December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dat Pig Yo!

by Samsturai22 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pre Warning... Keep an eye on your pig! And Run From Bacon!

Sooo.. Dat Pig Yo! Okay so i thought i'd give myself a challenge this is the first game i have made in unity, Infact the first game i've ever completed. The "You only get one" theme stumped me if i'm honest, But i think 1 Guy, 1 Pig, 1 Chance pretty much covers that... So the game is Bacon has turned against the pigs! You need too escort the last surviving pig through a forest full of bacon! Get to the end you've won! Let the pig get attacked by bacon and well your back at the menu. Source code is sketchy as i changed my idea 3 - 5 times and had trouble doing it anyway... A special thanks too teknoaxe
( http://www.youtube.com/user/teknoaxe?feature=watch ) For the royalty free soundtrack and too https://www.theleagueofmoveabletype.com/blackout For the font's, Other than that the project was made solo except a few models and textures were unity preset's. Hope You Enjoy.
Controls:
WASD For movemnt and mouse for looking
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1n0Ig_2oek
@Samsturai22

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#237Audio3.03
#240Humor2.94
#368Mood2.94
#504Graphics2.92
#806Overall2.61
#821Innovation2.35
#829Fun2.35
#858Theme2.18

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Do you think you could set up a dropbox or google drive account? Whatever download page you're using is trying to install stuff on my machine.

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

Thanks for the heads up doing it now :)

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

Your OSX version is the Windows version. =(

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

Your OS/X link doesn't have a file which can be executed on the Mac OS.

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

Sorry uploading it now

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Could no play for more than a few seconds before game over for (seemingly) no reason. There was a pig though, definitely a pig. Unrated because buggy.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Nice, I like it. Quick note though, on my windows version if you die, then the mouse becomes hidden on the main menu. Makes it hard to retry. I really enjoyed the idea though, not sure if I could beat it since I couldn't find the exit. Nicely done though.

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

All download links are now fixed, And that's not a bug you need too keep an eye out behind you for bacon, Its just difficult

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Very nice :)

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Had some difficulty it the contrast int the game, to the point that it started to hurt concentrating; though that could just be from a lack of sleep. I also had a hard time figuring out what did the poor pig in. I didn't see anything around me and then the game would end. Some audio cues would make the game a lot easier to play so that you at least know if there was something coming from behind.

Also as a note, I saw you mentioned that you used a royalty free soundtrack. In the 48 hour competition you need to make your own music, you can use samples and instruments from other locations, but the actual composition needs to be yours. It was an honest first time mistake so no big deal, but keep that in mind if you compete again. That said, congratulations on completing your first game.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Thanks for the OSX version. It's dark and lovely, but I can't say I really understood what I was doing. I never saw the pig I was supposed to escort, or the bacon for that matter. So dark!

LukeR says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Lower score for lack of polishing

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Very nice! Beware with the bacon! Hehehe..

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Needs work. Nice effort though.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice first attempt and quite original. Sometimes being stumped for an idea can lead to crazy and interesting games like this one. I'm definitely not going to open the fridge in the dark because now I'm scared of bacon!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Loved the graphics, music, and the quirky concept!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

It does seem to be a little horror game thing, but it's quite hard to play. That being said though, a pig chased by bacon makes for a great story.

Kane says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

A little difficulties with the obscurity (at start I was seeing almost nothing...) and the sound saturation, but that's definitly a fun game!
And our pig is too cute :3

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

It's so confusing but funny I liked it xD

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I don't really like this game, there is no clear objective, and because there is nothing like score or something, there is no way to tell how well you did, or if you even did anything? I would randomly get sent back to the menu screen and never saw 'bacon'. Nice skybox and music. Really made a scary mood.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46pm

It is a nice concept, had problems because the mouse wasn't captured to the window.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Possibly a bit biased because I love pigs, so I automatically loved the idea. Only complaint is that it's very difficult to see the bacon, so I became frustrated quickly when I was defeated by things I never saw coming in seconds.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

The misty darkness created a cool ominous atmosphere, and I saw hints of bacon in the trees.

But I lost suddenly every time and was not really aware of the attacks on my pig or where to go. I know I let bacon get him, but it felt like I just suddenly was sent back to the menu screen.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07am

The ambiance and music were good - maybe a tad bit too dark. It was a bit hard to tell what was going on and was really difficult.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

Hard. Dad gum bacon comes outta no where every time. No pointer when you get back to menu makes it tough to replay.

Robinerd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43am

This scared the shit out of me, that strange pig looking straight into my soul :O Nice concept, but would be even better if you had some more time I think. Well done :)

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:45am

Definitely a funny idea, and I appreciate the allusion to Slender, (at least I think that's what you were doing there) but unfortunately, it was so dark that the game was basically unplayable for me.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

So everything was dark, I looked around, walked two feet, and then I died. I don't know what's going on. D:

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I couldn't beat it. But I still love it.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:09am

I managed to reach the end, but nothing happened. Well, aside from me announcing "I won!" and confusing my brother. I like the randomness of the idea. Could have used a few more light sources, especially near the beginning area, you can barely see your assailants.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]