December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Job One Shot

by BluShine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

3.8 MB download

You only get one shot!

Flash SWF, Windows EXE, and source code available. Windows version was broken earlier, but I think I fixed it. Haxe can do other platforms, so leave a comment if you really want it ported.

Made with HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop, BFXR, Audacity, Musagi, and GIMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#12Theme4.18
#16Innovation4.08
#30Overall3.91
#75Graphics3.99
#78Fun3.62
#79Audio3.52
#97Mood3.53
#503Humor2.24

Comments

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very well done and one of the best implementations of the theme I've seen. I can't get past the fourth level, however.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

When running the windows version I get: "Uncaught exception - load.c(237) : Failed to load library : std.ndll". To run the swf version you need to manually specify to open it with a web browser. It might be easier for others if you upload the swf (without zip) so you can have a web version.

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

NICE! Extremely cool idea!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

windows pops up momentarily then disappears...was looking forward to playing this :(

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

You make it seem a lot easier to control on your youtube video XD Really great take on the theme, I like the art style.

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Couldn't run it on Windows 8, console flashed with an exception about the std.dll

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Uncaught exception - load.c(237) : Failed to load library : std.ndll :/

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

btw im on win7

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great & challenging game.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

Thanks for all the feedback so far! I just tried the Windows version on another PC, and had similar issues, I'm gonna see if I can fix it. For me, the SWF opens up in Flash Player, not a browser window, although that will probably change depending on what you've got installed. I'll upload a non-zipped SWF too, if that works better.

I'm glad people like the challenge, I was worried it might be too difficult. Each level is really a puzzle (figure out the best starting location and route) and a challenge (steer the bullet), so if you're having trouble, try starting from a different location, or taking a different route. For the fourth level, I found that the easiest strategy is to start near the top-right, and wait for three of the guards to be standing in a line. Then shoot straight all the way through the building to kill them. When the bullet comes out the opposite side, steer it around the outside of the building to kill the fourth guard.

Let me know if you get the "secret" ending, it's quite a challenge!

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24am

Fantastic visuals and very fun to play. I just wish there was some indication where the bullet is while it goes through the walls. Anyway, wall done.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31am

Fantastic entry, the difficulty spikes pretty fast, but it's fun enough that it doesn't bother too much

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33am

Took a me a few tries to get my head around the controls, but that's no matter. The game looks good and I really like the puzzle element to it!

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37am

this is great, look solid

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37am

This is great! Takes the one bullet theme in an interesting direction. Great concept, well implemented and a a good difficulty level

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47am

Awesome idea, though I'm so bad at it that I can't beat level 4.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59am

Super slick, love the look and feel of it. Man I really wanna keep playing this game but its just too hard! Wish you could control the bullet with your mouse.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03am

More awesome feedback! Thanks, everyone :D

I think I fixed the Windows compiled version. Let me know if it's still broken.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Nice work! Great take on the theme. Super hard though. I really liked the retro sounds and visuals.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I can't figure out how to get inside the "hardened" room on the first level! Tips and tricks, anyone?

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

@Ted Brown: I probably should have put this in the instructions, but you can move the helicopter with left and right arrows (or a and d keys).

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26am

Wow, this entry is awesome. Despite the included screenshot and opening dialog, it took me forever to figure out I could curve the shot, haha. Excellent game from top to bottom. Graphics, audio, theme, fun... it's all there.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22am

I got thrown off for a couple attempts as to what this ropey thing is doing, somehow it's some 'laser' curveshot thing. Nice pixel style and night theme to set the mood. Good music track. Nicely done, challenging and well put together.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11am

This is very nice! I love the graphics! Clean and solid. Perhaps the controls could have been easier to use, but then again, that might make the game too easy! Nice job!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice game! very cool implementation of the theme

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

Great game, this one is a lot of fun!

