December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ONE JUMP

by tinyangrycrab - Jam Entry

Hey dudes! This is our action platformer ONE JUMP, in which every level can be completed without your feet ever hitting the ground...

You get one jump and dash charge, but killing enemies restores them!

This was our first game jam, and our first attempt at a finished game (2 of us). The egregious programmer art was fun, and every single object in the game is the number one (including the animations, which are all 1-based particles!).

Here is a little gif showing off what it's all about!

http://i.imgur.com/L3dQ6q0.gif

(WASD to move, shift to dash, space to jump, r to restart and esc to go back to menu!)

There is a secret level for those who complete it...!

NOTE: I have realised in consultation with friends that this game is pretty brutally hard so a few tips:

Remember that dashing turns you invulnerable to bullets!
Dashing through bullets restores both dash and jump charges!
If in doubt as to where to go, go right!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

Great concept and execution! Although sometimes a bit difficult :(

acp_ld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Very well done, the music is particularly catchy. Having a tutorial is certainly appreciated. Graphics are well made, and the death animation of the enemies is perfect. I think the game would benefit from pure keyboard controls with the gun auto-aiming toward the nearest in LOS enemy. Also a UI indicator of your current jump and dash charges as well as the time slow would really help gameplay.

Overall a great effort.

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

If you look carefully at the player you will notice that his head has a dash indicator and his feet a jump indicator! We probably should have made that clearer >_>

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Thinking about it, you are absolutely right about the slo mo. The more I think about it the more it was probably something the player should have controlled with a charge rather than being passive. It's super feast and famine atm, as well as being unclear at low values.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Really difficult, and really weird floaty physics. Confused why landing on an enemy makes you phase through and start powering downwards at a larger speed than you normally fall. I like the graphics, although fairly minimalist. I like the effort, maybe try playtesting with a handicap next time (reverse your controls while playtesting so you're not used to them, etc).

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I suspect the landing on an enemy thing is because you continue to gain speed while in contact with them, but the colliders stop you moving. The moment you move off them it will resume with all that accumulated velocity! Definitely something we can change by adding the enemy type to the list of things that can ground you. Thanks for the feedback!

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The concept is very good but the execution is average. The control was the thing that most annoyed me.
GFX is amazing, the explosions and stuff

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Wow actually had a lot of fun with this platformer. A little hard to get used to the controls ( and even then feels kinda weird) but otherwise well done! Loved the music

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08pm

OK, getting a lot of votes for weird feeling controls or floatiness. I'm guessing it's the overall slow feeling of the jump arc - maybe turning up the player gravity but adding a terminal velocity and increasing jump force. Will play around with it, thanks for the feedback!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Cool concept! Shooting feels very, very good, and this jump-jump-dash-jump-shoot-jump-dash-shoot chain idea is sure to make for some great moments. Found it very hard though, there's a section right on the second level that I don't really know how to get through. But difficulty is a beast, you can never be sure if what you're making will be too easy or too hard for the players. Great job, guys! Will try to beat it :D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44am

So much fun! Especially with two people playing simultaneously (seriously get another person to shoot for you). I'm also really happy to have check points.

shallway says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Though it's a bit difficult that i can't even pass the tutorial level easily, I like the feeling after finished some combo jump and dash.

Really great concept, hope you can keep it on. I'll see if i can manage to finish all the levels:)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I found it quite hard, but the take on the theme is quite surprishing and fresh (not just "one jump"). I liked it, expand it and I would give it more than a try.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Sometimes when jumping against a wall it gets stuck in there. No really stuck but it goes down reeallly slow

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]