December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thrust Issues

by Gravedrinker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One of your spaceship's thrusters broke and now it's on you to explore the dangerous old factory in search of a replacement!

Can you overcome tricky obstacles, boiling hot steam and dangerous machinery; all with only one thruster?

Play now and find out!

* Tricky obstacle courses
* Pilot a vintage self-aware spaceship
* Speedrun timer and saved best-times
* Hand-drawn graphics

Thrust is everything in a relationship they say. Now you too can play a self-aware vintage spaceship with Thrust Issues to be reminded of that.

Hint: Right arrow lets you skip a level


UPDATE: There is a post-compo version available now. Try it out to see your feedback incorporated!

*New, alternate control scheme (left/right arrow)
*New, easier levels to start out with
*Music, sound effects
*Additional assets in the levels

This is my first game jam.

Twitter: @Gravedrinker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#22Theme4.05
#54Innovation3.81
#82Fun3.61
#109Overall3.64
#166Graphics3.68
#231Humor2.99
#351Mood2.97
#747Audio1.55

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

really neat concept. it was really hard though and i could see the early levels being a little easier to get people into it. overall, a nice innovative piece

Follett says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:29pm

This was great! Such a good use of theme, art was great and was really fun.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Great fun to play game with an interesting concept that fits the theme very well. And I like the awesome style. The game is really hard though.

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Very good use of the theme! Although, I agree with mcapraro. It was very hard to get even to the first platform! Fun nonetheless though :)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Thanks guys. Glad you like it. I didn't realize it was so hard. I was even a bit worried it might be too easy haha. When I continue on this game I will add a few easier levels in the beginning so the player can get the hang of it more easily. Thanks for the feedback.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great game! Good, big, hand-drawn art, and very fun gameplay.
I also like that it doesn't have audio(yet?), in my opinion it gives a lot of class to a game :o)
It also has a lot of content! Took me 10-20 min to beat (didn't time :p).

In my experience, once you lift off you either do very good or very badly (I guess its because the thruster isn't powerful enough to break a fall)

When I land upside-down I keep thinking I can flip over again by timing the thrusts :p, while in reality it's the only situation in which you need the restart button.

Thank goodness you can land upside-down in the landing zone and it counts :^)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Thanks YellowLime! I did have a few sound effects and music lined up but I didn't include them here because while they were made during the 48 hours they weren't made by me.

Would you say the thruster should be strong enough to break a fall?

And yeah, I thought getting into the landing zone no matter how would be more fun than having to land correctly, especially when trying to beat your own best-time.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Was pretty difficult, but the art really made it enjoyable.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Nice use of the theme! Really gun game. Great art. Shame that there were no sounds.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I like this game a lot, despite how challenging I find it. Cool graphics, interesting gameplay. I definitely want to see you develop this further and maybe release it for the mobile market.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Haha, any game that has me saying "wu... whooo.... woaaaah... wooooaaaaah" is a winner. :D I loved the graphic style as well. Some sound (in fact, just some basic white noise for the thrusters and a generic 'bonk' collision) would've been a nice addition.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Thanks everyone! DustyStylus: I had sounds and music lined up which were made by someone else, but then got the game finished in time for the compo and joined that. And had to remove the music and sounds. :(

Thanks a lot for playing.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

Took a bit to get used to it, but it was an extremely fun game, it was a great use of the theme.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

This was a great use of the theme. It was very difficult yet really fun and kept me hooked. The art also was very nice. Not sure if you forgot a debug hook or it was deliberate but the right arrow key lets you skip levels...I accidentally did that half way through :(

tgnass says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

Neat concept. But really hard though

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

Nice job....difficult mechanic at first but I got the hang of it.

Was allowing you to skip to the next level by pressing the right arrow key intentional? :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Super charming art and story, and while it could get a bit difficult, it was so fun that I played through to the end!

benjih says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

I thought I had it figure until I realised I had to land the thing too. Super fun though.

Congratulations making such a polished game for your first game jam!

