December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The TORPEDO

by windwalkerranger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT NOTE: Use either Chrome for web, or download for PC! Safari should also be fine. Also there might be a slight graphical quality loss in web version, if you want crispier graphics, go for the windows build :)
Update: Now have OsX and Linux versions uploaded! Feedback on links and program run would be appreciated. Thanks :)

~============~

It is done.
This was my first Ludum Dare and I must say it was AWESOME! It was plain enlightening, I never dedicated myself so much into the job before. 48 hours was really tight for levels, sounds, testing, and especially art.
If it wasn't for the wonderful C2 I wouldn't have been able to do half of this.

In "The Torpedo" you are trying to program a torpedo that you are about to launch from a hand-crafted, one-man submarine you named "the JOUSTER." However, it can only carry one torpedo! Will you be able to defeat the sector commanders of the invasion forces?

Edit: though these are also explained in the in-game tutorial, people seem to miss them so here we go:

~============~

SOME IMPORTANT NOTES:

1-) DONT FORGET TO PRESS THE NEXT BUTTON! After setting the radials, press next to enter the command, or your torpedo will just fly straight.

2-) YOU CAN QUEUE COMMANDS! Most people seem to miss the line in the tutorial, you can enter up to 8 commands for your torpedo

3-) North is 0 degrees. This is towards the top of your monitor. East is 90 degrees. This is to the right.

4-) CLICK ON SHIPS TO SEE THEIR INFO! USE THE IN-GAME CLOCK to check how much time civillian ships take travelling their routes. Then combine this information with their speed to have an estimation for your torpedo planning!

5-) Be vary of streams in 3rd and 4th levels!

6-) The torpedo always launches with 5 knots and to Jousters angle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#101Innovation3.63
#313Theme3.20
#420Overall3.10
#517Audio2.46
#587Humor2.04
#603Graphics2.73
#603Fun2.71
#626Mood2.58

Comments

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Hello fellow C2 user. :)
Nice game, I like the usage of some particle effects and webgl effects (even though my laptop didn't like it as much as I).
It took me a while to figure out how to properly set up torpedos but then I really enjoyed the game. It's not that easy!
And thanks for the built-in timer.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:12pm

A little tricky but a great job for your first LD! :)

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:20pm

The programming aspect of this is fun. I couldn't work out how to remove a command once added. Nice game overall.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:26pm

A little bit difficult but nice idea :).

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31pm

A little bit difficult but I like the idea. :)

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I'm impressed by how complex you have attempted to make this, and by all accounts it seems to work as intended aswell, so good job!

I feel like the launch sequence is a little confusing though, it took me two launches to learn that I have to click next to issue the orders, and with little reference other than "winging it" it quickly became a little frustrating to have to go through the whole sequence in the tutorial again and again.

Other than that I think it's a great idea. And possibly the best take on the theme I have seen yet.

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Same as Jakub, took me some time to understand how the torpedo's worked. I'm not very good at planning the torpedo's though :P poor islands got hit to often. ^^ nice idea

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Really tough to get into, but pretty good once you get into it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Thanks everyone, glad you enjoyed it. I really wanted to improve the tutorial but 48 hours is really tight :) And if only I could get a couple more levels in! I am definately going to make a post-compo version though.

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Neat idea. Very innovative.

I failed a lot and I didn't like that my program was erased every time. Now that LD 28 is over, you could just say... you only Had one Torpedo... now you have more!

Congrats on completing your first LD!

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Excellent idea and well executed!
As with the other people, it took me a while before I realized I first had to enter the command via the next button, but programming the torpedos is a lot of fun.
It turned out though that I unfortunately suck at programming torpedos. Still had fun and played 15 minutes until I gave up!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Got really into this! One thing you should definitely add is a distance scale or a reference grid, was never really sure how far a nautical mile was in your game and it lead to basically doing each stage through trial and error which got old really quickly. Apart from that the idea behind it was great and the presentation is amazing. two player version would be awesome, kinda like worms except with submarines and programmable torpedos xD.

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

It's a good fun challenge, I like the programming aspect of it! Good job.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

@ocarina of lime, thanks for the feedback! I added the stopwatch and civillian ships so that you can calculate how much time they take travelling a distance, compare their speed and maybe even set your torpedo to their speed! Maybe in the post-compo version, in easy difficulty, I could add some other measurement devices. Thanks for playing! :D

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I like the concept, and the water shinny effect !
The game is a bit hard since you can edit your previous commands :)

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

nice graphics and concept, but goddamnit it's sooo hard !

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Very slick, very accomplished. That is an extremely solid implementation in the timescale. The water effects and caustics were really lovely and the colour palette soothing. The sounds were fitting and the UI felt ... solid .... It was rather difficult though - perhaps for the first level showing how far the torpedo would get at a given speed i.e. visually plot the route, just to train the eye? Thanks

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

@jimmypaulin thanks for the good words. I know about the difficulty, and I really intended to add some visual clues and other tools like the watch, but it was my first LD and couldn't use the time good enough.

