December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dinosaur Ranger Interview: Burrito Challenge SUPREME

by Udell Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No known bugs.

Music is God awful, sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Humor3.88
#383Fun3.02
#414Mood2.89
#420Overall3.10
#464Innovation2.96
#497Audio2.52
#705Theme2.50
#769Graphics2.37

Comments

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

I came for the dinosaur, stayed for the humor! Very nice way to make a typing game, I loved it! Also thanks for all the different settings.

One thing is that changing the difficulty in the settings doesn't seem to make any noticeable difference in the game.

Cheers!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53am

Hi, thanks! Could be that I made the difference in difficulty settings too small (oops!). It's meant to change how much time you gain from a correct letter and how much you lose from an incorrect one. Still, pretty happy if that's the only problem so far!

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I think the humor is the strong point. After that, i think you should have put the default setting to something faster with an intro a little bit verbose. Because i enjoyed playing the game, but i was a little bit nervous about waiting between each game sequence (with the text showing).

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Really funny, clever; this isn't your everyday game. I really like how it is educational as it is fun. Too bad I'm a slow typer hehe :( Gotta practise some more.

Also, from reading just the title, I expected something veeeery different, which is hilarious to me ;)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Something else :) Much fun...

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Cool, funny game but sadly I'm a slow typer hehe.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Text speed is a little slow, even on the fastest input.. takes quite a while to watch the intro, but I like the effect.
The game as such is soo beautiful and fun though! :D (also LOL at Oxfart :D)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Rock solid! If you mistypw a letyer thwn its realky brutzl!!!

Thoroughly enjoyed the different metaphors.

mobyvb says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Wow. That was intense. I think this is my favorite typing game :)

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

If the central text on the game's screenshot doesn't sell it, I don't know what will! :)

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

that was a good time.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Very unique setting.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I really liked the humour in this. Sadly the long wait between tries made the punishment for failure quite harsh.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Whoah there! I came for the terrible lizard insemination and stayed for the potboiler of an ending! How many euphemisms for taking a dump did you come up with, anyway?

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I suck at typing apparently. Funny game. Good work.

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

This Shit is Incredible.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Thanks! I actually spent the most time on the interviewer's responses to what you type. If the timer is full when you finish a passage you get a "good" response, if it's around 2/3 full you get an "ok" response and if it's less than half you get a "bad" response.

They become the same towards the end for the sake of plot, but in the beginning you can get some strange responses by accidentally missing a letter.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

good one!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

That went from absolutely hilarious to really dark! Very fun experience and an interesting take on the whole Mavis Beacon thing.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Quite fun, very funny, held back by a few really annoying aspects - the game typing out everything it says feels like a big waste of time when you're chomping at the bit to get typing yourself! Really slows things down - had to set the speed to full.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Nice typing game! Good humor!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Humourous typing game - a lot of fun! :) But two things - 1) not being able to skip text animation or an option to disable them completly. They slow down and resizing was anoying for me. 2) found bug: pressing pause during boss animation stops time in the next round.

tomc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Funny, but the way the text typed itself out was very annoying - not so much because of the speed or the sound, but because it kept changing the position and size of everything I've just read! I have to keep re-reading it to make sense of it.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:12am

just too hard for me to get anywhere at all, even on the lowest setting, and not being able to skip to the "play" makes it kind of frustrating to read the same thing over and over. still, i like the humor and premise of it all.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I was much to slow a typist, wasn't sure if I could change the difficulty on the fly.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:59pm

This was absolutely hilarious! I loved all the questions, the quirky interview and the new phrases with which you have furnished us for curling one down ;) very amusing entry thank you

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Got to love typing games... and very funny too.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Hilarious! Super hard, but I found myself playing again!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The setup of this game is pretty great, and it's professionally done, but at the end of the day it's a typing game. Requiring skill, certainly, but not really something I'd personally do for fun.

Props for very funny text, and I thought the music was good. Nice graphics, too. It could have done without the text appearing onscreen one letter at a time, but that might be a personal thing.

So yeah, professional, well-written and funny. Just not my kind of gameplay.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

Hi people, sorry to hear you're finding it too hard! You can indeed change difficulty on the fly by pressing the pause button (bound to the pause key and escape key in the web player) during any game segment. The resulting menu also lets you change text speed.

stvr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I would not succeed in this situation, apparently.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]