December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hamsters in Space

by majorcrampas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey, space hamsters are very cute!
With hamstersynthesis they are also able to produce O2 out of carrots.
You have crashed on their planet. You have to repair your ship by collecting all the parts with your grapple beam.
With that beam you also can drain the O2 of the hamsters. But then they'll die eventually...

Made with GameMaker Studio 1.2,
http://www.bfxr.net/,
Graphics Gale.
Music from PaulRdi (https://soundcloud.com/cantina-project)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#219Humor3.00
#281Audio2.93
#523Mood2.71
#557Graphics2.81
#694Innovation2.59
#710Overall2.75
#790Fun2.41
#909Theme2.00
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Dem Space Hamsters :D
Nicely done :)

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I hate gamemaker for it's audio engines... apparently only chrome can play the sound. If you don't have google chrome, you have to download the game to enjoy it completely.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I LOVE the hamster! <3

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice game, I like the graphics! :)

smash ball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Eighteen dead hamsters...love what the game tells me because of that.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

First try, dead hamsters all around! Funny concept, I was actually able to escape without sucking any O2 out of the little guys.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35am

i love hamster

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:43am

Fixed the audio engine!
@smash ball glad that somebody found out. Thought that i wrote all the lines for nothing. Thank you so much for all your feedback!

Tuuka says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

Charming little game, nice work :)

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Nice game, I liked the concept and the hamsters were great :) Only problem is you can complete it with out ever using the hamsters.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:36am

Cute hamster :). I would have exchanged the pilot with the hamster ;).

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Poor hamsters :/ It was cute, but I see no connection to theme (not that I blame you though)

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:48am

Poor hamsters. Killed them all :-(

I like how the space ship uses a wooden steering wheel :D

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24am

I wanted to drag one of the hamsters with me, but I killed it instead... I'm a monster :'(

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:51am

Cool music...and hamster!!! haha

lorniebear says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Cool idea, good graphics. At the end, where it said 'press any key to restart', it seems to only be the spacebar that works...

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Killing off the hamsters by accident (or on purpose) is quite sad and there doesn't really feel a need to drain their oxygen anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]