December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja-kun's Final Exam

by Thommy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Only the final ninja exam stands between Ninja-kun and his future ninja career. Will he pass or will he die?

Note: Windows XP users may have to manually install .NET Framework 3.5 if not happened already.
Can be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=21

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#213Audio3.08
#275Fun3.21
#306Overall3.25
#326Mood3.00
#349Graphics3.21
#375Humor2.53
#550Innovation2.83
#939Theme1.91

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

I liked the whole ninja-rope concept. The music was decently catchy as well.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

Can't play it because I'm on a Mac but your game looks pretty cool. Want to see everything the ninja can do! Anyway you can port it or put it on the Web?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Very innovative mechanics! Awesome job!
But it's so hard and with no lives D:... I couldn't get past the enemy that chases me with a sword. How do you do it?

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Sweet! Just earlier I was thinking how there aren't enough ninja games. :D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Very nice graphics! Didn't catch the tutorial panels the first time around, so tried to rope-trick everything.

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03am

Hey, you can download my game in .ste format and play it in shiva engine editor. I have uploaded a flash version too.
I have played your game, I think you should change the color of the help because for a first view you dont see it :D
I love the rope and the enemies, they are bad dudes! :)
the game reminds me of a friend's game called "ninja twins", nice art .
good job ;)

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

@theholychicken
You probably mean the last level. You can't go further at the moment :D

@zconnelly13
I plan to port it to Mac and Linux via Mono

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very nice mechanics, especially the rope, good job ! It's kindda annoying to have to always go through the whole level again tough. (I die a lot :D )

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Interesting game; like the use of the rope. Sound worked well. Good job. :)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I love the graphics and the soundtrack, and the game is fun. Great work!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I loved the music and the gameplay; it was a very good concept. A very fun game but some levels were quite annoying as I could not climb quick enough but that is probably how you wanted it.

P.S. Ninjas are awesome!

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

More fun than I was expecting!

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

The first levels are fun, but after that it gets kinda repetitive. And after dying on level 6, I don't feel like starting all over.

Sink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

Awesome game! The background can get a bit distracting though. The level design was really quite good, it made me feel pretty cool to trow shurikens while hanging from a rope. Also the sound effects were very satisfying and felt great! I just wish you didn't have to start the whole game over when you die, I feel like restarting the level would keep the player's attention more. Great game and awesome mechanic!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Very nice graphics (and parallax background!) The ninja rope was cool, and it looked funny when the ninja hang upside down :) Got a little bit annoyed that I have to do the whole game again after I died (but I think, that's the challenge if you want to get a ninja ;)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice Idea!!! :D

juaxix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:12am

I have added a Windows version of the game ;)
Thanks for trying

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Fun but a bit repetitive, also the background was quite distracting.

The concept is original and it's a nice game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Can't play, mac

minibutmany says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:16am

This is really cute, and fun. It took me a really long time to get past level three though!

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:58pm

What are the controls? Is there an attack?

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:07pm

OK I figured out left/right arrow, space, and... "1" to attack? This is a really awkward layout for a keyboard, making the game unnecessarily difficult. Also, it doesn't seem like I can hoard ninja stars? I wasn't sure if I lost my inventory after going through a door, or if I could hold no more than 2, or what, but it was a disappointment after cleverly avoiding having to kill samurai on earlier screens, thinking I'd saved a star, to find out that I didn't have as many as I thought when I arrived at the next challenge. I felt like I was deprived of a reward for being clever.

All in all quite good, but needs a few tweaks to become great.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Neat pixel art style and colour pallet. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]