December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get 1!

by Danman9914 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Participate in Japan's top rated game show: You Only Get 1! While on the show, The Host will present you with 3 tasks. These tasks range from squishing an orange to slaying a vampire. The catch? You only get 1 item with which to complete all 3 tasks!

Instructions:
- point n click

If you are wondering about scoring:
- each 'task' has a maximum score of 10
- each round has a maximum score of 30


*** I did not get as much time as I would have liked to jam over the weekend. I was able to capture the look and feel of the game as I imagined it but content fell short in the end. If I had more time I would have created more items and more tasks!

EDIT: I did not realize until after submission that public domain music and sound weren't allowed and it's my fault for not fully reading the rules. Kindly mark me N/A for sound!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
Humor4.38
#11Theme4.20
#25Fun3.86
#30Innovation3.98
#49Overall3.80
#67Mood3.67
#128Audio3.33
#142Graphics3.76

Comments

TobiasW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Haha - that's great! The simple comic-like graphics fit rather well (although I am not totally sure about your choice of color everywhere), and I really like the animations - be it of the moderator, the reactions scenes and or the text.

What's really cool about this game is the humor and the interpretation of the theme though. It's funny and it works perfectly. I was extremely discontent with the theme, so I am doubly happy that others got creative results with it.

So - you might be short on content, but that's fine: What you have there is fun, original and on the point. Great job!

PS: The game show music was a great choice, but - uh, it's not really allowed in the competition. You are only allowed to include content you produced yourself in the 48 hours.

PPS: What did you use to make the vector art? And I guess the animations are made with Unitys animation system?

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

@TobiasW

Thanks! I did not realize that we couldn't use public domain music and sound until my friend told me after submission :( My fault for not reading the rules.

The art was done in Flash and yes, the animations were done in Unity.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

I had a lot of fun with this. You should really make a longer, full scale version outside of the jam. It was really entertaining, and I kept playing with it.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

That's a great funny game! Not rating audio because of the source, but everything else is great! It's funny, innovative, and hilarious! The best score I got was a 29, but I think there is a bug. I got 11 points for stewing a strawberry. Not a big issue through.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

I love his reactions to everything. And awesome use of the theme and a really neat mechanic.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I liked the general idea and humor of the game. I would have liked to see some more animations relating to the different tasks...felt as though most of them were just seeing the object being thrown at something

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

freezed by cucumber on orange..

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Hilarious, and fits the theme perfectly :) Played like I was on the game show, that's the best praise I can give! Really polished overall.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Oh god this is fantastic. So funny. Such a cute and simple idea, but you executed it really well and it's a really fantastic take on the theme. Really well done!

Ayte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

i loved it, great work !

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I liked the game a lot.
I think usually people either remove the music from their games or switch to the Jam instead of compo. It's hard to judge a game with music as if it was without music and in your case the audio adds a lot to it.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

This was really fun, I liked the randomized rounds and it was fun trying different objects for different objectives and learning what works best for what. The art style and color palette was very fun and I think it fit with the idea of the game really well!

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

lol pretty fun and random, it's awesome that bulls get angry when you throw them tomatoes but not when you throw the cucumbers xD

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

So much fun :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Brilliant, love the comic-like graphics and the idea is hilarious

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

Is really fun and I like music so much :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

This was weird xD but so good.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

This really captures the "crazy game show" vibe. Where else do I have the opportunity to use a shuriken to calm a baby? Fun humor and fast paced choices with entertaining consequences. Good work.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:12am

Feels like McPixel

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Ow this is great haha! Really like the audio and graphics of this game

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Funny concept and fun execution! Loved the music! Great job!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Quite fun and funny. Played multiple times, love the guy in the corner.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:52am

Lol wow this is a funny game. Well done!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:28pm

really funny and original concept

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:46am

Absolutely loved how you've captured the essence of zany Japanese quiz shows as part of the only one mechanic in the game. Some of the more stranger solutions to certain tasks were pretty amusing.

taocayo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:27am

This is the funniest LD28 submission I've found so far. I also had a lot of fun guessing which item would work for each task. Did the Japanese come from google translate?

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:48pm

@taocayo Yes I did!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:48am

Love the concept, it has a nice style to it.

Even though I can't rate you for audio, I felt the music complemented the rest pretty well.

I do feel it's lacking a bit in the gameplay department, sometimes you get to interact with the object, like feeding the fire, and in others you don't. Maybe it could be more interactive in the scenes.

25 points was my best.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Holy shit this is amazing. Really intelligent use of audio too.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:49pm

ohh the music is in my head... THE MUSIC IS IN MY HEAD!
Ahahaha, funny entry, I really play it a lot of times.

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:20am

Hah. Nicely done capturing mood in the menus, interstitial screens, and brevity of the interactions. Good mix of activities, but I kind wish there were more.

Kind of a big issue: while trying to squash the orange by hurling the cat downward at it, I seem to have sent the cat through the table, never to return. It seems my only options then were to watch the orange and endure the music or reload.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Wow. Real good. Would've rated better in fun, if squishing the orange behaved more sonsistently.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]