December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Black Lighthouse

by funselektor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The lighthouse has stopped working. You must restart it before night falls.

(Simply pick up 7 red balls with your boat and return them to the lighthouse)

----
Controls:
WASD

The boat controls may take some getting used to. They boat controls are "heavy", so counter-steer and plan where you're going to go, just like with a real boat.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#77Mood3.64
#89Graphics3.94
#167Audio3.20
#528Overall2.97
#673Innovation2.63
#701Humor1.80
#756Theme2.42
#913Fun2.13

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

I'm not sure how to play, but it's fun driving around with the boat and the graphics are neat.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Amazing graphics and mood. The music fit really well with the atmosphere.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very nice visuals and style! The simplistic audio is quite charming and ominous as well.

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

Wow, awesome mood and graphics (really cool water effects!)

The ship was a bit hard to control for me, but great job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

This polygon art I've seen a few times is amazing! I absolutely love it!

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

I love this, it looks so pretty and the music is nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

Love the graphics, the control of the boat are interesting, not as easy as I first thought

benedict says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

This game is a good start, well done!

I had issues with the controls - manipulating the ship was extremely difficult, and I got stuck on rocks frequently. There was also a lack of feedback in the game. I had no idea how much power I needed to get for the lighthouse, from the lighting alone I couldn't tell how much of the day had passed (perhaps some sort of meter or having a sun that passes in the sky would help?), and I also got completely lost (a map might help).

I guess the question comes more down to where you want the player to find the game interesting.
The game seems to straddle between being about atmospheric exploration and being goal oriented. In the future, choosing one and making all your decisions around that would definitely help.

Congrats on finishing! The water looks fantastic and it's definitely an interesting concept.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

gorgeous, didn't get much gameplay out of it though but I love the mood and the constant reminder of failure with the broken piano set piece.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Loved the graphic choices and the choice of music.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

A very eerie yet relaxing experience. It would be cool to have a little dude holding a lamp at the front of your boat! I didn't manage to find all the power sources, but had a good time just floating around.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06am

The graphics are fantastic, but its too easy to get stuck on them.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

Love the style and mood. Not really feeling the theme here. Kinda wish there was some consequence or trick that would drive me to keep going. Boat controls are nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28am

Very chilly atmosphere. Boat controls like a boat. Game has a very nice aesthetic to it.

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

Was a bit creepy, the atmosphere and the music(?) added to the mood. Was kind of expecting to see ominous figures in the distance. As for the game itself the controls were boat like but I found the ultimate goal laked a twist.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35am

The piano really set a great mood combined with the ambient. I liked the steering even though like you said, needed some time to get used to. But there was too many times perhaps that I ended up stuck not being able to move at all.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

The piano was great. Really added to the mysterious mood. Only got one ball before I got my boat wedged between two rocks, with no chance for escape. Oh well. I feel that the game was only loosely tied to the YOGO theme tho...

Btw: The linux package had a Windows .exe in it. WINE ran it just fine, but just thought you'd like to know. :)

denvil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

You should add little bit more of bobbing to boat to make it more lively. now it felt like slipping on ice.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46am

The immersion you get from the game that music sets a nice mood too.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33am

I'm in love with the art style, music and atmosphere, but the control is too frustrating to be any enjoyable. I was too frustrated to attempt further and see the ending.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice mood, but couldn't find my way around and controls are unhelpful :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice visuals and ambient music. The controls do take a bit of getting used to, but its fun powering the boat around corners. How many of those red crystals am I supposed to collect? Also, I got stuck on the lighthouse island trying to find out.

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Cool mood, i like the graphic and music style but miss a better camera. I couldn't find more than 4 balls, or go back to the lighthouse at time.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very good looking, these are the simpliest and most well done ice cube I've ever seen

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Let's be honest: control is awful: I got stuck on everything!

Graphics are nice but what's the point of building a lighthouse in a such small canyon?

Atmosphere and music is also good.

4 for me overall.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Boat takes some getting use to but feels pretty realistic. I like this one good use of theme. Well done!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

i really like the look of this game, great job on the graphics

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

The ship was difficult to control for me, but a very pretty game.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

The controls were pretty frustrating and I got stuck on the environment a couple of times. The camera clipped through the environment so and it was pretty easy to get lost. You really nailed the mood with the lighting/fog and the music. Good job!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:17am

Great atmosphere!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22am

Yarrrr she's pretty, but me ship got stuck matey!

