December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hey trees! Can you protect my egg? I get only one.

by ThetaTauTau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Works on the latest version of firefox, it may works on others browsers or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#301Humor2.75
#390Mood2.92
#399Graphics3.11
#444Overall3.07
#446Fun2.93
#485Theme2.89
#493Innovation2.93

Comments

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A simple game, a bit fun, and quite unforgiving...

ThetaTauTau says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Thanks,

It's "unforgiving" because of the theme "You only get one", "one" is "one egg" and also "one hit point".
The bird help a bit but yes, it still difficult. But it will be easier without the "monster stacking" bug. I will try to resolve it.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

The way the hedgehogs slowly slide in at the bottom makes me laugh so hard <3 I love this game

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Really liked it! Really fun mechanics, I ended up getting 88 Score before I died. Nice work

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04am

Haha awesome, love the art style! ;)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Got to 81 points. Not sure what threat a bee actually poses to an egg.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Good fun, think the collision is a bit off with the guys at the bottom and the left hand tree, i was firing stuff right through them!

frickajr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

very, very crazy! :) só faltou som...

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Pretty decent game, really wish it was a bit faster though.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Such a good idea! I'm not sure why, but i loved this so much. Only thing I would say is it's not much to do with the theme

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Where is the sound? Good job, I loved it.

ThetaTauTau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

"really wish it was a bit faster though."
I know, the time between waves is constant, so it's slow at the beginning and become faster and faster. I wanted to fix it but I prefered to correct some others things in the last hours of the compo.

"Such a good idea! I'm not sure why, but i loved this so much."
Thanks!

"Only thing I would say is it's not much to do with the theme"
I wanted to add some pictures and text that explain the "scenario" but because I don't speak english very well and I didn't have the time, I didn't. The link with the theme is the only one egg the bird get, while trees have many seeds.
It's weak but I wasn't inspired by this theme.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I really liked the graphics (color palette)!

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Fun game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]