December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

EYE GUN

by acp_ld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The theme kind of stymied me so I entered it into an anagram generator. The one that stood out was Lo Eye Gun No Toy. And who only gets one eye? A CYCLOPS! So this is the adventure of the cyclops Eyyegon who is trying to rescue his family from the evil El Tony and his minions.

edited: replaced link to make the game a zip instead of gamemaker installer, no changes made to game

edit2: spoiler space dont read until you tried at least once to figure it out on your own











hint ahead:









hint 1:
You can right click to to detach the eye after you start moving, if you do that hitting ledges no longer stops your motion and you slide much further.

hint 2:
teeter totter launchers shoot further based on how fast you are going when you fall on them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#37Innovation3.94
#131Humor3.29
#215Theme3.41
#275Fun3.21
#296Overall3.26
#650Mood2.55
#881Graphics2.09

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

A ZIP would satisfy me!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Interesting gameplay, really!
But I wonder how do these cyclops move without this eyeball artifact?)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Very nicely implemented and an original control mechanism that works very well. A nice little puzzler.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I have changed the archive to a zip per request

Also normal cyclopsesse have arms and legs so they dont need to use their eyeball as a grappling hook

Thank you for playing!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Surprisingly fun puzzle game. Needs polishing of course, but it is pretty creative with its puzzles and central mechanic.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice game! But why i had to install it?

Sytech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

A really cool and original concept! Creative!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Interesting concept.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Fun and amazing use of the theme, I couldn't complete the last level but I guess I just didn't believe in the eye gun well enough.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

the last level is guaranteed beatable but requires a trick that you might not have used in the previous levels, thanks for playing

wilpel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Really cool!

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41pm

The controls are a bit weird, it would have been nice to just have the pull action automatic maybe? left click and hold shoots and pulls maybe. using left clicking for two separate actions was odd

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I like the idea of the mechanic and the story made me laugh, but the drag-yourself-around mechanic feels a bit tedious in practice, unfortunately :/ could do with a bit of jinking around to get it to feel smoother?

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

It's kinda cute!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Cool idea, funny implementation, game breaking bug. I attached to the top of the platform while I was falling and my eye won't retract. I took a screenshot of it to show you.
http://i1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc492/Tuskus/eyegun_zps8e3d51a4.png

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31am

ty for the screenshot you are right, I'm only checking for a single collision line between the eye and the home, then the eye resets

I should be checking for 2 collision lines at the outside radius of the eye

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Its an interesting game, however, the idea was taken by many similar games nowadays :(

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Funny and fun!

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I really liked this. Very different, and fun to figure out the puzzles. After about fifty tries I did give up on the end boss. I figured that I had to get up onto the platform to get to the rocks, but I never got above ground level, despite many, many, MANY attempts. I couldn't seem to chain eye-swings together, and the large collider around my body kept... arg. I guess I just did it wrong.

Considering how stripped-down this was, I was surprised how much I enjoyed it.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56pm

You get an extra plus on the graphics and simple game-play. Maybe I'm not quite the puzzle-solver but dropping a gunman after having introduced the solution (going around) and not having any way around was a bit of a downer. Gave up there.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I added hints to the game description. I just tried the game and it is beatable.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Quite tricky controls but that's a great concept in there with some nice levels as well. Great work! :)

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Super fun concept, great job :)

jongtao says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:08am

I like the gameplay. I got stuck at the last level though. I feel that thinks could have gone a lot better if you could swing on the eye for a bit instead of having it lose grip instantly once you get there.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Great game :D
I really like the idea^^ The game plays quite well, but I really needed to remind myself of the slide-feature, when detaching the eye. This slide also feels a bit unnatural, but it's predictable, so it wasn't a big problem.
Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]