December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Like a Ninja!

by ColeSlawGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a bad-ass ninja. The Nin-stick clan has killed your family. Go exact revenge and stuff.

You only get one second to kill all the enemies on the screen. Try to make it to the end!

Featuring:
- Multiple trigger-finger levels to keep you on your toes
- Cheezy, cliche ninja goodness
- Fast, split-second action and fast restarts, for when you mess up
- Hyper-realistic MS Paint Stick Figures
- The word "ninja"

Made in GameMaker 8.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Humor2.79
#381Audio2.75
#598Innovation2.76
#659Mood2.53
#669Fun2.62
#716Theme2.48
#766Overall2.67
#835Graphics2.19
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Extremely hard Typing of the Dead type of game. Couldn't make it past 3rd level. It seems I have to fail and memorize the words.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

Very fun, but it gets annoying having to start from the beginning every time I mess up.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Killing those ninjas just felt right. It was satisfying mastering this game.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Seemed to turn into a memorization pattern game which was a turn off for me.

CogentInvalid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

Unfortunately, I'm not enough of a ninja to beat the final boss. Or the LOFBASNFBLASOLBASFIB, as I keep trying to spell it.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Way too difficult. Not very original. Nice sound effects and graphics though.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I have never typed "finalboss" so fast in my life! Very fun and challenging, my only suggestion would've been to randomize the letters but that would make this nearly impossible! Well done!

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Felt too much like a too fast paced memorization game

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Fun idea, good job.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The timer is WAY too short to succeed at any of the attacks the first time. The result is retrying from the beginning every time and memorizing the pattern. A solution could be more specific hints or a longer timer. Still, this game has a charming ninja vibe and succeeding in an attack is satisfying.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:02pm

A decent idea, but way too difficult. The only way I could beat it was by memorizing the attacks, rather than by looking at the screen.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

This game was kind of hard but was fun xD. The funny part: "You're a ninja so obviously you are super fast and awesome" that was hilarious xD never tho that i needed to actually press the keys super fast xD The audio was awesome, i like the guitar. Anyways Good work :D

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I guess I don't have a ninja's speed :/
anyway, nice idea, but having just one second to see the keys is too short :X

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]