December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drone!

by NoNoBattle - Jam Entry

Juuuust in time! We have "finished" our first Ludum Dare Game. A lot of work but a whole lot of fun.

A rough litte pixelart side scroller.

#UPDATE#

- fixed the slippery movement bug (hopefully)
( it was a fps problem, where on older hardware the
movement became very slippery )
- drone shoot animation bug
( before -> only plays once at game start )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#110Graphics(Jam)3.94
#170Mood(Jam)3.21
#275Overall(Jam)3.08
#282Innovation(Jam)2.80
#343Audio(Jam)2.58
#350Theme(Jam)2.52
#384Fun(Jam)2.55
#427Humor(Jam)1.70

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20am

Love the lights and colors ^_^

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Gorgeous, but the controls are very slippery.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Awesome pixel art!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57pm

short and sweet. great pixel art. the movement was a bit slippery.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very nice game, with beautiful pixel art, stress and fun ! :) Good job !

JayProg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Awesome lighting and mood!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very cool, love the animation.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

Love the art and the animation. Movement was a bit off but the whole thing is very tense and atmospheric. Nice!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

Nice job! I really like the mechanics!

kevinmylo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25am

Innovative

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

lovely visual design. I wish it was more clear that I was having an effect on the aliens or that the aliens were having an effect on me.

NoNoBattle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38am

yeah we want that too but we ran out of time. anyways thanks! (:

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The pixel art here is great! And the dynamic lightining just makes it better!
The music gets annoying after 4 or 5 loops.
A game breaking bug occured to me, but only once.
The game is very hard!

Ongaku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Love the atmosphere and very cool pixel art !

Kimau says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Felt good and had a nice idea. Struggled with targeting the aliens though.

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:16am

Great atmosphere, like the central mechanic, although sound could do with some love.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:07am

Awesome atmosphere. Like this game very much. But the controls are a little bit confusing... not so bad, because I'm really tired... have to try again after sleep.. Good Arts, good sounds... smooth gameplax

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17am

Five star for graphics! Very cool pixelart!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:20am

Good foundation and pretty darn good graphics; with more content could turn into a very cool little platformer.

robhor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:45pm

The controls could use a little work. Visually this is great!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Great atmosphere! I hope you'll enhannce the whole game because I really enjoyed it. Lack of attack animations confused me at beggining - I coudn't catch the whole targeting/fighting idea. Trying to keep a distance while opening doors was (positive) hard :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Controls are awkward :s Too bad, graphics and mood are very nice. I like the way you open doors, it's a good idea. Good work :)

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Original concept and good mood. The controls are pretty slippery as others have said. More combat options would have made the game a lot more fun I think, but of course time was limited.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:10am

I really like the aesthetics in this game. Everything is presented very well.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52am

Nice. Good job all-round. Was the number of alien swarms random? It felt like there were more in some of my tries and less in others, which felt like I was being punished by bad luck a bit. Only other criticism would be that sometimes I 'slid' off the console mid-way through typing stuff, perhaps the hitbox for them could be a bit bigger. Other than that, like I said, good job :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Great mood and feel to this, I liked the drone-based gameplay!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Just... Awesome!

atombrot says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:10am

I really like the art style of your game. What bugged me a bit was, that when you walk near the console and press space and then slide away from the console, the letters don't dissapear and it always takes some time to notice that you have to walk closer.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:41am

Little drone buddy was cute. :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Good gameplay! I can't kill enemies :(

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Cool graphics and atmosphere. I liked the trippy camera movements. Couldn't make it to the end, the game was a bit too difficult with the one minute limit. Some attack animations and/or melee attacks would have been nice. There were some really loud drum noises with the music that kinda didn't fit. But overall, I liked it.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice atmosphere of the game. Really good art, pretty much this is a fantastic game.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Great music, FANTASTIC art - really love the pixel art/3d fusion, great work there. The lock was functional, nice gating mechanic in conjunction with the timer. Monsters were very pretty, not that satisfying to fight, however - could have done with sounds and feedback on being shot (indeed, could have done with bullets!). Excellent work for three days!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:02am

Graphics are ridiculously good in this one, but I found the gameplay a little bit bland. For me, the game was screaming "stealth" for me, I would have loved that. Nevertheless, great work!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Reminds me a bit of Beneath a Steel Sky... gorgeous graphics. Looking forward to seeing the finished game!! :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nope there's still slippery movement still on our new hardware :) It was a nice concept but the movement makes it a little impossible to play.

NoNoBattle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:19pm

na its a bug in code and the effect differs on different pcs. for the most people the movement is pretty normal .. but thanks, think i have to dig deeper for the solution. /:

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:43am

Graphics and lighting is stellar, man! Sweet stuff you have going on.
Very nice :)

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:30am

Great visual, I really liked the atmosphere you were creating here.

Weak points: some gameplay glitches can get annoying: for instance, sometime one of the ALIENS just rush on you super fast, and you get killed for no apparent reason. Secondly, the music is basically 4 notes...? :D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:56am

The game was really cool to play

dudsen says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This minute feels really short, with more polish it would have been a 5/5 ;)

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:09am

Pretty nice graphics, but if have player got hit effect or attack animation will be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]