December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fort Meow

by RhysD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fort Meow

A game by Rhys Davies for Ludum Dare 28 - 2013

Web - www.rhysd.com
Twitter - @rhysdee

==================

Vacation at Grandmas has never been more irritating! She has always been a bit cat crazy, but this is absurd! All you want to do is read your new book in peace.

Build up your pillow fort to defend against the snuggle seeking cats who want your warm lap like it's about to go out of fashion!

The catch? You only get ONE hour to build up your defenses before the hordes arrive!

==================

Controls

Space bar (hold) - Show item menu.

Left mouse button - Select item, place item.

Mouse - rotate item after it has been placed.

Right mouse button - Cancel action, remove placed item.

Escape - Quit.

==================

Design, Code, Art, Music & Sound - Rhys Davies

Created using Clickteam Fusion 2.5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#16Humor4.03
#17Overall4.03
#18Fun3.91
#56Audio3.59
#64Graphics4.03
#72Innovation3.74
#85Mood3.60
#570Theme2.73

Comments

gnerkus says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I like this!

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Thanks! It was my first Ludum Dare and a heap of fun! Going to do the next ones for sure :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

When the first cat jumped out I lost it. So great.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

Gave me a good laugh. Nice job.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Hilarious and amazing concept. Who doesn't fucking love pillow forts? Only problem I see is that it is a bit easy. Does it get any harder later on?

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

That was awesome. So original and funny, hope you do well in the Humor and Fun cats.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

This was a lot of fun to play. I love the art style as well. Awesome job!

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

This was pretty unique, I really liked building my fort :D The cats came quite slowly though, and the brooms were too cheap. Overall it's one of the best I've played so far though!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

The amount of cats only increase as the nights pass. Hopefully I can add a better difficulty curve after the competition ends. Thanks for the nice comments and plays so far!

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Placing items isn't working for me on windows 8. I hover over the item selection menu and try clicking, nothing happens, and I try clicking somewhere after releasing space, and still nothing happens.

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

Nevermind, it's because my laptop won't let me click if I'm holding the space bar down. Could you make it so left control works in place of the space bar?

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

I Really Love This Game. It's My Favorite I've Rated So Far!

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

That was a lot of fun and cute haha. I will definitely be playing more of this later. :) Great job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20am

Great game. Loved the style and the meows.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

Very well executed for 48 hours, very polished. Great effort, I'd only say the direction could be divided a little better, all cats from one side is gonna get you sooner or later.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47am

Thanks :) and yes, hopefully after the competition ends I will be adding more to the game!

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

Pretty hilarious game. :) I felt it was a bit light on the theme but everything else was great!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

that was pretty fun! though it was short-lived after 4 or so rounds beaten with ease. but nice entry for your first!

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

nice! VERY polished hard to believe this was done by one person in 48 hours from scratch.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I had a lot of fun playing your game ! Gj ! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:02am

This looks like a major success! The polish is unbelievable in such a short period of time. Features a really nice, innovative control scheme for placing objects. How can anyone not love the game concept!?

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43pm

That was pretty excellent!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41pm

AWESOME! - Everything (graphics, audio, fun factor, game mechanics)except the game length and difficulty.
GOOD - For a 48hr compo, the number of levels is acceptable.
NOT SO GOOD - The game's a little too easy.
CONCLUSION - A very creative use of the theme and a very good addition to the "tower defense" genre of games.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Very funny! :D Plus, my cat is called Mr Meow! :D

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Idea is great! The graphics are good. But it is a little boring and too easy if you use only blue pillows.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great game, very fun and charming. Unfortunately it seems to be a pretty decent strategy to spam the blue square-shaped pillows everywhere, though. I didn't even use any of the other things later in the game.. :)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really neat idea and I love the art style in this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]