December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

DISC-MAN

by MMoffatt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one disc with which to slice up the wretched android menace which the noble and holy DISC-MAN has sworn his life against. After you fire your disc, you are vulnerable and must parkour and sneak your way over to where it landed before you can throw it again. Survive as long as you can as more and more of these fiends swarm the arena.

Instructions are repeated in game:
A - Run left
D - Run right
S - Hide in alleyway
SPACE - Jump
HOLD LEFT MOUSE - Charge disc
RELEASE LEFT MOUSE - Fire disc

Wall-jump by touching a wall and pressing SPACE or running in the opposite direction. Retrieve your disc by touching it.

VIDEO:
http://youtu.be/hmIVjrxf6ao

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Theme3.64
#197Fun3.35
#258Mood3.14
#260Humor2.89
#264Innovation3.26
#391Overall3.14
#414Graphics3.09
#540Audio2.41
#965Coolness49%

Comments

ocmu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I loved the flying limbs.

Crisius88 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I like the idea of retrieving the disc, nice game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Interesting take on the theme... is disc man.. NAKED????

lol good game enjoyed it. Can it be won or is it just survival mode?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked the way the guys exploded.
The sounds were a bit annoying though.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Can't play windows games. Looks cool though.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I liked it! Fun explody androids!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Cool game. Nice smooth mechanics. I love how you fall to pieces when you die. And I sure died a lot.... :D It's quite hard.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Pretty funky and fun. Could use a game over screen so you can see your score after you lost.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Tough not a really new concept I loved it, it's really fun and addictive!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Idea's a good implementation of the theme and the disc is a super fun and punchy weapon to use. Nice thought putting the arrow in so you don't lose your disc.

Enemies can pop out and kill you without much notice which made things a bit too hard/sudden but otherwise solid stuff.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

This game is very enjoyable. Nice!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Really enjoyed it

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I like the idea, but the controls were really difficult for me (might be because I am left-handed and was a poor aim with the right hand on the mouse). Letting me jump with W would have made the controls a bit easier as well, but that might just be my personal preference.

Blinked says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:51am

Very challenging, but I love the idea. Great job.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I love the sound when it is loading. It kept me playing for like 10 minutes :)

MadcoreTom says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:18am

It seemed to play a little fast for me. But maybe I'm just a little slow :P
Nice game!

Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty fun but it's fast!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]