are pretty cool though!
I'm not too sure how this connects with the theme but, it's pretty cool nonetheless!

Rscar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29am

Dang this was heavy

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:59am

Really moving.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31am

Serious and well executed. Lots of stars.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:38am

everyone except me died so i survived dads coming back.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50am

This game is so sad. You guys did it.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:15am

really innovative. i tried several times.

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:13am

That was intense, I hope more people play it.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14am

Brilliant use of the theme! Has all the right feels to it. Full score from me! :')

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:27am

Oh, my mum died :( It's a sad game but really interesting and moving, great work!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Great game ... played twice but mama did not suvive

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great way of making people experience, first hand, the hardships that the poorest of this world must go through. Everyone survived and I graduated, but it was rough. Great game!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:05pm

What a cruel game!
After constantly failing at saving everyone even without going to school, I just tried the other way around, letting my family starve to death so I could study.
I was smiling the whole time until the end, graduated with high honors, and even got enough money to buy me some chic clothes! Yep!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Ok, I redeemed myself by taking the entire family to my graduation. Turns out it works better if you let one member starve for a while, then give double ration.
Good concept!

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22pm

A gripping and sad experience. I wish the upgrades were a bit clearer, but the ability to go to the menu and re-read the instructions makes it better. Really powerful.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very thought provoking, no perfect outcome. Good game!

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Its soo good, I liked gameplay.

miwuc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Beautiful music, nice graphics, and great backstory. Bug god this game is depressing :(

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:43pm

This is one of the best games from the jam. Really, really great job at telling a story through game mechanics. This one drew me right in. Thanks for making this.
Mother, grandma, and brother all died the same turn. But at least I graduated, damn it.
Sorry you can't play Digital Toilet World! I wish I were able to port to mac.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Nice idea and good execution.
I like the graphics!
The setting is quite sad, but thats ok. I think the game will make people think about how hard lift can be for people in the 3rd world!
Nice work!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:04am

Sad, interesting game. Music is lovely, though it repeats a bit. Could do with a little more feedback on selecting options - wasn't sure my clicks were registering.

Er...

...is it a little strange that the lesson I took from this was to go hyper-capitalist and let my family die immediately in order to max out my access to food, education and medicine?

Might be worth emphasising the importance of family in small communities like this. Or not? Food for thought.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:26am

This is wonderful. You manage to set the right mood and bring us the difficulty that this family is having. And that is great art, especially for someone who isn't an artist.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:33am

Uh... good and strong one

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:35am

Nice work!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:03am

Interesting UI and a pretty nice game. I can dig it.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Heartbreaking. I had trouble playing, but for the right reasons! Great work.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Fixed, it

plaguespark says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Seems that apple users are mactards. Even main menu displayed with glitches. I mashed some <back> button on first day ... no results.

GarrickWinter says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57pm

@plaguespark Thanks for the feedback. We didn't explain how some of the buttons work in the instructions; I believe you were pressing the reset button (for resetting all purchases made that day). The "pause" button is actually what brings you back to the main menu. What kind of glitches occurred with the main menu?

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I like it.. when I lost, I thought that I'll cry)
Good job!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Game is good, but I can't find a connection to the theme.

GarrickWinter says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Thanks for the feedback! Our interpretation of the theme is that the player only gets one dollar a day on which to survive.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:58am

Great use of theme, though I died quite quickly.
Great job!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:28am

cool

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:37am

Nice music, but can we win the game ?

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:23am

Neat game. I like how you have to balance all the different variables to keep everyone alive.

nSun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:49pm

So sad... Today we eat water. Bon appétit and especially chew well your water.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Interesting experience, touching like Charles Dickens. And very good execution!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@eskivor In a sense - if you are very careful, you can help your family survive as well as graduate from school.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:47am

Depressing, but interestingly done.

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Good job.. Somewhat depressing. Good job all the same!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Good game with a well done mood! Very challenging. I liked it and found myself saddened when someone died because I wanted to see everyone survive. Well done! One of the best games I've played! -J

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44pm

This is a very sad game. It's good, but it's so depressing. I had my entire family die before me, before I managed to keep myself alive (but on the other hand, it suddenly got very easy)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Now I'm all sad :'(

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:06am

very interesting concept

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:15am

The slow pacing and the subject make it a wearing experience. I lost 2 people but managed to graduate.

It's hard to tell with the UI how the upgrades work.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wow, that's a powerful experience. You should definitely be proud of it. It looks professional, and most of the graphics are great. Excellent writing: the family members get quite a bit of personality, even the father. I like how you put in random events (at least I assume they were randomly generated; I only played a couple of times). I can see this game being used in debate/education about poverty.

On the downside, it took a while to learn what all the meters meant, and I'm still not sure I've figured it all out. But that's my problem, not yours.

A good gaming experience, without sugarcoating the unpleasant reality. I'll come back and see if I can do better next time.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

Very sad, really takes you away from reality... It is nice to have something different :)

steamgirl says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very touching game, really enjoyed playing it! What a great take on the theme. Boy am I grateful to that family that kept sending $1 a day, could not have survived without it. The storytelling was also very cute and added a lot of character to the game.

PS. I haven't rated the audio (for some reason it didn't play for me).

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

This game sets a really good mood.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:48am

Educational one.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice take on serious theme. A few tooltips would go a long way to helping players understand the UI quicker.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:02pm

A sad game, but well done. Good job.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:56am

Quiet a sad game but well done. I often make games like this but it's good to see some interesting changes. The interface could be more helpful but overall a good effort.

steamgirl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Over the last week this game has come up in conversation with almost everyone I've hung out with. Left a really strong impact.

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Interesting. This is not a game you "play in a minute". I really like it. Everything is well balanced, you get a good mood of the game, the graphics are nice... I think this is the best game yet I've seen, this-style. Nice job! :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I really didnt expect for this... really sad game and that is a compliment in this case. The mood on this one is spot on in this one. Not your usual gaming experience.

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Unept said it and I can't think of a better word: sobering. Well done!

Grafter says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:59pm

A very moving game! Well Done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]