December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Minute Dreams

by piotrszoka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkCkXx1_UVI&feature=youtu.be


It's my first game ever.

You must reach the end of the level in less than one minute.
To move use [a], [d] or arrow keys.
To jump press [space].
You can jump off the walls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#21Graphics4.33
#28Audio3.74
#41Overall3.85
#90Fun3.58
#131Mood3.44
#506Theme2.85
#629Humor1.95
#832Innovation2.32

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Really nice game, level design is of really high quality and graphics are so nice, looks like a real game!

I would have liked easier level at start maybe, anyway great work!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very Limbo-esque! :p I love the palette! :D

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I had hoped to never have to play a timed platformer again after the 10 second theme last time. But this one is really good in every regard. Good job!

acehk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Really well polished. The level design and visuals are awesome and the gameplay feels really smooth. Only complaint would be the pacing can be slow when you mess up and the audio levels were maybe a little strong towards the music, but the music was solid so can't complain too much about that :)

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Gameplay reminds me of met boy. Great style!

acronaut says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice tension with the wall-jumps, moving platforms and sneaky spikes (sharp tall grass). Kudos on multiple themes (music, colors and 'mechanics' tied into this 'minute-platformer')

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Very nicely done. Impressive platformer physics and feel for such a short development time. Very nice graphics.

EatThePath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Love the look and sound of the game, but the first big jump I have a ton of trouble getting past. I got past it once with like ten seconds left, and haven't been able to manage it a second time. Is there some trick to it I'm missing?

Okay actually before posting I went back and tried again and figured out you can wall jump. So that's figured out. Basic platforming well executed. Bravo.

severus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I totally love this graphics! Gameplay is also very good.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27pm

If this is your first game ever you are some sort of prodigy.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Absolutely stunning.

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Really nice looking game, the player handling feels great, the levels are fun and challenging. Top work. Bookmarked for later :)

Thommy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

The music is very nice and fits the art style. The gameplay feels a bit like a mixture of The Impossible Game and Super Meat Boy (which I think is good). Sometimes it was hard to recognize spikes as such! Keep up the good work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I like the background color schemes.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice job! I really liked the tight platforming.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Level design and the visuals are amazing :D

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice game!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Looks great, sounds great, plays great!

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Lovely art.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I liked this entry, but is the music yours?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35pm

One of the nicest, well polished games I've played on this ludum dare so far. The graphics are charming, the level design are awesome and the controls are very solid. I loved the mechanic of jumping on the side(almost like grabbing) of a platform to save you from falling. Congratulations, sir!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:36pm

oh, only thing I was annoyed was the repetitive music when I was retrying the level. But nothing to worry about really.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07am

Nicely executed. The visuals are very pleasant on the eyes. Fun and challenging game with variety in levels.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Died a couple times to spikes that looked a lot like grass. I was also a bit confused as to how double jumping/wall jumping worked. Sometimes it would work, other times it wouldn't. Really cool aesthetic, though it doesn't score many originality points with so many games using the flat colour/silhouette style.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Great work! Amazing graphic and suitable sounds, overall very good!
A tak po naszemu to naprawde kawal swietnej roboty, podziwiam ;)

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I sometimes had problems determining the difference between grass and spikes.
Other than that, the graphics are awesome, the music is good to the point where I would very much like a download link. The difficulty curve is fine, and I have no other major complaints.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:44pm

This is a seriously slick and accomplished piece of work and I absolutely do not believe you've never made a game prior to this ;) The controls are so well tuned, the aesthetics integrate so well and the style is distinctive. I really like how the avatar rolls and jostles etc, it feels great. Very hard though - your introduction to wall jumping on Cyan L2 was brutal! Great work (music great too)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Really awesome music and nice smooth platforming controls in this - good work! Rated highly. :)

namakemon says ...
Jun 7, 2014 @ 1:24am

just a headsup, somebody is selling something like this project in Unity's Asset Store:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/publisher/6446
http://www.reddit.com/r/ludumdare/comments/27ijju/ludum_dare_games_being_sold_on_unity_asset_store/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]