December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Remains

by huhwhozat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: 12/16/13-12:36pm EST - Fixed a bug that rendered the game unwinabble. I consider this a game-breaking bug as laid out in the compo rules, and thus a legitimate fix. (It was also a 2-line fix - a typo that led to the wrong sequence of events.)

Here's my first successful LD entry in a while! :D Glad I finished, and while it's not wholly feature-complete, it's complete enough to be a full, fun game.

For those who are finding it difficult: stick it out; there are checkpoints! For those of you playing on non-QWERTY keyboard layouts, I'm sorry! I'll be uploading alternate control schemes in a post-compo version; my submission time was down to the wire as is.

There are several theme tie-ins:
- You only get one gem of each color (at a time)
- You only get one life (until the next checkpoint)
- You only get one level (mastering it gets harder)
For the non-QWERTY people:
- You only get one control scheme (sorry guys XD)
For those who make it all the way to level 3:
- You only get one [REDACTED]

In the end, Only One Remains.
Good luck!



In-game help follows:

Welcome to ONLY ONE REMAINS!

Arrow keys move, Z & X rotate your pods.

Collect gems with your pods in order to clear like-colored gates.
If a full pod touches another gem the gem will be destroyed, if it is a like-colored gem the pod will also emptied.
You only get one gem of each color - filling a pod with a duplicate gem will empty all your pods.
Finally, protect your centroid - if it touches a gate or gem it will be disintegrated.

Survive all the levels to win!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#25Innovation4.03
#238Overall3.34
#241Theme3.35
#259Graphics3.42
#267Fun3.22
#367Audio2.77
#756Mood2.38

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice entry! :D The audio was a little bit too loud! However, it's a nice starting point! :D

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Well QWERTZ is nada :) Like the fourth entry i encountered this LD :D BUT: One only has to switch the layout, no big deal, especially in windows..
But it is an interesting and beautiful game. The screen shakes a bit much..

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:18am

Took me a second to understand the requirements to proceed, but once I figured that out I was hooked. The concept is so simple, but so challenging at the same time. Great work!

mtrc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:59am

Really like this concept. Nice work.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Pretty hard to play. but I like it! )

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Good attempt, the concept is interesting but I couldn't see it implemented really well.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nice use of graphics and sound effects, interesting concept!

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Nice concept! A tad bit hard to understand at first, but it's doable. Well done!

Joror says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:28pm

A colored wrecking ball. :D The mechanic with colors-sticking/removing is a bit chaotic though, when there are alot of blocks. Simplifying that would improve gameplay. (or starting simpler, and then adding complexity later in the game)

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:51pm

It was a bit hard to get into, but a fine game nonetheless.

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:00am

Thanks for all the comments guys! Your feedback is spot on. I'm hoping to extend and improve this idea at a later date, so any suggestions are appreciated! :)

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:11am

@Joror: your comment especially sums up my thoughts on my entry. I would've liked to have more time to experiment with levels and progression of complexity. Instead it turned into more of a smash-and-grab. The levels were very much thrown together and the concept rather rapidly explained, but I'm glad I got something that was at least a challenging progression. :)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:06pm

It has a cool retro feel and the concept is interesting. Nice Game.

dcolgan says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Cool idea! High marks for innovation and great use of the theme. The graphics were functional and the sound effects were really good even with the lack of music. I wish that the pacing would have been a little faster - every time you die you have to sit for what feels like a very long time before you get back to the action. It feels like the game needs something else to be truly fun, but it has a very good base. Good job!

epb9000 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Excellent use of the theme, got down to three pods. The difficulty progression is good. That last set of gates is pretty brutal when you first encounter it.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Awsome idea but really hard. the graphics and sound where good . The only thing i would suggest going forward is a better discription of how the game works. took me a few attempts to just understand the mechanics after the text at the beginning.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice, I really enjoyed this. Good work :)

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Pretty fun game that's actually much harder than you think with a really interesting mechanic.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:38am

Awesome idea, very fun game! i like the sound effects also! Great work! :D

foumart says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very good well ballanced game. Reached the three pods level. An autogeneration will be awesome as now i'm remembering the patterns, especially when playing all over again in the next level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]