December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

UNO

by wimmi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first attempt at creating my own videogame.

You will probably notice this when you play the game, but just to clarify:
I have no experience in coding, programming, graphic or audio design.

I made this game using Multimedia Fusion 2. All the art was also creating with MMF2. The soundeffects were created with SFXR.

I didn't have the time to add enough content to really call this a game, but here is a prototype of the idea I had for the theme "You only get one".

UNO is supposed to be a puzzle platformer where your vision is limited to one type of objects.
You have to pick what you want to see. Either your character, the coins you have to collect to finish the level, the enemies that are trying to kill you or the exit door.

Controls:
A - Left / D - Right
Space - Jump
1 - Show character
2 - Show coins
3 - Show enemies
4 - Show doors

C - Cheatmode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#235Theme3.36
#538Innovation2.85
#597Humor2.00
#669Fun2.62
#678Audio2.04
#788Overall2.64
#858Mood2.14
#951Graphics1.86

Comments

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Don't get discouraged, the main reason to do ludum dare is too learn and to make, so even if you don't think the game is that good this time, everytime you make a game you'll improve, but for a first game this is amazing, mine was an point and click game so well done

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:07pm

For your first game this is pretty good! Good thing you entered it. If you keep it up you'll improve in no time and be able to make the games you want to make.

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I think it is nice for your first try.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Sorry, but your game doesn't show coins, (maybe spikes), etc.
So I can't play it... but nice screenshots! ;)

wimmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Thanks for the comments :)
While checking the game I noticed that I forgot to remove my cheatmode. By pressing C you can see the whole level and remove the whole connection to the "You only get one" theme.

@TheJackiMonster: That's the purpose of the game, you can change your vision by pressing 1, 2, 3, or 4 on your keyboard.
Or do you mean that you still didn't see anything afterwards? Try pressing C.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Wow this game is pretty cool for someone with so little experience! Keep up the good work!

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Interesting idea =) keep it up :D

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Great for a first game! I love the concept, it fits in really well with the theme.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice, even with lack of content this gets points for originality from me.

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Hey! Nice game to be the first time!...

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Interesting mechanic with very basic audio/graphics

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Very cool, solid use of theme. Well executed for your first! You'll only get better with experience.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Way better grahics than my entry!
And good job for your first game!

Killswitch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46am

The fact that you can't see the player and the enemies at the same time kinda frustrates me. But other than that, this is an original idea! :)

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52am

This was a really cool use of the theme and had an interesting mechanic.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I think the game works just fine and it is a good effort.

stenol says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Gratz for your first video game. :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Congratulations on your first game. A nice take on the theme. You've brought some much needed originality to it.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Definitely not bad for your first game, far from it. It actually plays quite well - especially regarding physics, collision and controls, I've seen a lot worse around here. Wise choice of yours to stick with a relatively simple concept which is suitable for a 48h compo. Keep it up, participate in more game jams in the future and within a year you'll be creating great experiences. :)
(As a sidenote, you may want to visit compohub.net for an overview of game jams around the world)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]