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

Fun to play, and good take on the theme!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

Thanks a lot for all the nice feedback. Being able to skip levels with the right arrow was intentional but I forgot to mention it. I added it because some people found the game really hard and I wanted everyone to be able to see the rest of the game.
I improved the game quite a bit since entering the compo by adding sounds and music back in, having a better control scheme and adding more levels (including a few easier levels in the beginning so the difficulty ramps up more slowly). Thanks again to everyone playing, I'm so happy that people dig it.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very well done! Nice use if theme. Its took few tries to get used to how to keep the car under control.
Its nice that you can skip level with arrow keys :p

On the credits screen you mentioned about music but I didnt hear any music throughout the game?

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26am

Great entry, perfect for the theme. :)

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46am

This is great, and funny too!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

This is really nice for a first jam game. Like other people said, it's pretty hard. It would have been a lot easier if you started with the thrusters being closer to the center and slowly (as levels progress) shift to the way they are now (closer to the left/right edges). Since closer to the center = easier to go up. I can easily see this game being even better if you had more thrusters (didn't play through to the end, so I don't know if you actually put in more later). Overall a really nice job!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41am

A game about awkward controls is no excuse for awkward controls.

Tubutas says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29am

Great concept! Tons of fun!

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

Fun idea, and it's really well executed, though something about the controls felt... off I guess.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:19am

Great work, at first I just held space but later after taking it slower it got easier. Fun to play :)

cesisco says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35am

Cool game, but i would prefer the left and rigth arrow keys to control the thruster.

xk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20am

Quite awesome concept. A bit challenging but fun. Graphics are fine and gameplay is smooth. Great game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55am

I loved this entry, even though it is incredibly hard. As a concept, it's pure genius. Coupled with that great pun, you just can't go wrong.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34am

Great graphic style. The controls where a bit tricky to start with but I soon made progress. No sound on my playing. I really enjoyed playing this, well done!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Thanks for the feedback. I uploaded a post-compo version where I used that feedback to make the game easier to start out with. It has an alternate control scheme now, which will also be listed in the "tutorial" text in the beginning. I also added the sounds and music back in which I couldn't use during the compo since it is a one-man show.

Last but not least there are additional art assets in the game, more decorations and some physics-boxes to knock over.

Keep it coming!

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

This is a lot of fun! The physics work really good. Awesome game!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice game, the post-compo one is MUCH easier to play, but partially because there's a bug where you can use both thrusters :P Good entry :)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Thanks ian_snyder, I just fixed that. Glad you liked it.

S0lll0s says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Fits the theme really nice and is a good idea, the controls make the game really hard though, post-compo version is much better to control.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Ankward controls are ankward but I found them them whole fun - using arrows makes the game unnecessarily easier :) Really enjoyed game and art style.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Nice idea, but gets frustrating really quick! I didn't even know about the "skip level" controls until I decided to try and see if mashing other keys would do anything, I thought I glitched the game for a minute there haha.
Great graphics though, sounds would of been awesome. Nice to see how good it runs in an HTML5 canvas too (it is, right?)
Good job!

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

The controls and handling are pretty hardcore. A good looking game! nice work

sadiquo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I love it :D but it's very hard...

havana24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Good use of the theme! But I think it's a little bit difficult!

Dohan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Tried both versions and, while the compo version controls are a bit hard to master, the post-compo version is really addictive and fun!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Excellent use of the theme :D fun to play (totally love how the eyes keep looking upward!)

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Great fun to play, i liked it!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Very well done. I enjoyed watching this on stream and playing this myself a lot! The Post Compo controlls are a million times better than the compo version though :)
Good Job!

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Thrust games are always awesome and this was a nice twist. I really enjoyed the art style and the way the ship's eyes point towards the goal was a nice idea.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Like the set-up, but the controls are difficult to master, flipping over between with enter could make you flip back to the same side you were trying to flip from. :p

Graphics are nice and the concept is good. :)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, but I thought it's a little bit difficult, as it's very tricky to steer the vehicle. But overall it's well done! Pity for the lack of sound :(

gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Really neat idea, though a little bit difficult to get to grips with. Decent graphics though.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen. Love the art too!

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Great game!
Awesome graphics and mechanics. Really addicting!!! Awesome work! Incredible!


