December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rocks-n-Blaster

by HuntTheWumpus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

update #2: I provided an additional love file for macos which uses the space key for laying bombs (since some mac machines don't have a right control key). The other versions are kept the same. (I hope this conforms to the rules.)

Instructions for macos uesrs: (untested, since I don't have a mac myself)

The love2d engine is available for mac here: https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.8.0-macosx-ub.zip

From the love2d webiste:
> On Mac OSX, a folder or .love file can be dropped onto the Love.app application bundle. On the Mac OSX Terminal (commandline), you can use love like this (assuming it's installed to the Applications directory): open -n -a love "/home/path/to/game"

(More instructions: http://love2d.org/wiki/Getting_Started )

update: I FINALLY GOT INTERNET :) So. Dropbox link ftw ^^


old entry:

Jay. My internet broke down.. Tethering FTW. Main download is on google drive.. Which doesn't download automatically.. Please click on File -> Download. Sorry for that, but dropbox didn't like my Tethering.

So. It's Rocks-n-Blaster, a boulderdash/bomberman type game. But You Only Get One Bomb ;-) Tutorial included.

Written in lua with LOVE2D 0.8.0, Tiled level editor, The GIMP, and many other things.

The Rocks-and-Blaster.exe file can usually be run in linux as well. Just make sure you have installed LOVE 0.8.0 and type
$ love Rocks-and-Blaster.exe

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#221Fun3.31
#268Overall3.29
#283Theme3.26
#534Humor2.16
#610Innovation2.74
#610Audio2.26
#662Graphics2.60
#673Mood2.52

Comments

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55am

pretty cool puzzle game, very enjoyable and nicely put together

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Interesting Puzzle Game, I like the art style. Map 4 is a bitch! :).

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

A very nice little puzzle game and a good implementation of the theme.

You designed some nice levels with a bunch of variety between them. You also seemed to delight in dangling victory in front of the player before cruelly snatching it away. Good job! :)

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

Solid, movement is a bit annoying though (getting through small hallways)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13am

I like the simple art style kind of reminds me of mine sweeper. I can see how this could be even better with multiple bombs. One Issue: On my macbook keypad(I duel boot) I could not play(no right ctrl). I ended up using the On-Screen keyboard.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Great game! Liked the difficulty, couldn't quite finish the last level but I loved the difficulty.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Bah, I'm on a mac. Can you not port love files to mac?

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Map 10 was extremely hard because you would get stuck on corner of the tiles. The bomb revealing the path is interesting though

squibbons says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

Entertaining little puzzle game. Challenging near the end. Is the room with 8 doors complete-able through any door?

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54am

This is a very well put together puzzle game with well done levels! I love the simplicity of it!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00am

@zconelly13: The love2d engine is available for mac: https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.8.0-macosx-ub.zip

From the love2d webiste:
> On Mac OSX, a folder or .love file can be dropped onto the Love.app application bundle. On the Mac OSX Terminal (commandline), you can use love like this (assuming it's installed to the Applications directory): open -n -a love "/home/path/to/game"

You will need a right control key though.

@squibbons: Neat idea. Unfortunately no, there's only one solution. :(

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice retro style game and a lo of levels! First i thought its a puzzel game but then i realized that reflexes are more needed. Some levels are very hard :-) Can't pass map 8.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31am

Oh, I love when games make me think. Very good game! I specially like the simplicity of the graphics.

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Love this kind of games :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Tight controls, I enjoyed it. Nice puzzle game.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game. Screen could have been bigger. Played through lots of levels!

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Like these levels where you try to solve somethig and then you see - hey, there's another way, the first one was just to trick you. But the controls are kinda unflexible. WASD would be nice.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I really quite enjoyed this, and there seemed to be a good amount of content. I gave up on map 10 though, because I kept getting stuck on corners.

In fact, the controls were my only problem with the game. WASD would have been a nice option to have, since I'm more used to moving with my left hand now. It also would have been nice if you'd made the movement snap to the grid (still smoothly sliding between them), as that way there wouldn't have been the problem fitting through gaps.

Overall a good entry, though.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:23am

Nice little game. Figuring out where you needed to put the bomb was very fun. It started out quite simple but eventually got more difficult. My only major complaint is that the character moved rather quickly, making it extremely difficult to fit into one block wide hallways, of which there were several. This flaw was only magnified by the quick moving enemies. Segments with enemies become less about timing and more about whether or not you'll actually be able to fit into the doorway. Other than that, this was a very solid entry and one you should be proud of.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Very simple graphics and gameplay, but very engaging and fun. Thumbs up!

epb9000 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I like the minimalism of the graphics, full on monochrome baby. I managed to complete all 10 levels too. For those getting stuck on hallways, I've found moving diagonally made it pretty easy to get through them.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:12am

Congrats. Great little puzzle game. It's a good reduction of several mechanics. Love the art style: 5 stars.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Nice little game.. movement is bit weird, actual gameplay is fun. Good job :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]