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26am

Cool implementation of the theme! Love the unique gameplay and moody art, although the bullet is hard to control for me.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

Great implementation of theme, as Piscythe said. Can't play a lot because I'm at work, but will do it again :D

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53am

Great game, interesting mechanics. Also +1 for HaxeFlixel :D.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Wow! You can steer the bullet in cinematic slow motion! That's a brilliant concept and well executed aesthetic wise. I love this game!

Oli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24pm

A little bit too difficult but fun and realy well done. I like the atmosphere of your game :)

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Wow! I don't even know what to say! So i will say this "Awesome!".

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very well done this awesome game!
Mechanic incredible. Its hard and sometimes I can't understand how it works but it very fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very nice game, one of the best "you only get one" themes, nice colro scheme and pixel art, good gameplay! Really enjoyed this one, one of the best of this LP I've seen! Great work!

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I really liked the colour pallete and the game idea was pretty good. I found it fun to play but got stuck rather quickly. The graphic style is supber, a really good job there.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Very very awesome!! One of the most well-executed entries I've played so far!

Where are the lamps though? I couldn't seem to find any on my second playthrough.
*oh shit I just realized the lamps are the yellow headed guards that I didn't need to kill earlier... I swear they looked like guards wearing blue ties standing on two legs!! D:*

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nice game, cool idea and good use of the theme.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

lol doge <3

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Wow, excellent stuff! Very polished, really like simplicity of the palette and chiptune music. It took a while to figure out what was going on, but once I got the bullet ricocheting off the walls, it added another dimension.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Played through to completion (not the bonus levels yet), level three stumped me for quite a while, but the rest I could work out in a few attempts.

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:26pm

A really fun, solid, simple mechanic with a lot of depth in a bug-free package. Very impressive for two days!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Well done, nice style (:

vinull says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23am

I found it a bit hard to control - never quite sure after a bouce which way was which. I also never got why some walls I went through while other walls that looked identical I bounced off of. All in all though, very neat little game and I got to round three before I had to give up!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WitVtxd07vs
My first impressions on the game :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:43am

I've been in a lot of LDs and I've played a lot of LD games and I have to say if any game every brought back the feeling of playing on the NES its this game! Simply wow! You did an outstanding job with this game. I don't think I would change anything.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Wow, the difficulty ramps up really fast! Once I got used to the controls it got a lot easier. Really attractive game that's got a nice muted color palette! Great job!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:10am

this is super difficult but i really enjoyed everything about it! best use of the theme out of the games i've tried. great work!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Very nicely polished. Loved the music and the slow down for bullet time.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:52am

Excellent entry, could be fully-fleshed game.

johnfn says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:05am

VERY hard, and it wasn't very apparent to me that I could move the helicopter! Also I was surprised that walls that I couldn't break into at certain speeds could be broken at faster speeds.

Still though I'm just being hard on you. The idea is great, fits the theme well and is fun too! Good job overall :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Very polished. Cool idea, but it was hard. It took me a while to get it, but it when I had it, it was an awesome game! Awesome job.

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

It's pretty fit the theme! :D
A little hard for me, still trying go through it lol.

Avocado says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The controls were a little hard to get used to, but I liked you use of the theme and the art was charming.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Difficult but cool idea, good implementation, nice art. You have to tune controls and your game will shine.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:19am

very good game! I couldnT play thru it coz I were too dumb ;) but really cool.
I especially like how the objects shatter on hit :D

xhunterko says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:34am

Utterly brilliant and utterly difficult at the same time. Shot after shot it seemed like you switched up the controls on me. Like left was right and right was left. Also while you eventually got it, a little more distinction to help what was breakable and what was bounceable would be nice. Very neat idea!

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Incredible, can't believe I only found this on the last day of rating - one of my favourites of LD!

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice.. sometimes I'm really mad at myself when I don't read instructions.. but I figured that out and enjoyed this. Levels are hard but it's still fun :-)

radmars says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:55am

Awesome concept! A bit tough to figure out at first & gets hard pretty quickly but still great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]