December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One way out

by lennaert - Jam Entry

There is, One way out, try ande find your way and stay alive.
Avoid traps and dangers.

Be quick .. your light dims ...

Watch for ghosly encounters ... you only live once and there is only one way out.

You only have one life, and we mean it.
If you die ... and restart, you will die again.

If you want to play another "life" use another browser :D

The ghost is a multiplayer haunting function, it automatically hunts a living players level upon death.

Each time you restart the game you end up in another players who is alive his or her level and they will see you in ghost form. Where as you as a ghost see them as living beings.

Sadly, there wasnt enough time fully implement the multiplayer feature where you are able to haunt and taunt other living players physcially (like pushing them in a trap).


There is one way out .... go figure ;)



~~

We worked in a team of 4 ... and a couple hours before the end our host (private) his svn server died on us .. so we had to work real hard with what we had left to get it back together.

In the last hours the exports to webpage took forever right before the deadline (was 2:40 for me and I even fell asleep)
This was some of our team members first time joining ludum.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#54Graphics(Jam)4.27
#117Mood(Jam)3.38
#203Innovation(Jam)3.04
#204Theme(Jam)2.98
#239Audio(Jam)2.98
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#385Humor(Jam)1.92
#478Fun(Jam)2.20

Comments

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58am

Good atmosphere, but music loop too short. Not much to go on where to pick up more light and stuff, so doesn't feel like I have many decisions to make.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Well, this is frustrating. After my first playthrough (which is to say I died after running afoul of a few traps), the game seems to have glitched: on subsequent playthroughs, I die instantly shortly after the game begins.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very cool graphic style.

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I died randomly for some reason, multiple times. Then, when I was the ghost, I wasn't really sure what to do. I found a living version of my character standing around as I was flying around, but I wasn't really sure what to do. :\

I like the art style, though. And the lighting effects are very nice!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14pm

You really meant one life, huh? You die and if you retry you stay dead, pretty damn cool if you ask me. The graphics are really cool as well -- you have some issues with the controls they're a bit slide-y if you get what I mean, but overall a very solid entry.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Really interesting and good looking. But I wasn´t able to do anything after I turned into a ghost. Even restarting the game didn´t fix this.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Beautiful art. It could have used a bit more context, but it was very nice all the same.

Warzone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Pretty interesting

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Cool looking, and I guess you were going for "only one life"? But it was really unclear what to do after that, other than fly around pointlessly.

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:55pm

If thee are living players playing, you will run into them and they will see you in their game :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very nice art and animations, but I think I got a bug when I died, that my ghost did not flip to the side I was walking.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great concept, would love to see this fully finished.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Interesting art style and good concept!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Had some glitches second time playing, very very promising game...

atombrot says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Haha, I played the game and got crushed by a rock. Now I'm a ghost :) Let's read the description of the game... Maybe I should start reading the descriptions of the game before I play, but I like to dive just in... Very sad you didn't have time to complete the multiplayer haunting. This would have been a lot of fun ;) Nice idea for this theme...

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:28pm

The graphics are among the best in the jam but the moving and jumping felt very wonky. I died to a boulder and then floated around the map as a spirit. I saw a cool looking bear but I could not interact with it.

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51pm

1. Whilst I wanted to keep trying to play this one, I died from attempting to jump over a static boulder which killed my player. Felt very unsatisfying for a game that I really wanted to explore as a human. It may have been worth making it clear to the player in game that you only had one life. Something as simple as a speech bubble saying "If I die, I'm not going to get a second chance!
2. To have one life forever for a game is not a familiar thing for many players (whilst I do think its a really neat idea).
3. What would be a fair way to counter the permadeath would be if you cause the death of someone e.g. push someone as a ghost into a pit you can claim their body and give yourself another chance at getting a shot of escape. On the other hand, maybe even more interesting if you had to help them escape by lowering things out of their reach and flicking switches in a poltergeist-like way.
4. I definitely think that spawning players as ghosts next to a dead body would be far less distressing for the player (e.g. thinking you're still playing as the explorer when actually you're guaranteed to die.
5. I find the character quite lovable by the way. The smile on his face despite the circumstances and his googly eyes are full of life, obviously contrasted by the cold, shakey image of his dead state. Real good job with that one.
6. Potentially an opening stage of your character entering the cave to introduce the controls followed by a long fall/cave collapse to get them where they need to be to start the game.
7. Loved the art style - had definite vibes of the Mr Skops levels from the original Rayman.