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31am

I love the low-poly aesthetic, and it really works well with the fog and the music. Boat controls are tough, but rewarding once you figure them out and you can do cool maneuvers using reverse thrust. There was one time I got stuck on the terrain, but I was able to get out of it after a few seconds of randomly hitting keys. Camera often goes inside the terrain, but it's mostly a graphical issue not a gameplay one. I do wish there was some on-screen indicator for the time left and how much power you've collected.

habaki says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Love it! I really like the mood of this one!

Avichal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

hmm, the boats gets stuck sometimes, I think you had a hardtime with the physics, but game looks good and attractive :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Ah the atmosphere for this is wonderful! A few things kept me from finishing it, but someone should give you a high five for getting this made in the time constraints.

I'll start off with the good. I adore the art style you went for here, I've appreciated this low poly look for a while now. The music is also fitting, and the foggy build up just enhances everything.

The bad. Well, I found that if you tried to rush and accidentally rammed your boat into a rock then you'd often get stuck in it. It just got a tad frustrating, I restarted the game twice for the same reason.
The "floaty" boat controls may have attributed to some of this frustration, but I can't totally blame it. I kind of wanted to like how the boat handled.
And last but not least, the idea of having all this atmosphere and then sending me on a fetch quest for these red objects wasn't appealing for me. It felt like a last minute gameplay decision.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Great looking game - especially with water, and the fog is nicely done. The controls were, for me, somewhat prohibitive. I got a little bored dealing with the mechanics of the boat. But overall well done!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I like the low-poly style! Even though, controlling the ship was quite hard!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55am

very pretty atmosphere and mood.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Wow I always love this graphical syle, embracing the low poly count and making it your own. Love the atmosphere you have as well! Great work overall, impressive!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

the boat difficult to drive but nice graphics, I like your water effect

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:41am

Amazing graphics!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:02am

I enjoyed making my way around once I figured out the controls. Solid stuff.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I never did find a red ball. Great atmosphere, awesome boat sim controls. I really like the rough, icy terrain and the water.

It was pretty frustrating when the boat would run aground on the smallest collision with the terrain, though. Those two materials could be a lot slipperier.

I wanted a camera angle wide enough that I could see the whole lighthouse. Maybe the camera could zoom out when you're near the island?

-mildmojo

funselektor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:06am

@Mildmojo
All the problems you mentioined are updated in the Post-Compo version!

phi6 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Loving the low poly terrain, definitely a graphic style I'm into. Music is understated and great. I did get stuck on the rocks a lot though!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:03am

Graphics were nicely understated and set the mood. Liked the piano too. Could do with a little less friction on the iceberg/mountains as your boat stops like a brick if you touch them, even if from the side.

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Ambience is cool! Realist graphic design :D

Patacorow says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:21pm

So simple but so good ;)
Good job !

runsintowalls says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:33am

I like the environment but it's hard to control

samooJAM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

moody

Christian S. says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Thanks for creating this. Just the right thing for the mood I'm in.

juaxix says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

With such a mood and ambientation achieved, I really dont understand how you killed the fun of the game, remove the unfun please, collect things throught an escape/way is not as fun as it could looks like in a start... Try to give a cinematic approach, a mistery te be unveiled, a shadow of a char in the distant lighthouse, a light from the lighthouse which project shadows of invisible objects...and those sort of things will improve the fun/playable rate of the game and the overall experience.
Not to mention that i really love your graphics and music

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Pretty cool! Would have appreciated a counter so I knew how many orbs were remaining to collect. Also, it wasn't clear to me what to do with them once I had them. Bring them back to the lighthouse? Do something once I get there? I never did get all 7, but it would have been good to have some idea of how to use them once I had them.

afterisk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

The mood and visuals are excellent, the controls not so much. I actually preferred the camera angle on the LD48 submission. It was more immersive and gave a sense of exploration. Plus there was danger in not remembering the way back to the lighthouse. On the post compo version, the higher view made it easier to find the way back, but I felt too distant from the environment.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I really like the art style and the mood of it.

postmodestie says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:09am

nice graphics. but you can't normally steer a boat while it is not moving ;)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I love the low poly 3d art style in this. Nice work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]