December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

X-mas Shopping Simulator

by mippy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to experience the ultimate shopping horror: christmas shopping while only having $1!

Your family has given you a shopping list and it's your duty to run around and try to find the items.

Just remember to return home before time runs out and christmas begins!

Technology: PHP/HTML/Javscript/CSS, with jquery and createjs as frameworks. Graphics made with GIMP and sound with bfxr.

Note 1: I could not get preloading to work, and sound without frameworks is bad in browsers.

Note 2: The source code is not self contained as it contains
some php. Since it's browser based you wont have to use it to run the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

i loved the pictures you had for all the stores, really captured a thing for me for some reason.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

Are you supposed to be able not to buy anything as I only had $1?

mippy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

Yep! It's inspired by a true story :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Love the pictures :) Nice work !

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Love the message at the end :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Congrats for the Christmas spirit - liked the store artwork too. :D

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Coll, but I couldn't buy nothing with $1.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Loved the art style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]