December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

by Pietro Ferrantelli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MY FIRST GAME !

This game is inspired by the famous movie entitled "Citizen Kane". You are an selfish old man who feels that his life come to an end. You only have 1 minute to become happy by different ways in order to rest in peace.

Use arrows to move, X to take an item and Z to drop it.

I'm french so sorry if I did English mistakes :)

By Pietro Ferrantelli (@PietroFerrantel)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#179Mood3.32
#189Theme3.47
#330Graphics3.25
#335Innovation3.14
#343Humor2.61
#598Overall2.89
#851Fun2.31

Comments

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Lovely idea. The graphics are great and it is a very interesting game. Congratulations

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

A sweet little game. I love the idea and the graphics are awesome. Movement is a bit strange at start (and sometimes a bit "choppy", like when collecting rosebud), but I rapidly get used to it. I laughed at some options like the phone ones (and also to the fact that you can literally cut the phone off if you move away without hanging it - poor ol' Kane without a wireless phone!).

Bref, bravo pour ce premier jeu très sympathique ! :)

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Monochrome suits this game very well.
The game lacks objective, but maybe deliberately so which is interesting.
A soundtrack would've been nice

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Solid entry!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Good style of graphics, different to many which helps set it apart. :)

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice style, fits the theme well. Good job!

Before Light says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

Nice character art. He reminds me the landlord from Ace Ventura.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31am

Really cool use of the theme, pretty moody as well. There just isn't enough time in the day :,)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49am

Top-notch art; monochrome works really really well. I feel the theme restricted you; glad the theme wasn't last time's "10 seconds" ;)

Please make more games.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really interesting - bravo!

michail says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Interesting idea. I would really like to see the post-compo version of this with with some more possibilities and maybe the time limit removed.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Pleasant experience! Nice graphics. I like references.. un jeu d'image-temps, so to say ;)

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:37am

Very innovative game. The art style works really well for this.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:42am

Very deep game. It has an interesting message. The graphics are nice although the movement can be a little buggy.
I dislike having to go to a page full of ads to play the game though.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very good work! Text needs to be a big bigger I think on the pop ups but otherwise this is a really great idea

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:05am

Lovely message, great mood.

zatyka says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Black and white was perfect for the mood. It was quite interesting. Very nice job, I liked it a lot.

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

I wish I could have a little more time... oh well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]