December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Run

by ocarina of lime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry :D! Level didn't turn out to be as long as I'd hoped but I got all the important stuff in there! A sci-fi horror/ish game about a lone astronaut investigating a derelict space-ship for clues about the original crews fate. You only get one tank of air and one chance to get as much information as possible before returning and completing the mission. Any feedback would be awesome.
Made using-
MMF2
Paint
sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.00
#314Audio2.86
#381Graphics3.14
#389Fun3.00
#491Overall3.00
#591Innovation2.77
#663Humor1.88
#820Theme2.27
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

I really liked it. :P I didn't feel in to much of a hurry to get out because of the oxygen but the spooky alien thing definitely kept me going and shinning my light all over the place. Sad that you weren't able to make the level as long as you would have liked, but it was really good. (btw I finished fixing up my game from what I originally posted.)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Was pretty scary with reduced brightness, but the space developer command ruined it.
Also I didn't get it.

fysx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Cool atmosphere. What was not clear to me: how do you collect data? By clicking on it? The Data counter always seems to be at 0. Maybe I just don't get what the action key is supposed to be.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Great atmosphere, quite scary. The controls could've been a bit clearer, however

jm77345 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nicely put together. Everything looks cool. A little confusing at first but I got to grips with it quickly.
Nice work!

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very nice game! What's the maximum data score? I got 350 and I don't think I left anything behind. I think the mood could be improved by using a darker flashlight.

For those that couldn't find it, shift collects data.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I liked it - the graphics are good, especially the way the lighting worked. I was a little confused by the data gathering, but overall a good, fun game. Well done!

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36am

The evil looking shadow lurking off the edge of the screen was a great effect. The eerie high pitched tone and general darkness create a really nice mood. The game window started tiny on my 1920x1200 screen but the resizable window is great. Took me a short while to work out which key was the action key (shift on my Windows 7 pc). Well done.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Cool atmosphere, was gathering data and got a nice surprise.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Oh no, the thing got me! I thought there was no actual danger and it was all just for the atmosphere. :D Anyway, very well done. I particularly liked the level design and how there were certain "landmarks", such as the pool of blood and the different barricades. Made the exploration relatively worthwhile.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

atmospheric... that constantly following shadow... cool game enjoyed it...

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:42am

That's scary but really good. Grat atmosphere!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57am

Well done with the atmosphere, well done game! good job.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Congratulations for making a game in 48 hours! You set up a nice atmosphere. It was a bit fiddly to understand the controls (you wrote "action key", but not it was the shift key :D). Anyway, keep away the monster gets scary really quick!

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Sadly, I couldn't find what "Action key" is. Is it possible to die because of oxygen ? I'm always killed by this "alien" monster. Besides that, graphics are really cool and the horror atmosphere is very very well made. Good job !

glovecat says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:56pm

The atmosphere is awesome. I was scared when I was playing :D Good job!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:05pm

For starters, I think this game needs a bit more instructions. The introduction says to use the "action key" to gather data, but it took me several random tries to find out that meant the Shift key (on my computer, at least). Likewise, it doesn't say anywhere that you need to use the Space bar to turn on the flashlight.

That aside, I really like the graphics, and the sound is incredibly atmospheric. I like the concept, and the game is positively dripping with mood.

A couple of nitpicks after the spoiler space.


SPOILERS

I got a bit disappointed that I didn't find out more about what had happened aboard the ship. The only information we get is vague stuff about an "incident". Also, while the monster shadows were unsettling enough, it felt a bit silly to see that they were just Xenomorphs: creating your own alien design would be less mood-breaking.

Apart from that, this is a solid, creepy game, just the way I like them.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Forgot to mention a bug: the data score carries over to the next playthrough if you die.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]