December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Many Robots, One Laser

by OmegaVesko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've got to destroy the onslaught of robots - but your laser can only fire once per wave!

You must destroy each wave with a single shot of your bouncy laser. The laser can bounce off the walls up to 10 times, so use it wisely. Once a wave is destroyed, a bigger one appears instantly.

How many waves can you survive?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Theme3.70
#370Fun3.04
#658Graphics2.61
#668Innovation2.64
#673Audio2.05
#724Overall2.74
#798Mood2.30
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:54pm

These style of games are really fun. Good job =)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice fun game, a little difficult though since when the bullet hits the bottom of the screen, then it just game over's. Maybe if the bullet bounced at the bottom too it wouldn't be so difficult. Other than that, nice work!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

The best strategy seems to be to just aim really directly at the wall forcing the bullet to bounce back and forth a lot. Cool game!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

Nice concept and satisfying to play. I think it's a bit too luck based at the minute, maybe an easy mode where you could see more of where the ball will bounce?

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36am

Really interesting idea. It's quite hard to beat the levels beyond 4/5!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I like the idea could've done with a bit more sophistication.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

fun brainteaser. well done.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

This can get addictive pretty quickly!
Good thing you set a count-limit on the wall bounces since many people would just exploit the game with the steep-angle trick. Ball bounce sound kinda gets annoying after a while, but the "Baaaaaaooooouuunn" sound from the cannon is great and adds humor.
I'm not sure if it was intentional, but seems the distance at which you shoot affects the speed of the bullet (and I'm almost 100% positive I shot through the game once, automatically losing.... doh!)
Good job, and thanks for making a Unity web version :D

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I enjoyed this. It gets hard quick. One shot - although fitting the theme - is kind of harsh. Three lives would be better. I could see this getting more fun with additional types of blocks. I'd love it if all levels were solvable, and when you missed the game showed you the correct path. The movement/firing can be glitchy, some times the cannon won't budge, and sometimes the shot fired disappears and you immediately lose.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13am

Nice take on the theme, but some of those shots I'm pretty sure are impossible. Is there any check to make sure a level is winnable before presenting it?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:15pm

The sfx are annoying.
The lack of save points makes the game very hard.
But I liked it, overall.

bsowers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Liked it. Would like to see a level select mode so I don't have to repeatedly perform the intro levels.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I enjoy the randomly genereated levels but some are way too hard... I haven't passed the 5th level. Good idea, though.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Is there a check done when making the levels to make sure tey are beatable? Nice use of the theme, I made it to level 6 on one of my runs. Also reminds me of why I don't play pool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]