December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get Juan

by Rynig - Jam Entry

How to run:
Follow the link above, select file->Download and save the file
Extract the zip file
Windows: run.bat
Linux/Mac: run.sh

Requires java(>=1.6) to run.

Controls:
Space: spawn minion (if you have enough spare parts)
Arrow keys: move


Comments:
Because of time constraints, we weren't able to work the theme into the game's theme the way we intended to (hence the disclaimer on the main menu.) For the same reason, we didn't have enough time to balance the game to be challenging and add different minion/enemy types.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1456Coolness30%

Comments

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

Your link goes to the google drive webpage, not a direct download. Not a big deal, but kinda annoying. I clicked run.bat, but it just opens a console window and then it instantly closes.

Twila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

Started to lag noticeably by the time I got to the 5th wave right after taking this: http://i.imgur.com/BA6sMz8.png beforehand. Seems that the enemies all firing at once makes all the calculations for those projectiles happen at the same time, causing that spike at a fixed interval. Other than that, and the amusing warning at the start, the core mechanic grew on me and the movements and spawning of your minions seems good! I thought there was going to be an issue because for a while I was able to just cram them either (1) where the enemies were spawning or (2) in the little entryways to the top-right area, but then the opponents seemed to increase their spawn area, heh. I think you could certainly keep improving it if you felt motivated to! Oh, and a pause button would've helped a bit with all the frenetic movements, I could barely get a screencap in by the time it got hectic! :) (Final score of 105~)

Rynig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

BluShine: sorry! I didn't think about where to host it beforehand. It may be that you downloaded it before I reuploaded it compiled against java 1.6 instead of 1.7 (what I initially uploaded it as)

Twila: Yeah, I really didn't think the mechanics through that well, one think I particularly dislike is that once you have enough minions around the spawning areas, all enemies seem to die instantly. My collision detection is also O(n^2) right now too, it would be possible to use a quadtree and take that down to O(nlog(n)) if I had more time (and eliminate much of the lag)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

seems there is a crashing bug that keeps it from running on my osx machine

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

You know, I like the idea of killing your enemies with zombies and using the parts to build more zombies. It's a unique take.

It's only connected to the theme by a pun, but I actually think that's funny so it gets a pass for that too.

No sound, though, and actually playing the game wasn't too interesting.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24am

Nice concept! I'd like to see this fleshed out! I'd also like not to die in one hit... )':

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18am

Quirky and odd.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:24am

Nice! The first game I played this Dare and enjoyed it! (thou i did just start a moment ago). The mechanic is nice and interesting, and I love the fact that you start with 5 of everything, however absurd that is :D This does however look more like a game from the "You are the villain" theme, but still, you have my like.

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Still can't make this work on Windows :(. I tried "java run.bat" and got an error "Could not find or load main class run.sh".

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:36pm

A pretty cool game concept. :) Even some basic pathfinding going on there, well done! I had an issue with the body parts getting stuck in walls which kinda ruined it for me. Good effort!

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Pretty cool game!
I had fun playing, though I always died gathering parts, because enemies spawned right in my face :(
Besides that, I like the frankenstein gameplay :D
Good work.

P.S.: +1 for the pun in the title :P

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:03pm

There is a bug in the .sh script causing it not to work. It works if I enter this:

java -classpath .:./bin:./lib/lwjgl.jar:./lib/lwjgl_util.jar -Djava.library.path=./native/linux com.rynig.ld28.LD28

Great idea, and pretty fun game! The fact that you die instantly from one shot makes it a little random though. Could be great with some polishing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]