December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Hot Potato

by Tomski - Jam Entry

Here is our 4 way platformer/brawler "One Hot Potato".

The goal is to kill the other players before they get you. There is only one weapon, the potato.

If you hold onto it, it will deal more damage when you throw it, but it will start to get hot and damage you if you hold it for too long.

We have a full Client and server for network play, however the simulations running on server and client got out of sync far too quickly, so even though we got it to a functioning state, we most likely wont be putting up servers as the gameplay over the net is not up to scratch.

Select Local play, and then choose the player count, then you can alter between input and or if you want players to be controlled by the CPU

I cant wait to play this as a drinking game, local multiplayer really is great. If you dont have anyone round, you can always try battling against the cpu, not too smart but fun anyway.

We had a lot of fun making this, shame about the multiplayer over the net, but all in all we are pretty happy with the result :)

360 Controller support and probably other similar controllers that we dont have to test!

Controls:

A - Move Left
D - Move Right
Space - Jump
Mouse click and move, aim and fire the potato
Hold onto the potato for longer to heat it up for extra damage

Bindings for 360 controller:
Left thumbstick - movement
Right Trigger - fire potato
Right thumbstick - aim

Note: This is a multiplayer game!

Contributors:

Steve Maxim
Tom Wojciechowski
Oscar Stretton
Justin Shapcott

Coded in Java xD
Libraries used:
Libgdx
Spine
Kryonet
Kryo
Tiled
Universal Tween Engine


Attributes:
Font http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/alfa-slab
Music "River Valley Breakdown" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#35Audio(Jam)3.81
#37Theme(Jam)3.69
#38Fun(Jam)3.72
#60Humor(Jam)3.46
#68Overall(Jam)3.67
#124Mood(Jam)3.36
#130Graphics(Jam)3.82
#184Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

GuginoGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

Where's the download?

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

haha, yea you need a way to play :)

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Where has it gone!?

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54am

Should be fixed now, sorry about that :)

TFJO says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

Maybe a last-minute bugfix?

TFJO says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

Yep, it's here now!

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Excellent and fun haha, and the song is amazing

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09am

Thanks glovecat!

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

TowerFall with potato!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

Hehe, despite the lag, that was pretty fun. Well done guys!

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Cute and fun game with a unique take on the theme. I enjoyed the trail left behind by speeding potato.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

How you got this done in 72 hours, I'll never know!

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44am

Haha! Multiplayer is actually a lot more functional than we first thought, might extend this after LD.

People need to stop holding onto the potato when they are dead though :P

TaleLore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Pretty cool.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10am

The game does indeed look like it would be quite the fun multiplayer game, but there is no mention of the controls anywhere, not in your post and not in the README. I spent about a half hour figuring out you aim and click with the mouse to throw the potato.

Aside from this, the potato doesn't do enough damage in my opinion, kinda hard to get to the computer and throw in time to make it worth it really

Also, in one of my game the potato got stuck in the wall.

That all aside, great game though, high quality, especially if you were worrying about multiplayer as well, even if it didn't work that way in the end.

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

Ill add controls to the description, just one of those things that slips on little sleep, sorry!

The damage is up to 60% depending on how long you hold it for, networking took a big chunk of time to sort out, so there are a bunch of bugs that probably would have been ironed out if we hadn't gone for it.

Thanks for the feedback!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

"OH NO!"
Pretty cool, though the window was too big to display on my screen all at once, but I managed to play it, still. Pretty cool. :3

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Ah, our bad. Hopefully it didn't ruin it too much!

nevint says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Really fun! Best of luck with the voting Tom <3

reecpj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15pm

This game is too good! Genuinely, it's suspiciously good..

delmadan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:34am

Love it! great game guys!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Yet another multiplayer game I've found this Ludum Dare, which is awesome! Surprisingly a lot of fun to play, even if there are a couple of bugs. Shame you couldn't get network MP working to a standard you were happy with :/
Mine too is local multiplayer ;)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Neat idea, good job (:

Christian S. says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Did not start for me (OS X Mavericks). The screenshots look beautiful, though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice idea. Towerfall fans aren't we? :D
Great game done in no time!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12am

The song is very cool! Thats funny!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:14am

Launches to a black screen and then quits with no error messages here on OS X Lion.

Tomski says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:46am

Ok, uploaded a new jar, we haven't got anything running OS X that we can test on :(

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:40am

Good game. I like this graphic, and sound is wonderful, and so much fun. Thank you.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17am

Fun and simple!
nice going..

woop!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Cute game, graphics are amazing. We enjoyed sound too !

There is however a lack of feedback, we didn't understand what we had to do, and didn't seen the "hot potato" mechanic. Maybe a lack of time, too bad, the overall is still nice.

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:56am

Very cute, I was surprised at how much you got done in that amount of time! I played vs CPU, I'll have to play again vs 4 friends; I've got 4 controllers.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:08am

WOAAAAA I Love bluegrass music and the main theme amazed me ^^ perfect perfect! And the multi-player and all of that is so much fun :D I would love playing this with a group of friends :D

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:08am

Please do! Let us know how it goes :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:02am

hahahahah cute game here very funny and fun, i couldn't play with anybody but as far as i can see the game looks fun if you play with others. I love the animation and how the game looks! Also the happy music was nice! Excellent work! :D

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very nice game. A lot of fun, great graphics & audio and good use of the theme too. Well polished overall :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really fun take on the theme (a multiplayer deathmatch game where only one player actually has the weapon) and I loved how holding onto a literally hot potato burns down your health but makes your throw do extra damage. I did find a small bug where after finishing a game and starting a new one, the fading to red transition still occurs though.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The handling on the player is a bit slow. Nice sounds, great graphics.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:37pm

This game was fun to play! Although this happened: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2963538/glitch.jpg

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]