December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One

by Ras Lyon - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION:

Shepherd this planet from being a burning rock to an Eden of sustainability. Problems erupt depending on the planet's stage of evolution. Different problems require different solutions. Feel how stressful it is to be God.



CONTROLS:

Click and Drag to move around the planet

Click on problems to stop them

Click on Resource icons to stop different problems




PLEASE PLAY TO STAGE 2 (WATER) <Gameplay evolves from there>



Web Version can be really buggy...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#145Graphics(Jam)3.77
#148Innovation(Jam)3.23
#266Overall(Jam)3.10
#270Audio(Jam)2.87
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#286Theme(Jam)2.70
#401Fun(Jam)2.50
#435Humor(Jam)1.61

Comments

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42am

Getting an error on Windows download about missing data folder. Perhaps you need to ZIP up the EXE with the data folder?

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Oh, thank you j_stirk! I'll get on that ASAP.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

OK, Windows link is fixed. Please rate us!

mactinite says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03am

This was an interesting concept, though repetitive. It was a little awkward dragging to move the planet as it carried no velocity when I did so and I think I got Gimbal locked a few times. Nice presentation though.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53am

Thanks mactinite! I'll return the rating favor. Cheers.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14am

Great graphics and particle effects. Gameplay needs to be more fun, can be improved with things like chaining(combos), upgrades etc... But overall good polished result!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Thanks Phi6. Yeah, the game picks up from the 2nd stage. The 1st stage is pretty slow...

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I this game, I learned that the solution for many environmental problems is a giant-sized Cork :-)

Nice game, congratulations for finishing the Jam. I think you guys really nailed the graphics, and the basic idea was cool too.

A few things I think could use some improvement:
- Having to click the different "resources" back and forth with the planet was frustrating, specially in the later levels. I think having the option to switch the resources using the keyboard would be nice.
- Also, make the selected resource stand up a bit more, sometimes it is not very clear.
- There could be a key to "leave" the game. I had to alt-tab out of the window and then kill the process to leave the game midway through.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Thank you Caranha, very constructive comments! If my partner is up for it, I'd like to pursue your suggestions. Keyboard change is cool, and more of tutorial would be helpful. I think a "save" system is needed. So you don't have to start back at the beginning if you time out. Thanks for playing to the later stages! I'm going to check out your title!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice entry!
I think that the camera is a bit difficult to control

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Like the idea, there should be hotkeys to switch between the different tools and an easier way to scroll around the world. Really liked seeing the planet develop in the beginning, it was harder to notice change towards the end.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice graphics =)
It's funny how you "learn" the types of events and how to counter them, the gameplay is sadly a bit repetitive.
The hardest part was to spot the society spots, these dark clouds were really hard to see...
The movement of the camera took me a while to get used to. Since all actions require the RMB (Turning planet, selecting resource, filling the leaks on the planet) - it might be a good choice to make the resources selectable via the numpad, or by using the mousewheel :)
It was fun to play it until the end; nice submission!

jjc180 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Overall a very nice looking game and seemed well polished. Keyboard controls for the different crisis solutions would have made it more enjoyable to play. Nice particle effects!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Thanks for the comments and rates! It's funny, because we never even thought about setting the resource selection to the keyboard...*facepalm*

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Great idea, but maybe a little bit repetitive. Nice job anyway !

meek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I loved the concept of this game. It is clever how it makes you see the impact of life on a planet. My only issue is that gameplay based solely on quick consecutive clicking is not that fun (Godus). Feels like an iphone app. But otherwise the concept is amazing and graphics are lovely

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice game, however, could use more variety.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Yeah, I think it would be more fun on an iPhone. I think where we messed up is that the first stages are too long. I think it gets interesting later on... but honestly, while I'm playing, I want it to end. But after it ends, I just want to play it again. Weird, huh. Next time we'll try to find the fun!! This time we were just trying to make it work! hahah

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nice game, great graphics, innovative gameplay!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:03am

Hey, sorry to come here to comment, I can't send you a message or anything. You can totally play my game! You have to install Love2d, then you can download the .love file I've provided and run it. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29464

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:57am

Very repetitive... got a little easer once I realized I could click without being right on top of a hot/wet/life spot. Maybe use right click to cycle between your equipment instead of having to mouse off, click an icon, and come back? Very pretty for just a few days, though.

Oli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Wow! Cool concept! :)
Just one critic: you could add keyboard shortcuts to select resources

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Sweet concept and nice graphics.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I liked how the planet changed over time. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:39pm

well done. i could see this evolving with keyboard keys for each of the resources and maybe some variation to keep it from being too repetitive in the first level or so

Kep says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:06am

One of the best I have played so far. I won on my second try and I really enjoyed it. Great graphics, good sound.
I agree with a lot of the suggestions here. Keyboard tool selection, quit button, drag off planet should not break drag, etc.
I understand putting out fires with water and plugging holes with a cork, but most of the rest were lost on me. (plants make the green/purple lights go away for some reason. ???) But I was still compelled to rush and fix everything.

This should be on Kongregate! (or some other game site, not try to promote them.)

Overall 5/5. Keep up the good work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really interesting idea, and I quite liked the evolving look of the planet. Well done. :)

Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The visuals really stand out. Good job with all the effects and textures. However, the controls are not that great - it feels as if not the gameplay itself, but rather the controls are the main challenge here, i.e. rotating the view and picking the right tool.
I think it would be more intuitive and allow for more fluent gameplay if the mouse was hidden and mouse movements would always lead to a changed view (not only when you click), and you could select tools using the number keys.
Also I think the stages could have been a bit shorter, since it got relatively repetitive. Other than that, good job though. It's nice to see the planet evolve over time.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Wow! Excellent constructive review ShellfishGames, thank you! I like your suggestions, especially for rotating the camera. It's been a great suggestion to map the resources to buttons. Stage length has been the largest revelation for myself. This is our first attempt at LD. So learning a lot! おかげさまで!

johns says ...
Mar 8, 2014 @ 12:58am

im sorry im having
trouble downloading im new

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]