December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unholy Dungeon

by abeing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are three princesses, but you only get one to rescue!!

I tried to make a challenging game with a unique, bizarre style.
Also important for me was to make a complete game. So there is:
+ title screen
+ plot level with easy gameplay (but with puzzles)
+ second level that gets more challenging
+ third level that is bigger and even more challenging
+ a b0ss at the end that cannot be beaten the usual way ;)
+ thanks-for-playing screen
+ easter eggs
+ other little stuff

Gameplay Tips: (for those of you who don't want to find out themselves)
- When you go in the light circle, the text "Rescue Princess" is a BUTTON that you can click on!
- Each Princess drops a different power-up if you wait three seconds at her
- you need to kill every enemy to proceed
- the princesses need to be in the light circles to make the teleport-Button appear!

Strategy-Guide for the last room:
You only can beat the last floor by killing the robos first, then the b0ss.
The boss, "cuber king", can only be defeated by tricking him, so he falls down. The white walls are to protect the princess from falling down.


Have fun! Its playable via unity-webplayer or download zip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#336Audio2.82
#339Humor2.62
#361Graphics3.19
#433Mood2.87
#597Theme2.68
#657Overall2.81
#669Fun2.62
#709Innovation2.57

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00am

I really liked the graphics, weirdly enough. I'm a big fan of cell shading, and everything had a nice surrealistic touch to it as well. Good job, I was just a bit confused on how to play. After you beat the snake-thing and rescue a princess is there anywhere else to go?

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

oh thanks! Sure there is more: go to the left, there should be a light-circle particle thing, which teleports you to the next floor, if a princess is inside the circle. it shows a button "Teleport to the next floor". I know, its tricky that not the player, but the princess must stand on these things. Its because the princes are magic! another Tip: wait 3 seconds near a princess, and she will eventually drop a power up ;)

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Whoa I got my own princess harem!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really well done models with cool cell shading. The levels could use a little cleaning up, but it was an overall fun game. Nice work!

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

But how can your tongue go through the wall?! :D

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Why in god's name did you make the princess able to die? Why do you torture me so much D:

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13am

I wanted to make a challenging game that has a unique, bizarre style.
@Kayelgee: sorry for that ;)
Did anyone of you beat the boss or even got to the last floor? ^^

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

The Princess on the right? "dat ass"

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very unique setting :D Challenging? Indeed! Funny game! Good work :)

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very complete game, I like the idea of rescuing just one princess! Nice work!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:45am

Super bizarre style -- some sort of animation on the characters would've been nice, but I can definitely see how that would be the last thing to do in a 48-hour jam. I don't know if my keyboard is wonky or there're some input issues, but on L2 my guy would occasionally run off a cliff with me not touching any buttons. I could kill 3/5 of the guys, but couldn't make it past that level.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Great use of toon shaders, awesome character design. Didn't know what to do after I killed the boss. (BTW the boss fight was very smart!) The ground had some issues with tiling and placement (one ground inside another makes the illumination glitchy.) Nice audio, very moody! Overall a great game.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice scenario! I like it so much! :)

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:24am

Loved the look of the game. Not being able to attack diagonally was frustrating. Like how you can change how you play based on who you rescue.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Yeah! Great gameplay and graphics :D

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

level two freaked me out with that thing with the hand. I stopped playing one time.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice game, despite the flickering. I couldn't figure out what to do after I killed the box boss, though

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Weird styles. I like the cartoony art, and the creepy music, but they are weird together.

I couldn't figure out how to pass the box boss. I assume you have to get him inside the walls, but he keeps jumping over the walls.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Great work!
I really like the idea, that your princes choice slightly affects the game :)
The game looks quite nice and finished. Thumbs up for that!

joekinley says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:26pm

At first I couldn't figure out what to do. Then I read your text and got to it. It was weird as I didn't know what the buffs really meant. Also it was quite hard to steer and hit the monsters. I couldn't see enough how I aligned with the monsters, so I kept getting hit because of this weirdness.

Otherwise, nice little game. The audio and music were quite nice.

PEBKAC says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Indeed we had the same idea, though quite different games. Love your cell-shady style. Shame that I seem to die at the most random moments though...

abeing says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Thanks for all the nice feedback! <3
the boss, "cuber king", can only be defeated by tricking him, so he falls down. the white walls are to protect the princess from falling down.
You can only BEAT the last floor by first killing the "unholy robos" then the b0ss.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]