If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

A lot of fun! :D

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Nice design and idea, but it's soooo difficult :o

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Definitely difficult, but as with a lot of difficult games, I started building second- and third-order skills after I'd mastered the basics. This is the sort of game that, with a few bonus "impossible" levels, would inspire a lot of YouTube speed run playthroughs.

Adding the resting places was a great idea. Sometimes I'd get halfway up and just need to reset my attitude and velocity so I could think about the next section of the level.

-mildmojo

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

This really fun. And hard. Great idea you had there!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Thanks primaerfunktion! And mize_VS_mildmojo: That would definitely be cool. During testing I always caught myself trying to beat my best time.

SamH says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:11am

It’s really fun. But it’s very difficult. But I like the name, so that’s all right. But then again, it’s very difficult. Takes some time to learn and master.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great fun. Really clever idea. Looks pretty nice too. I played through both the compo and post version and enjoyed both control styles. I'm on the fence as to which is preferable though. I found the original far more infuriating but enjoyed the challenge. The more intuitive post compo experience was perhaps more fun though.
Nice work :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very, very difficult but an inspired interpretation of the theme. I liked it very much. Some nice touches in the graphics too, eg, the expression your ship makes when it bumps into something.

samooJAM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:30pm

great challenge

WojWorks says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:04pm

A fun little physics game. That's saying alot cause I usually hate physics games.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Loved it! Very fun!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:04am

Really nice concept, and fun gameplay!

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Holy cow that's different!! Thought it was gonna be another moon lander or something. Kind of hard too! Great game, man!

ehtd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:00am

Pretty clever use of the theme, nice game.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Wah, great use of theme that turned out unexpectedly fun. Nicely done!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Best theme usage so far. Awesome.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Well thought out, and quite fun. Great use of the theme, and really cute graphics. I liked this one quite a bit.

Eniko says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Great game! It's really fun to play although yeah, the difficulty ramps up pretty hard. Was there a way to reset the level I didn't find? Cause that'd have been useful!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:48pm

@Eniko: Yes, the R key. It says that in the "tutorial" in the first room. :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Took me a while to get started but once I got flying I must say that was a really interesting mechanic.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very addictive game: simple concept but effective!
Balancing thrust is a bit hard but you keep trying and trying!
Oh and I liked the short intro too.
Well done!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

This is brilliant! I had a blast playing it. Even without sound, which was a bit of a letdown.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Awesome concept, well executed. Really fun, not too frustrating. Such an awesome game, it really fits with the theme. I can play this for hours(I am REALLY bad at this game)! :D

Yoni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:14pm

It's really hard to control :( And I think you shouldn't make the "right" key a level skip key, it took me a while to figure out why the screen keeps changing :)
In my previous games I used "N" or "S" as the level skip key.

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:23am

Really nice interpretation of the theme, it results in a fun gameplay. But first controls are not at all intuitive.

You really improved it in the postCompo version.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Simply fun, looks already polished.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Loved this game! Loved the artwork and how the spaceship's eyes followed the movement around. Really smooth play as well. I perhaps would have preferred a single key for L/R thrust with some other contrivance to ensure you can only operate one at a time. Would love to hear the sound to accompany this gem

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:58am

Really hard but interesting concept and a nice take on the theme. I also liked the hand-drawn graphics.

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:41am

Interesting concept and theme interpretation.
Good job, dude!

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:45pm

One of the best ways I've seen to incorporate the theme.
Nice graphics, and funny as well.
It reminded me in some ways of the very old game bugaboo. In a hard physics way you had to get to a point and it was very frustrating, but you had to try again and again and again.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:40pm

It's unbelievable hard to control this thing, but anyway, good use of the theme :D

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:35pm

It's so hard! I can almost feel like I'm in that spaceship! Very innovative, very funny. I do like how you fixed the controls in post-compo version. :)

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice concept with awesome graphics. It felt a bit difficult and frustrating to me, it's hard to regain control over the car once you lose it.

Sheepolution says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 3:04am

I excepted this game to end higher. Too bad :( I really liked it!

Gravedrinker says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Thanks sheepolution. Yeah it would have been nice to get a higher place but oh well. Maybe it was too hard for some? Almost every comment mentions how hard it is.
Or maybe I should have also done more to get people to notice it? Post more, rate even more etc. Who knows. Maybe next time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]