December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

No double jump :(

by Cezel_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The theme was You Only Get One so I made a platformer were you only get one jump. This is the first time I've entered the Ludum dare compo and I had really fun. I almost got everthing i wanted to done but there were some things here and there that I didn't finish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Theme3.50
#332Fun3.12
#339Overall3.20
#344Innovation3.13
#451Graphics3.00
#495Mood2.76
#610Audio2.26
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Jinz says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Wow great work! Can't believe you actually made this in 48h!

Jinz says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Lol, you coulod have finished those things, you still have 9 hours left.. some bugs

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

No double jump : ( ? But I looooove double jump! Haha, excellent game :)

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Not sure what happened, but the screen is totally gray here. nothing happens ):

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

The death sound effect got on my nerves way too quickly for me to want to continue. Also, it got VERY hard once two cannons were shooting simultaneously on the same plane (couldn't get the timing for some reason...)

On the positive side, it's a very unique idea! Making a platformer, which is practically based around jumping completely, and handicapping the character's only ability makes for some interesting level designs!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45am

When I first saw this I misread it as "single jumps only," which isn't exactly innovative, but "one jump per level" lends itself to interesting gameplay and puzzles. There are some problems with wall collisions, though.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Very neat. Great idea, and reminds me a bit of I want to be the guy.

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

By double jump I thought you meant no jumping while you're already in the air! I like the concept of a single jump for the whole level more though, good job! Frustrating at times though. :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Somewhat misleading title, but a very interesting gameplay gimmick! Creative and pretty fun to boot!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Fun I like the work you have done.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

The idea of only one jump per level was cool. Some of the bullets I just guessed at and they were too fast to time. I beat the game, so it worked out I guess.

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08am

The game is fun and I like the concept of having only one jump.
However, I thought the projectiles were moving too fast and paired with the collisions issues some levels were frustrating. Good work anyway !

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34am

Very difficult platformer. I do like the theme integration. As the people in the stream said, reminds me of Boshi. Nicely done for 48 hours.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36am

I reeeaally like this game, but there is a bug on one level that kind of blows. There is a part where if you don't jump all the way up to the continue block, you are stuck without a way to kill yourself for a restart.

Otherwise this game really shows a simple mechanic executed very well.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I like the aesthetics! :D

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Simple platformer with a simple twist but well executed. You made programmer graphics go a long way with the visuals

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very innovative! Great game!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:35am

Very funny!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:35pm

well crafted game, 1 jump puzzler is a good use of the theme, too hard for me but I can see the appeal, levels are really well designed

valgriz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:20am

Fun game! Nice job!

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Great concept!
Even though I got wasted by the cannons quite a lot, I had fun. And thank god for the save-points! :D

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice little platformer with plenty of variety and thoughtful puzzles! I was very glad of those checkpoints, how kind of you! Good sounds too. The character physics were a little unusual, but worked in the context of the game. Thank you!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice idea and good selection of gameplay elements. However, I think you overdid it a bit with the bullets.. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]