Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monochrome - ApoorvaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Monochrome is a short and moody point-and-click story-based experience.

A cold winter night. An old man stands in front of the window, gazing into the horizon. Colors evade him, and so does the light. What is it out there, that he is drawn to?

Instructions:
Click on objects to see their descriptions. Click on the ground to move.

View ApoorvaJ's journal. | View all entries by ApoorvaJ

Ratings

Mood4.58
Coolness60%
#17Audio3.88
#26Overall3.95
#49Graphics4.09
#254Theme3.32
#350Innovation3.12
#507Fun2.85
#546Humor2.13

Comments

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:31pm

My first Ludum Dare game! I hope you guys enjoy it.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12am

..(T_T) this game is soo deep, i like it :)

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Poignant, touching, kept me riveted.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49am

Both pretty to see and play!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55am

A very touching work of art, great work.

rorycooke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17am

my favorite game of the compo so far, Its seems complete I don't think you need to add any thing to it

it's really good :)

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20am

Interesting. There are two entries called "monochrome". I couldn't figure out what to do aside from clicking on all the objects. It's more an interactive piece of artwork than it is a game, no?

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25am

That was simply brilliant. The story, music, graphics, everything is great here. Congrats.

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice feels.
Awesome. :D

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

Damn, can't score lower than top marks on Mood, what an emotionally driven story. Well done!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

Wasn't fun, I didn't understand what I was supposed to do, got bored after examining objects for around 5 minutes. Really nice mood though, poor old man.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really great entry. I liked the way you worked with the colors.

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53am

The mood and the artwork are great. I'm a bit frustrated by the slow pace, though; it almost feels like the game is lagging and I must admit it didn’t motivate me enough to play to the end.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57am

good work on the story and pixel art

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12am

Wow the thought in the game is great, Touch and deep love the story you got.

sarang says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice one! Simple enough to navigate, touching enough to keep on exploring and the subtle color changes made it more "interaction inviting"

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Ohhh! *_*

Avichal says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice game Apporva :)

SnehaEndait says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Beautiful! I wanted to keep clicking for more colors !

kik0729 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Damn fine entry. Reminded me of To The Moon in a way.

Crisius88 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I love the art work, fits very well. The music fits the scene very well.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

It's a great game! I really liked it!

person124 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

This game is amazing.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00am

Wonderful use of the theme, and the atmosphere/story is perfectly crafted! Great work with this!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

The only word that comes to my mind after playing this game is "Beautiful". I love the way you've used the theme with a simple story but still created something that's deep.

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51am

Wow, I *love* the mood you set. Stroke of brilliance, draining color from the objects you interact with.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30am

This game was so well-done and moving. My girlfriend cried while playing it, the mood was perfect.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:57am

Great entry, one of my favorites

Zerot says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:25pm

More story than game, but I liked it.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I almost shed a tear! Great art game, both from a graphics perspective but especially from a story perspective. I started playing being absolutely sure of the ending, but the actual resolution took me by surprise. Good job!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I enjoyed both the art and storytelling. Great work.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Unity, eh? From the sound of it, this is a pretty epically cool game that I won't get to play because there isn't a linux build. //(T.T)\\

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:12am

Awesome presentation. I touched me really. cool game art. nice soundstrack... well written short story. Enjoyed it!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

Lovely concept, nice work.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

A superb dose of melancholy.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I see it as a very nice and original experiment. I love the speed of the old man

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Wow. This is gorgeous. I will play it again later for sure. Congrats. Makes me want to learn Unity ;) What did you use for tilemaps?

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Wow, that packed some real emotional punch! Thank you for that pause in my day - moving and haunting, this is a great "game"

Shaun Lebron says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 9:15pm

this made me cry. the monochrome effect on objects is a really good way to drive the way story and interaction. and that ending..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]