December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Weird Kingdom

by insane66 - Jam Entry

Jacob age 9 is the team leader (Lead Designer, Lead artist, Lead programmer). Dad and Uncle Jon provided technical assistance. Game done in GameMaker Studio 1.2. Tile Studio used for sprites. Audacity used for sounds. Game play with Arrow Keys, A = attack. Weird quirky glitches are by design. The final boss can be tricky to kill. You only get one life, one weapon, one boss fight.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#89Humor(Jam)3.24
#181Audio(Jam)3.16
#259Mood(Jam)2.90
#275Fun(Jam)2.82
#286Theme(Jam)2.70
#380Innovation(Jam)2.54
#443Overall(Jam)2.64
#469Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Great job! I liked seeing the game designs and then how it was implemented in the game. I can never beat that last boss!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

This really does feel like an attempt at old-school Atari Adventure. Hit detection on the boss is a wonky and could be tweaked, but the workaround is to just charge while holding A. I think the flying sword glitch could be interesting as its own mechanic.

Extra points for the backstory as recounted at KnoxGameDesign meetup.

vinull says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

Great work on making the game! i think you could make a sequel around the flying sword.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Rawrrr the art for this looks great! But I can't play because I'm on a mac : / is there any chance that you'll port this?

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Gamemaker is great, but the simplicity of some parts can be frustrating. I am trying to figure out the Mac port. I hope we can post it.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

The flying sword "bug" is actually pretty cool. The paper design pictures are really nice to see.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Some strange hit detection as mentioned earlier, but great work! :D

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

I love the death animation on the boss! *no spoilers*

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:14am

Good work!!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:09am

Game Maker Studio? Cool stuff. I've been working with that for a bit as well though used AS3 to make my Jam entry. Some of the collision detection is a bit wonky. Have you tried making bounding boxes smaller then the actual sprites?

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41am

Please don't make people install your games. Otherwise, pretty cool given your age.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41am

We cranked the collision detection down to pixel level (at least that was my understanding) we did not make the boxes smaller than the pixels. Jacob wanted to do the game in the compo time frame to prove he could do it just as fast as anyone. Gave dad little time to debug the finer problems like the weird collision detection. :)

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:59am

Jacob: I started to program around your age, one of the two tools i used was GameMaker (the very first one) and i did an awful lot of games back then. When i was a kiddo like you there wasn't anything like Internet (there were things called BBS but in my country the only one that operated was the one my father ran) and it was incredibly hard to get visibility like here on #LD48. I assure you that if you keep doing this (design, code, create, imagine) you'll become a great asset to your family and friends, probably making a lot of money to fund all your creativity and desires. Keep the good work buddy!

And don't forget to give a good long hug to your dad and uncle, they're swell for letting you create and do this. 8*5 stars to you all.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43am

Lovely title! I liked a lot the sounds and the attack mecahincs!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I like the attack, but it's a chalenge to master :).

the1stfo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great job Jacob! I wish I had started real game development as young as you have. Kudos to dad and uncle for showing you such support.

I really dig the flying sword. It reminded me of the old Super Start Wars games for the NES and how you could control your lightsaber with The Force. The last boss is very tough.

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:33am

Well this is good job. There's everything that you need : levels, boss, sprites, sounds, movement... I also like that you uploaded preliminary sketches! My only suggestion would be to write down the control scheme in the game's description, because I didn't realize quickly that I could attack.

insane66 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Sentence #6 in the description "Game play with Arrow Keys, A = attack."

Plus there are a few popups in game triggered by various keys telling you how to work it. We tried! ;)

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:55pm

It was ok, but I really don't understand why you can just float around!

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:04pm

WASHINGAAAAAAAH

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:18am

I feel ancient. also, in great need of a job, a place of my own, a good girl and a shot of vodka.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:23pm

yay, i win!
The boss was a bit tricky especially before I realised I could attack ;)
I liked the sound effects.
Well done.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Yes!! I finally beat the boss after I realized I could fly the dagger around. Super satisfying - great job! WASHENNNNGGAAA!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]