December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Startrader

by Nessic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This.. is not that great really, but Im still happy with it. The .exe is in the executable folder. Please forgive the larger then it normal file size, I couldn't figure out how to get it lower with pyinstaller.

Manage a trading empire across the vast reaches of space, and try and earn enough money to prolong your life as long as you can, you have to be quick to spot profitable planets and routes.

Edited for spelling!, and to add an actual discription

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#317Innovation3.17
#436Overall3.08
#459Fun2.91
#469Audio2.57
#506Mood2.74
#659Humor1.89
#760Graphics2.38
#909Theme2.00

Comments

Arcantic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

Pretty cool! I was a little confused at first but then I understood. Nice job

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

This game is very unforgiving lol.

I had fun either way, but I don't really see how this fits the theme.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

The space future is harsh! I only lived to 58. It's a pretty interesting concept. I'd like to see how old people can make it to. The one thing you might want to improve is the icons for each planet - when the planets are close together it can be confusing to figure out which icons are for which planet.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

The control scheme annoyed me the most. You should either add keyboard controls to move around, or allow click and drag. The concept was very nice though. Also, doesn't the 'Stave off Death' button just kill you?

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Sending ships around the universe, yay :P

Took me a while to figure out the controls, eventually could play it "seriously", but I never managed to gain the 1000$ required for the big red button.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice idea! I could live to 57 years and left 570 dollars to my heirs :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26am

Can't play windows games, which is sad, because I love a good space trading game.

Nessic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:52am

This actually might work under linux as it was made with pygame, but I haven't been able to test it!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28pm

excellent game, great idea, professional execution

only thing I see that is missing is the ability to zoom and either a minimap so you can see all of "known space" or make your level wrap so you can't go outside of the borders

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Didn't quite get it, the instructions were pretty short. But after playing for a while I *think* I got it now.. it's a fun concept! Keep it up :)

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Hey, really nice concept! Took me a few rounds to get familiar with the controls, but this is a solid base for interesting gameplay. Liked the music!

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:23am

Loved the gameplay! Would be nice if to allow full screen and some easier way to move around (minimap?) could had helped. Good luck! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]