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

fun little game! hard though! very satisfying getting the right timing, and taking out the ship. also really liked the hexagonal water. good job!

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

It was pretty innovative, but I am an idiot, so I don't know how to play, but as I can see, its a smart people's game, so I will give it some good score :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

@Nichii nooo it's only my fault for not explaining it clearly. If I had more time I could have made a better tutorial, but this is the challange of the Ludum Dare and it was my first one, so you are not an idiot but I failed at a clear tutorial! I would be glad if you kept trying and solved the mechanics, once you do, it's a great pride to score hits! Thanks for the nice comments!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I really enjoyed this, I must admit. Really well done. One issue: if your submarine is on the right side of the map, the TPC can overlay it and force you to toggle it on/off while programming.

ViliX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:40pm

It is a bit hard to learn how to play this game. But great idea though I am looking forward to some more polished Post-Compo version.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I really like the mechanic and it is impressive that you managed to implement something this complex in 48hr.

The graphics are a mixture of many different ways of creating it, there's vector art for the ships, large pixels for the island and hexagons for the sea (the effect on which is beautiful), this is all forgivable though!

Maybe I missed it, but maybe an abort button would be a nice addition, because I can sometimes just see it's headed for disaster and I have to wait it out.

Sound effects were just fine, music would have been nice but I can understand how there was no time for that with such a complex game!

Well done!

By the way, I left a reply to your comment on my game

hirsch says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I get a loading error (Chrome saying WebGL was blocked) and get referred to this site: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/2905826?p=ib_webgl&rd=1 - Reloading doesn't help either :S

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

strange, it must be something about your chrome settings :( Would you try windows version please? It is also possible that your graphic card drivers are not up to date. Thanks for trying anyways :)

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

The hexagonal effect of the water really stood out in a good way. Very pretty.

The torpedo settings really need a button to remove a command. It's a really fun idea, but as a player I felt very limited to trial and error because there was no visual indication of how far a knot was on screen (unless I missed something). Maybe Direction+Distance would be easier than setting Direction+Speed+Time.

Good job though, everything seemed to work as it was intended.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Got me some time to get the hang of it, but really interesting!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Hello fellow C2 user (is this a trend? I like it. Go to my game to see my reply, btw).

I liked your game! It's simple in its controls but deep in mechanics, which is quite nice. Maybe a little bit too much blank text overall (maybe add some faces speaking? a radio? something!), but its enjoyable all through it. Congrats

Ako says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Keep working on this! Improved instructions and feedback will help, but this is quite an impressive accomplishment for 48 hours! Well done! I love playing all the other Construct2 submissions. I'm a total newbie so it is inspiring to see what others are doing!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20pm

So, this game mainly suffers from usability problems. You spend a lot of time explaining the obvious, and the Next button is only tangentially mentioned in the jungle of instructions. Also, there wasn't a Next button on the intro, which is further disorienting.

The reload button looks just like your browser's one, and even the text says reload, so I kept refreshing the page. That was silly.

Also, I don't get why the ship's position is randomized every time. Makes no sense when these kinds of games are about improving your estimations iteratively.

It's promising, but it shows that you ran out of time.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:43pm

@Jiggawatt thanks for the lets play on twitch and the review. UI and especially button design is a mess, completely aware of that. But even with all the instructions people seem to miss the how-to-do part so I felt the need to be explanative. The refresh button is, as you can see by the wibbles and wobbles was a last-minute work :D All these problems I am currently fixing on post-compo build.
Oh, and if I didn't randomize every time you missed, you wouldn't have had one chance, would you :) That would be against the theme :P Now that the compo is over maybe on easy difficulty ...

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Cool idea, but definitely needs polishing. The interface was the biggest roadblock for me. The visual styles clashed, but that didn't take away from the gameplay, which I found quite interesting once I got the hang of it.

Congratulations on your first LD!

somepx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:41am

Nice idea! Really complex given time constraints, good job C2 buddy! ;)

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:05am

Congratulations for your first LD.

Even though I understand the concept, I'm really missing a sort of simulation to make it easier to calculate the angles and times needed to program correctly the torpedo.

I only went as far as "Hiding in heaven", it's a bit quick to introduce new mechanics (the moving boats) as soon as the second level ^^

At some point, the TPC was also in the way because my boat spawned on the right side of the map, and I was forced to be "blind" to its position in order to program.

It's a nice idea and a good technical realisation in such a short time, it's not "that" user friendly though.

Nevertheless it's really impressive to be able to produce and release such a complex idea during a short game jam. I agree, C2 makes it easier, but pulling up a "program system" on your first jam, it's not an easy task.
So all kudos to you on this !

van noctar says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Mechanics is very difficult to use!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]