December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minuite to Live!

by Warzone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 1 minuite to set up defences before a massive horde of zombies come rushing at you! Set up your limited defences, then take on a horde of vicious zombies! Arrow keys to move, drag to go across the screen, click to shoot when avaliable. If the zombies destroy the machine or kill you, you lose. The game will lag on older computers. Have fun!

Controls...
To move while in the "add defense" mode. Press down on the mouse to basicly drag the camera/mouse thing. Drag the barricades, zappers, bombs and c4 to the desired location with the mouse. When you run out if time and you go into "defend" mode, use arrow keys to move, and press on the mouse to shoot. Flaming zombies can destroy barricades and zappers, normal can only harm you and the machine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#634Audio2.20
#678Humor1.85
#712Theme2.49
#858Mood2.14
#878Innovation2.21
#898Graphics2.05
#918Fun2.11
#948Overall2.31

Comments

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

The placement is a little sketchy at the beginning and a little frustrating to do. The player also jumped forward when I would shoot. Otherwise, it's a good concept. With a little more work and detail, it could probably be even better. Again, fix those controls and would be much better.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46am

Interesting game. It took me awhile to figure out what was going on, but Nice job.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03pm

i doh really undastan wat 2 do so i giv up

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Zombies always work ! Nice entry, good job :)

afterisk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool idea, if UI was always on screen would be even better! :)

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Crashed for me after killing a few zomibes. I have a high end computer so I don't think it was lack of power.

Could use a bullet graphic or at least a line drawn when shooting for better feedback. The ambient sound was a nice touch.

The defenses are very tedious to place because the mouse is always accelerating the camera while the mouse button is held down. Maybe instead of clicking to drag touching the edges of the screen to scroll could be more fluid.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:14pm

It hung itself after some shots. Needs really much fixing in almost every department!

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:36pm

interesting) and looks eerily!

godan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I agree that the UI needs some work. A few more words of explanation would help quite a bit, too. Good job, though!

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Interesting! Like a tower game!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Thankyou guys for your feedback! All of it was was very helpful.

The UI would/was better, but I ran into a terribl glitch that made th game unplayable. It was working fine, I had the UI and defenses anchored to th screen perfectly, and it was great. I was able to have them anchored when not placed, and unschooled when placed... But, when I added extra code that was vital to the game, is caused the UI to malfunction? I don't know why? I was never able to fix it without the bug happening, so I had to compromise the polished UI, for a playable game.

Thankyou for your feedback. I'll do what you all have suggested when I'm allowed.

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Sorry for the grammar mistakes in the last post. Spell-check can get annoying sometimes. I also forgot to say this is the last post... I was going to add instructions, and explain how to play, but I completly ran out if time. I submitted with 1:28 seconds left. I had serveral other vital things I needed to do, but wasn't able to, and instructions was one of them. I was never able to do some of the bug fixes i needed to fix because lack of time. Once the compo is over, and when I can start working in my game again. I'll fix all the bugs and add features I ment to add.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I don't really get it, it said my mission failed, but I didn't realize what I was doing wrong. Could be fun if you understand it, though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:04am

It's not bad, but there mouse control was hard to manage and honestly I had no idea what I was supposed to protect or from where the zombies were going to come the first time around. Still, a tower defence survival with zombies always work!

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:09am

Its quite nice. Gameplay could use some fixes; zombies not dying or jumping in directions when shooting. At first it was a little bit hard to determine my objective. I thought the zombies where after me instead after a mechanical object in the middle of the map. A little tutorial or manual could help a lot! Perfect some code and polish up some graphics and you'll have a very nice game! Good job.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:20am

Hard to play the first phase, the UI could use a little more work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]