December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Can Only Win

by yapshuter63 - Jam Entry

This is a play on words. You only have one = you only have won.
You must find a way to lose!

A and D to move, SPACE to jump.

Sorry about data folder error. If the error keeps happening, please comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#179Humor(Jam)2.71
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#336Innovation(Jam)2.67
#434Fun(Jam)2.41
#452Graphics(Jam)2.48
#483Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

It says that a data folder is missing.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

Missing the Data folder in the download link, cannot run. Include it and the executable in a zip or provide a web version.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

Unable to run due to missing mono.dll

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/Sean/Downloads/You Only Can Win_Windows/You Only Can Win_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

whoops. Better fix this...

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

Okay, should be totally fixed now.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

Game worked fine for me. No way to exit, had to Alt-F4 on Windows. Winning was never so painful! Source code?

erebusman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

Winzip says its invalid and cant open archive :(

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

sorry about the no exit. Ran out of time :(
I dunno about the Winzip thing. Unzipping seems to work fine.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26am

"The classic environment is no longer supported" ? Mac 10.8.5

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

I didn't have any problem running it. It's funny we both had similar ideas for our games. Good work!

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28am

Sorry, the mac version may not work :(

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Yeah, the OSX version is only 102 bytes. I doubt there's a whole game in there :) You might want to look into that.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

Hurray I lost!

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

@OnlySlightly :)
@johnfn yeah I miscompiled the mac version :P and they said that Unity cross-platform was easy XD

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

cool looking little guy... like that kind of artwork... win8 says "everything works fine" :D

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

Game worked fine. Very funny idea.

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43am

A fun, funny game. A bit too easy. There is also a bug by jumping too much and jumping out.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:25am

Cute idea; I'm a sucker for theme puns. Intuitive and pretty fun short game, though there are a few problems: You can jump outside the map! (It's not even that tricky; I did it on my second try because I thought that the corridor was a trap.) You can also get to the first spike by jumping over those two coins.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:18pm

So basically you swapped around coins and spikes and called it a game. I don't really approve, and while the pun is interesting, I found the execution... lackluster.

That said, the graphics are nice, and I like how there are multiple paths to take to losing.

On the other hand, the crippling flaw in this, as well as many other platforming games I've seen is buggy jumping mechanics. You can jump mid-air while you're falling. Being able to do this means you can fall out of the level, making you have to restart the game. It also means you can climb back up from lower areas that should have been one way. It also means that you can redirect if you realize you're about to fall on a coin.

Otherwise, this is a rather complete, if simple game, and I kind of like the idea behind it. It's also reasonably fun, and the movement is snappy, and quick, and that's pleasant.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

@Seigeenengine

Well, in my defense:
A: This is my first ludum dare
B: I am still a beginner coder
C: I'm probably one of the youngest people who entered
D: I was very busy over the weekend.

But still, thanks for the compliment :D

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42pm

@Tom 7
Thanks!

Harsay says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:10am

You just swapped coins with spikes. Well it's interesting but it needs more work in it. If it's one of your first games - well done and keep going! :)

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:30am

@yapshuter63
I completely understand.
A: This was my first LD as well :)
B: I am also what I would consider a beginner, although you may not.
D: As was I.

Have a nice day.

yapshuter63 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:09pm

@Harsay Thanks, and Good Luck

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I liked the graphics and saw that was your first LD, so congratz for that! :D
I would say that would be good if was more complex, but you justified that you are a beginner, so it is ok.
I hope you keep jamming! Experience will come with time! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]