Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Who's the Worst Person in the World? - whiteknife - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mark, an average guy, receives a strange package containing a black string and a letter from the mysterious "Murder Industries". He learns that if cut, the string will kill whoever he's thinking of - but he only has one hour to decide who to use it on.

Deciding that this could be a force for good, Mark sets out to discover who the worst person in the world is so that he can kill them, but ultimately - the decision is up to you.

This game was made in Twine, and is best played on the web.

If you play the game, please leave a comment below! I'd love to find out what people thought of things, and what everyone's first choice was at the end. Thanks for playing!

View whiteknife's journal. | View all entries by whiteknife

Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Theme3.51
#166Mood3.35
#429Overall3.09
#437Humor2.36
#528Innovation2.86
#677Fun2.60
#782Audio1.32
#981Graphics1.50

Comments

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46am

I actually considered doing something like this (one bullet, who'll you fire it at) but then I've decided that it won't be much of game when you have to do only one choice and only.
The writing is good but in the end it's and interesting shorstory (although I'd swear I've read something like this before) with ability to change the last paragraph and making "player" to think about the choices... (My first try was to kill the boss of Murder Industries, because I really don't like an idea that something like this would exist in the world)

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

Somebody watched "The Box" recently lol. Interesting take, a fun little thing, more choice would certainly keep the pace up. Very well executed.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Very nice writing. The only flaw I can pick is that I don;t like that a lot of options at the end return the same result.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14am

Interesting concept :)

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Awesome writing style! Keep up the great work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

I might be biased, but I love Twine games. Awesome work.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Nice work on the whole thing.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

I don't particularily enjoy text games, so I'll try to go easy on this one. The text is really small and could have been larger. It made for quickly tired eyes.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55am

First time with a Twine game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Always impressed with longer stories.
People who manage to write plenty.. good!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

First Twine game I've ever played. I loved it. One word:

Gripping.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Yeah, really interesting! I loved how you mixed the real-world knowledge about current dictators in. The endings all felt different and ethically ambiguous. The fact that the story only has one actual choice in it, which would usually be a flaw in an interactive medium, fits the game competition and subject matter so well.

My one piece of advice is that neither Mark's friend nor sister felt very likable. They both give intelligent, interesting responses, but it was weird Mark thought poorly of his only two close relationships.

In terms of my final choice, I felt that the serial rapist was the best choice. I think the death of a dictator can usually just splinter an organization, rather than fixing the underlying problems. I don't think I could have been so coldly logical in real life, but it seems like it would have done the most good with the fewest unintended consequences.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Im a good person and I didnt kill anyone... I regret it lol

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

A nice, thought provoking interactive narrative.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Well written and a very interesting read. I liked the various points of view on the subject given by the other people. Good job.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I think it was well written and quite engrossing!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

its ok

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Good writing and nice interactive fiction!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

Great Story!

Hiku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I had a little trouble to read it all (I'm french), but it was still very nice :)

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Fantastic game. Congrats!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Amazing! Can't wait for the sequel :b

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41pm

impressive length, and your writing is very clean and smooth.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

haven't seen many games like this well done :D

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Icredible! I really enjoyed it. Example of how with so little you can achieve so much in term of atmosphere. I would like to see extension of the idea.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35pm

not normally my type of game but i did enjoy it :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

If there were more choices it would improve the game

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

really interesting experience!

eli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Pretty chilling. Nice interpretation and very detailed.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I chose to kill the head of Murder Industries: I could resist the symmetry there. A nice closed loop. I was disappointed by the fact that my choice seemed to be a "wrong answer", but then maybe they all are.

This was nice! A little too American, maybe? I think this subject matter deserves to be collaborative: maybe try a remake with your pen-pal on the other side of the world?

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very very very nice job! I love story-games. Simple and fun.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Nice writting. I try to not read the comment to avoid spoiler. I hope everybody do the same. I choose the person in charge of Murder Industries, but i could kill anybody else of the list. The world is corrupt :(. Glad to see something different. Congratulations!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:27am

Very nice writing, and an interesting idea ! Would love to read a novel based on that kind of story. Well played !

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:25am

I'm glad you tried to expand on the theme in a meaningful way, instead of just saying "you've got one bullet" or "one life". I also like how the story is interesting for debate and a little educational in the wikipedia sense, while not coming off as too preachy. I think it was tastefully done!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:15am

Not exactly my kind of game, but it definitely tells an interesting story.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16am

Cool little game!

Given the medium, I wished more options were available to enable forks in the story and add some interesting re-play value. But that imply a way bigger complexity in how to connect all the dots :)

In order to make the story more impacting, maybe it would have been cool to play around with the way the text is displayed. Instead of having one big block of text coming to our face, display things letter by letter, play with the tempo, the colors, etc.

That was still nice experience though! Good job ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I liked this a lot. The writing is OK, not really outstanding (a bit too wordy for me), but the descriptions of the string are great. Story-wise, it's very good. The initial plot felt a bit too similar to "Death Note" for me (which you admittedly point out), but I like your story more. You do a good job balancing the various sides of the moral argument. The story itself is pretty linear, but I think the ending provides enough options to make all players satisfied.

I got a bit creeped out when the story presented me with real-world leaders to kill: for some reason, that feels more disturbing to me than the various LD entries about going on a killing spree in the workplace. But it feels realistic that Mark would think about killing them, and after all, the game doesn't force you into killing. (And it makes sense that the concept of a magical death-string should freak me out.)

A couple of typoes and other nitpicks: "bizzare" should be "bizarre"; "diagree"; towards the end, you're missing a space between "said" and "half-heartedly". Also, dialogue should end with a comma rather than a full stop when followed by a dialogue tag (e.g. "she said").

In the end, I chose...

SPOILER


The person who was going to commit the most murders or rapes later on. If I'm going to get a magical way of killing people, I guess I might as well use it to save some lives.

In short, a very good and unsettling story.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:55pm

SPOILERS:

Interesting idea. After playing through a few times, I was slightly disappointed that most of the decisions seemed to bring me to the same final point, but otherwise it was a very good, through-provoking story. I particularly liked Kyle's portion.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

The test esthetic is correct. But lack of animations...

pjchardt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Interesting concept. It would be compelling if the player could type in the name at the end instead o picking from a list, then using online data to contextualize their choice.

Kane says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:18am

I had fun with this, and discovered Twine at the same time, really good work, and an excellent story !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]