December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Chance at Success

by TheLemonKing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One Chance at Success is a story-driven game. You are a lone person who moved to Starry City. You want to be successful but you only have one chance.

Note:

A & D to move. SPACE BAR to jump. If by a door or a person press J to trigger that event.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1639Coolness17%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:10pm

It's kinda fun. The terrible art kinda adds to the charm of the game. I sort of enjoyed it, but I wouldn't want to play it again.

spike_xp says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Aaaaaand... I happened to restart because I don't know that I should press J :V

It looks really good and smooth all over, but I haven't feel the YOGO. It's rather slow and I'm more cut out for games that pushes my reflexes and brain.

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

"If by a door or a person press J to trigger that event."

Oh.

I just kept jumping into him until I pushed that poor child off the cliff. YOLO.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Am I special? I can't find the super pencil! :C

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:56am

one of the first jumps in level 2 is hard if you don't wait until your character is almost completely over the edge. The rest of the game feels pretty trivial and the story doesn't seem to have a whole lot of depth. Failing once resulting in restarting the game was a tad frustrating.

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:18pm

So… there's a boy who needs help finding his pencil. You can push him off the screen and he gets annihilated. I'm probably missing something here. :)

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I do think there should be a lot more games where you can actually see the collision box of your character. This way you can make a very calculated choice, when to jump. And yes, not being able to find the SUPERPENCIL (lol) is kinda special :P ah, yes putting 'J' in your tutorial is probably a good idea, as are checkpoints for respawning, as is adding awesome music and sfx and an MMO world... ooooh featurecreap, sorry. Nice effort for a game made in one weekend!

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Well, it's not so excited to search for pencil ))
But this is a nice entry! good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]