December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tough

by anvoz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about an extremely tough guy who is trying to do something. If you can figure it out, you will win the game.

This is the first time I use a game framework (Phaser), or the first playable game I've ever made.

Note: The clouds, the sky and the ground (ledge) photos weren't made by me. They are from example assets folder of Phase framework.

Post compo:
2013-12-22: Changed image of the clouds, the sky and the ground.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Humor2.66
#447Innovation2.99
#462Theme2.95
#696Graphics2.53
#768Audio1.37
#788Overall2.64
#829Fun2.35
#848Mood2.19

Comments

sntran says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48am

This game is short but a nice touch. It's tough to kill the character until you figure out how. Nice game.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

I couldn't figure it out!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

I still haven't killed him...

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57am

I can't kill him...
anyone can?

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Nice game. Controls well. Really nice clouds, too!

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

You will be surprised if you find the way to kill him. It's not hard, just don't go too far.

And if you can kill him, you may want to try again to get better score. Don't forget to submit your score here :).

@meek: The cloud, sky and ground are from Phaser's assets.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Ha ha, confused at first, but finally found out the way to kill him. It's strange that the interface (score and life) doesn't follow the character though.

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Hehe, that's clever :-P Took me some time to figure out, but got there in the end. -272 is my record so far.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Love the idea! I couldn't finish it but the art was really cute and the concept (I spoiled myself) is fun.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Yeah... needed that spoiler. Thanks! :p

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Wow that's so tricky! I like it!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I am a bit confused, haha. You're supposed to kill him? But he's so tough!

xyrix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

This is a cute little game - I worked out what you had to do way before I managed to get it right. Alas, I had to get my laptop out to get a better framerate/smoothness XD. I like the graphic style of it particularly :-).

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

I couldn't figure it out but if I have time I'll try again, I really want to figure it out.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

Makes me think of Karoshi crossed with some kind of reverse-I Wanna Be The Guy. I'd love to see this concept expanded into a bigger game!

Rynig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

I didn't see how I won the first time I did it, interesting take on the one life mechanic that the theme makes obvious.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

It's a short game but it's enjoyable.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

Ha! That was pretty tough, but I beat it eventually. (Ok, I read some of the half-spoilers in the comments too. =T)

The enemies' faces when they run into your guy and realize how tough he is...hilarious.

Dooleus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

Couldn't figure out how to kill him. Didn't enjoy trying to figure it out.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22am

Really funny =D. Cool idea, took me awhile to figure out the answer.

JackBid says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24am

A short fun and enjoyable game! I really like the graphics and concept.

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42am

I could't figure it out right away, the background looks good, the HUD doesn't follow the player past the first screen width.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09pm

The HUD only stays on the first screen is as intended :)

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Did not get it, and nothing hooked me to try and get it.

Also, unless I'm mistaken, using pre-made assets is frowned upon and it appears the clouds weren't made by you. The characters look good though, so I'm sure you could have made as-good clouds yourself. Next time!

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14pm

@hazzen You're right. The clouds are from Phaser's example assets folder. I think using photos from an open source project is acceptable but I will be more careful and try to create all of them myself next time. Thank you.

The clouds, the sky and the ground (ledge) weren't made by me. I also edited my entry's note about this.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

This was a fun little game. Pretty clever :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very clever, I had to click the the spoiler in the end to find out what to do, and even then I had trouble. How you had to win was really clever though, nice job!

sekaru says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Great idea and nice use of the theme.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

So ded.

ittlebit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Clever, it took a while to actually do even after I figured out how to do it.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I'm not the only man who have made a incomprehensible javacript game in this ludum dare \0/ Hard to find how died so I cheat with the source after few minutes of search :( But instead of that lot of fun :D Very great game ;)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Haha, managed to win after a looong time. Had kinda figured out what to do, but took me long enough to see the mechanism leading to it.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Interesting idea, but if someone doesn't read the spoiler, they might dismiss it as just a simple platform game with nothing more to it.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Innovative way to beat the game ;) You should make all your own graphics (and sound, music, code, etc.) if you're entering the Compo - else just enter in the Jam.

anvoz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:28am

@Dry Tree I understand. I've just made a post-compo using my own photos for the clouds, the sky and the ground :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Excellent take on the theme and the 'one life' trope, this kind of game is precisely the sort of thing that can only be explored in a Ludum Dare and not in mainstream games. I love it because of this.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Interesting little puzzle. I couldn't figure it out for the longest time, until I accidentally made a many-enemy pile-up and was bouncing around.

mortus says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Quite challenging in its own unique way. Platformer mechanics is solid and it would be fun to play if it was bigger, right now it's fun to complete! (I didn't figure out what to do without the spoiler)

Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

Nice game ! I tried for 5 minutes to win without cheating but could not find out without the spoiler :P Cool challenge !

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Enjoyed this game! The mystery of trying to work out what to do was fun to try to solve. I twigged that suicide was the only option and noticed the unusual way the hud is embedded in the world but didn't put 2 and 2 together. Good presentation, would have loved sound ;)

goerp says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

That was interesting. I'm glad I persevered.
The surprised expression of the 'enemies' was funny. A bit similar to mine when I understood what I had to do.

The instruction were cryptic though, without the hints above and knowing there was a solution I would never have found it out. That's not your fault, but with the Ludum Dare some games have broken or not well implemented features because of time constraints. Here it was intentional.

Original this.

goerp says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Oh, I played your post compo and I just got the text cloud1.png and cloud2.png. Is it broken?

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:43pm

@goerp It's not broken. I tried to replace the clouds but I'm not good at drawing and it would take a lot of times so it ended up with those text. Sorry I made another confusing thing again. Perhaps it would be clearer if I used the text "cloud1.png was here" :)

http://anvoz.github.io/tough/post-compo/assets/cloud1.png
http://anvoz.github.io/tough/post-compo/assets/cloud2.png

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really cool idea!
My main problem is that sometimes you don't bounce off enemies, which is required to finish the game.
Other than that, good job!

Fenixin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice joke. SPOILERS AHEAD!!!! I think you can improve the experience (gameplay apart) by allowing the player to "hit" the score and other sections of the interface so this could allow the player to have a hint.

It does not matter if you say explicitly the goal of the game, that the guy is trying to kill himself.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Great twist :D did not find myself what to do advice was so helpful

van noctar says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good graphism!

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:26pm

It was hard to figure out this game even with the reading the first spoiler. And as a few seem to have attested below, it wasn't only me. I like the idea though. But to make the game complete and more fun, the game itself would need to assist the player in understanding what the player should do. I was about to comment on the fact that the score and the lives doesn't scroll with the player, but that could indeed have been used more clearly as an indication of what the objective was. Maybe the character should look at the objective some times. And so on. Good start though.

anvoz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:05am

@Fenixin: I will do as your suggestion on the next update. Thank you :)

@local minimum: I understand. There is nothing that assists the player what to do on the game and having to add spoilers was really bad. I will try to make everything clearer on the next update. Your suggestion about the character will look at the objective some times is really nice. Thank you :)

veiadoida says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:03pm

that was tough indeed, but if people spend enough time, they will get it. i didn't get it, unfortunatly. had to check out the spoiler haha
but it's a good idea, anyway. :)

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Ha ha, I win - using spoilers of course! ;)

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Nice game but figuring out the goal is a bit hard.

dcampos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I liked the humor! Actually, I won the game by accident! ;)

mystakin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This may be my favorite implementation of the theme. I don't think you need to hide the first spoiler, though. The game made a lot more sense and was much more clever once I knew how it tied to the theme. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]