December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alert in Blockland

by NikinCZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alert in Blockland is fighting action game, where you have to win duels (You only get one enemy at once) to defeat darkness in Blockland.

Controls is in tutorial, but you will need mainly arrow keys, spacebar and numbers for shopping.
Game is autosaving after each win.

EDIT: Created HTML5 port, so you can now play in browser. This version may be buggy, so if you want to rate and you are not Mac user, please download Windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Humor2.67
#755Graphics2.40
#885Innovation2.19
#896Mood2.00
#909Theme2.00
#945Overall2.32
#980Fun1.82
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

XXMarekXX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59am

This is really great idea, but my impression of this game ruined its speed. I thought, I had only 5 FPS.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

XXMarekXX: Sorry for that, but problem must be on your side. It works totally fine for me and my friends (on full FPS).

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

A very interesting idea, I'd love to see it more fleshed out. I really like the menu system, but the delay before you could select threw me a bit. Fighting itself was a bit tedious since it was really slow, a few seconds per each side's movements felt like ages. Still, pretty good try!

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Nice game I like it. No problem with FPS here, runs pretty smooth. However, I would still make the movement a bit faster:)

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

The web version is quite slow in chrome. Otherwise, looks like an interesting mechanic.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Interesting idea but it's really let down by the speed of combat - turns (especially attacking) taking over a second each hurts the game - I think speeding everything up would make it a lot better.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Thanks for ratings, anyway I am going to make extended version - with quicker gameplay, maybe LAN battles etc. - of Alert in Blockland and release it when final results will be known :).

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Would be great with somekind of parry mechanic. This was also pretty fun though. Well done!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

The fighting is too slow to be funny repeatedly ;-)

sanojian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I like the idea but the gameplay is a little bit too slow

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:37am

Its a funny dea but its so slowly..

neekobus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:20am

Like others, It is much too slow.
Maybe interesting with other fight moves (defend, charge, ...)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:45am

Only played web version, the FPS give it a turn-based feeling...

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I killed my tutor!!! Lol simple but good game! I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]