Thanks for the contribution and I'll be paying attention to what you lot produce in the future, real good stuff!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Great art, great sfx... I just didn't get the mechanics. After I died the first time (not sure from what), there was another player right there? Can the ghost do anything?

floorman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:53am

Really nice graphics and audio making for a really nice atmosphere.

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:32am

Great art style and atmosphere! Though I think I enjoyed floating around as a ghost more than anything else.

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:49am

There's a typo in your controls, it says that q is jump but w actually jumps.
Quite a nice artstyle, it's a shame that I don't get to beat it.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:54am

Good theme and concept of the game but it is very difficult to move the character and there isn´t much options about how you can defend yourself. It is so so so easy to die...

30dogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10am

While I respect that you are serious about the one life idea, it unfortunately means that I didn't get to experience very much of the game. I died on the boulder apparently like many others. I did float around most of the cave and I must say the art is really good. Sorry you guys had technical difficulties.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:39am

Graphical style is very cool, though one complaint is the direction changing was kind of abrupt (maybe the direction of the light changing so fast was the reason).
The gameplay is pretty standard, nevertheless pretty good. Thumbs up!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:09am

Nice entry, I love the art style :D

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26am

The game looks lovely. Too bad there's this glitch where you die upon restarting the game.
It seems rather hard without some sort of health indicator, and the controls lack a bit of snap to my taste. The mood feels great though.

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:20pm

The artwork is amazing, fantastic work!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This reaaaally slowed my browser in the long time it took to load.

Perhaps post a warning about that?

GUI feedback would also be good - it was hard to tell where exactly to click.

Then as soon as I got in the game, I got the rainbow wheel of death (on mac) and I couldn't move my character or do anything in game.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great visuals and mood. Had a cool Prince of Persia like feel for me. Holding people to one life definitely goes with the theme, but it's a bit harsh for the player. The multilayer functionality you mentioned would have been pretty cool.

Overall, a very nice job!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice art style, and the ghost mechanics could be interesting if further developed. As it stands now though, it's pretty broken if you can't even start a new game... :P

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I really like the graphics. There is a good cave mood. Too bad there are some glitches. It's a very good start. You have to continue working on it ;)

Kyatric says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice graphics and sound effects that made the mood work.

On the design aspect though, one single life is just crazy.
The player is thrown into a level he doesn't know with almost nothing then a little candle, barely knowing the controls and hardly seeing around its character.

Death is unavoidable in those circumstances.
And it comes quick, and the fact of starting the game again and die directly without any kind of feedback (other than the one in the description on this page, but I shouldn't have had to read this here to be able to understand what was happening; I should have been notified some way in the game, BEFORE getting killed).
I thought it was a bug (added to the fact that the ghost's sprite does not flip).

It's a nice idea/mechanic on an intellectual level, but to play, it's not fun.
It sounds like you've dedicated a massive amount of work into something that was designed to not let the player take advantage of it anyway.

Probably the project was too ambitious, despite being a "big team".

Congratulations, though, on delivering the project you set on delivering in the jam time and especially considering all the obstacles you've had to go through (as read on C2 forum) !
I hope next time you guys will set to focus on making a game that is as attractive for the players as for its makers, and this will be a great game ;)

Kyatric says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:39am

My previous comment may sound a bit harsh so I've developed it a bit further on C2 forum : http://www.scirra.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=82657&PID=485364&title=anyone-up-for-ludum-dare#485364

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Amazing graphics! :D

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:14pm

My life was a short one, but I enjoyed the art and floating around as a ghost! I didn't see anyone else running through it but I think that's a really cool feature!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]