December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Highway Clearance Simulator

by milugames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Clear all the asteroids using your 1 solitary nuke! Try not to blow yourself up!

WASD flies the ship.
SPACE shoots the nuke. Use it to pulverize the asteroids and then catch it again with your ship before the timer runs out and makes it go boom.

Physics based spaceflight so it's pretty tricky. Holding SHIFT engages the inertial damper to stop the ship.

Made with Game Maker Studio. And I'm really really too sleepy to be writing this here.

Come talk gamedev with me on twitter @GamesByMilu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#37Theme3.91
#128Graphics3.81
#213Humor3.04
#255Overall3.31
#291Fun3.19
#326Mood3.00
#336Audio2.82
#411Innovation3.03

Comments

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

This is good ! I've got the feeling that it would be better on a bigger map, but I don't know

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

Well made little game with bad end...

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Looks awesome, funny circumstances :-)

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

Pretty cool concept, I like the cathing, and it wasn't too hard either. Still very challenging though ;)
Solid gameplay once you get used to it!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

This is at once the most difficult and the most interesting asteroids variant I have played. I salute you. Also, budgetary constraints, lol.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07am

Nice little entry.
Not much content but what is there I like.
Intro Screen has too much text in small font sizes.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I like the Artwork very much. Deep space, shiny planets, dark nebulas... cool :) Nice minimalistic gameplay.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I enjoyed this, its a little difficult but its not impossible with some practice, also I like the graphics, very nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Really enjoyed it, waiting for a polished version now :)

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice asteroids clone with good graphics.
Is it intended that the nuke gets removed when you press control?

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This is really well polished, shame I died though. ;) Good game, music was the only thing that was missing!

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Haha had a lot of fun with this. And your humor shines through wonderfully :D

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00am

Good game, but you used Game Maker Studio? Shame on you!

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02am

Good game, especially the physics are authentic ^^ bother also bothering. but you used Game Maker Studio? Shame on you!

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Thank you everybody for the absolutely awesome feedback! :) I especially enjoyed the comments that picked up on the humor in the game. I would've added a lot more if I had time. Maybe in the "real" version. If I ever get to it. Thank you again!


@broepi What do you have against GM:S and why shame? Read the rules. I clearly did not break any rule nor the spirit of this competition!

@PlugNPlay I was 100% sure I removed that. I just used that for testing. That's pretty bad that that was left in. But then again 48 hours.It happens.

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nice sluggish controls on the ship. Feels solid also, nice work!

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38pm

No, don't worry, you didn't break any rules. It's just a personal feeling because GM:S is highly proprietary and commercial. Just think about "Ubuntu Linux Export" +$99.99 extra charge , WTF is that?

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:40am

Brought back memories of the old arcade Asteroid game!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:27am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:28am

Great take on Asteroids. Loved angular momentum and inertial dampers (while unrealistic :P) are vital in these cirscumstances. A bit more variety -- different kinds of asteroids, maybe black holes that suck you in etc would be cool if you plan to develop it further. Very fun entry, good job!

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:25am

Found it a bit challenging to move around, the thrusters should probably have been a bit more responsive. Really like the idea of throwing and fetching a nuclear bomb to destroy asteroids, fits well with the theme. :)

d__adee says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:41am

It's pretty hard! I get lost of the control and direction easily. xD
Otherwise it's a pretty nice idea.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Awesome graphics and interface! Good luck! :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:00am

good job mate :) (forgot to add a comment when I rated it last time)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Made me laugh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]