December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Life Boat

by Move127 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Life Boat is an Oregon Trail-esque game where you must manage limited resources in an attempt to arrive at your destination alive. After a shipwreck you are stranded on a life boat with two strangers, both of whom have infections and need antibiotics to survive. Luckily you have antibiotics with you, but it may not be enough. You may need to choose one of the two to save, otherwise they both might die. Talk to your companions and make a decision on what to do, but decide fast, or else it might be too late.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#426Mood2.88
#477Audio2.56
#485Theme2.89
#566Humor2.09
#591Innovation2.77
#806Overall2.61
#945Fun2.03
#976Graphics1.57

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Nice music, and I like the idea

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

The idea is good, the story also kinda of catched me, but could be better

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice one, music fits really well with the game too !

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Great music, really interesting idea.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

Cool concept, I was tempted to eat all the food.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

Well... I ate all the food :P Nice idea!

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

It started off good, but once I finished the conversation trees I got bored pretty quick.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41am

Great music. Tough decision. Well done.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

Had to come back again. So simple, yet so good! More dialog will make it better than it currently is.

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36pm

After talking to both of them I knew which one I would let die, but when it came to withholding supplies from them I just couldn't do it. I wish there was a little more going on in the boat than just having them sit there. Perhaps having them change based on their thirst,hunger,and sickness levels would be cool. I liked the initial dialog with the characters and would love to see more from each one as the game progresses. Nice job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36am

Nice take on the theme, some visual feedback on the states of the others would help a bit.

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I like the idea very much and the sense of morality it gives. Well done!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

It took forever till the game was over. I killed everyone except me.

davisan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:52am

Very nice idea. Developing this further, it can be very dramatic. :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:07am

Neat idea and good audio.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Interesting idea but dialogs with NPC are too short and there's no indicator for time progress. Music is good but a bit to repetitive and it's played too loud. Graphics and UI certainly could use some polish.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]