December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Before Night Falls

by WetDesertRock - Jam Entry

You only have one day to complete each puzzle. However, you may replay the day with the echoes of the past helping you complete the puzzle.

This game could've been submitted to the compo, however more time was needed to create more levels. It is written in python with pygame.

Thanks goes out to Sim for creating a windows .exe for it. Thanks goes out to rxi for helping me make linux users like me (he helped package it).

To run you need pygame and at least python 2.6 (uses the standard json library).

And yes, Corridor Digital's Clock Blockers was used as inspiration: http://youtu.be/CBawCe6du3w

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#144Innovation(Jam)3.24
#184Fun(Jam)3.11
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#329Theme(Jam)2.60
#349Humor(Jam)2.05
#371Mood(Jam)2.61
#407Audio(Jam)2.22
#510Graphics(Jam)2.03

Comments

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Hey, great puzzle mechanic! It'd be interesting to flesh it out a bit more. Well done!

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

Slightly broken on a retina mac - only takes up a quarter of the window. Difficult to get past the title screen because the button positions don't match the hitboxes.

Besides that - cool idea. The puzzle advancement is a bit slow at first, but there are some interesting things going on once you get past the few few levels.

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37am

Nice job! That puzzle mechanic was realllllly clever. Though the progression of levels was a tad slow. Still I would love to see that mechanic be developed more.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

Cool idea! It took me a minute to wrap my head around the concept of echoes, but pretty easy once it clicked.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26am

As the others said, great mechanics ! Pretty cool game, good job !

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice puzzle game, could have a better presentation though.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

At first I thought it would be easy the whole time, but I found myself in trouble in the later levels, nice!

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

Good game!
Liked the echoes mechanic.
The first few puzzles after introducing the echoes were basically all solvable using the same basic technique.
The last lever however required a bit more thinking :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43am

Thanks for the feedback!

Yeah, I discussed at a little more in my postmortem, but I found that my playtesters were not understanding of the game mechanics after the first part of the tutorial. So after discussing with them I had a list of changes I needed to make. Most were interface changes, but I also thought more tutorial levels would help them learn. Seems like its not the same. Sorry for the ratio of tutorials to real levels.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:00am

niceeee

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

very interesting game. I'm pretty partial to puzzle games so this was a great play for me. I was a little confused at first, but nothing a little trial-and-error can't solve.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27am

great puzzle :D since I love puzzle I enjoy to play it.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09am

If you have a retina display mac, try doing what this answer on stack overflow says: http://stackoverflow.com/a/17257977

Besides that, I'm sorry, I cannot help too much. The only issue preventing you from playing it is on the main menu. If you can figure out the mouse offset to hit the play button, you will be able to play the rest of the game easily with just your arrow keys.

Gerjj says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01am

Love the puzzle element! It has potential!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Not bad It was fun and a great game.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Really like the idea, at first the solutions were pretty obvoius but then it got a bit harder. Could be really good if you make some more levels.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:29pm

It was fun playing your game. Only the later levels posed some challenge, but still good work on the level design for a first try.
For a Jam entry it, could have used some better graphics/audio.

Sim says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Fun little game. I've seen this idea a few times before but not exactly the same. My only complaint is a lot of the levels have straight-forward solutions - if there were more ways to interfere with your clones (e.g. changing their path by blocking it) then it'd make the levels more interesting.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:55am

A fair amount of you are commenting about the levels. Just for an explanation: I'm sorry they are slow, but I figured it was more of a crime to make it too hard and not introduce people to the game than it was to make it slower to start. Unfortunately, in making easy levels I cut out the amount of harder levels I was able to make in the timeframe. I do plan on adding in more levels and fleshing it out.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:40pm

the problem about the level is not that they are easy it's just that some of them are the same with a different shape. When you just solved a problem you want to see a brand new one, that's why the game seems slow.

Apart of that the game is great. I like the mechanic and also the word "echo". I wish you had time to implement some motion-tweening to see all my echoes moving around :)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I liked the idea of this game. Had a lot of fun playing it, good job!

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Very cool, reminds of the game 'cursor x10'

Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:50am

This game was pretty cool!! Sadly, it would not record with fraps so I couldnt include it in my Ludum dare 28 compilation video series... :/

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice puzzle game! It took me a couple of minutes to grasp the echoes concept, after that it was fun. The first levels are a bit too easy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]