December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minute Box Shooter

by PixelatedLlama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't really know for what kind of game to go , so i made everything when i had a bunch of random ideas.
That was a rather bad decision , because there were a lot of things i didn't know how to do.
In the last 24 hours i remade the whole game with less buggy code and actualy , it was really good.
I also had a friend who gave me tips for the plot of the game(Thx Vlad!)

***Controlls***
W - Jump
A,D - Move left/right
Mouse - Aim
LMB - Shoot
LShift - Slow-Motion

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#907Innovation2.13
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Fun little game. I don't think I found all the boxes though. Slow motion always makes me happy!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Haha, a great concept surely. This really just needs a bit of tweaking to really be a ton of fun. I think I'd make the vision range bigger (or have an upgrade you can collect). And perhaps teach the user the controls somehow. Plus the clock really only needs to show the seconds (maybe even to the tenths or hundredths place). I'd definitely like to say like 5/10 boxes killed (or whatever).

Anyway I really enjoyed it! I'd love to see a polished version :)

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Couldn´t get through it. Liked the dark ambient, despite the very small lightening.

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Completing a level is tight even when you know exactly where to go. The game have a high difficulty of exploring due to limited time and limited light. The game need to be redesigned to make mapping out where the boxes are easier or at least allow you to replay a level.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Graphics were nice, even though you couldn't see a lot because of the darkness. Would have been nice if there was an item to increase your view, or if killing a box gave you more time.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Looked pretty nice. Hard to find all the boxes.

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Cool little game.

Harsay says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Hard to finish. There should be some kind of boxes left counter.

caranha says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Congratulations on finishing the game.

I was a bit lost, the total darkness gave me no hint about where I should go looking for boxes, and I felt that the player was a bit slow, specially when jump-climbing stairs.

Also, after I lost the first time the game did not allow me to restart, so I had to close and begin the game agan.

Well, congratulations for finishing your game in time! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]