December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One Ring

by Mocuto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the zip, open the index.html, not the default.html.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Audio3.10
#453Mood2.83
#530Theme2.81
#536Fun2.81
#616Overall2.86
#685Graphics2.57
#693Humor1.81
#792Innovation2.43
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

I can't find the key to "swing" witch should be 2 but it isn't? Walking works fine but I can't fight back!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Really cool ! Not as easy as I first thought. Really great idea, the one ring that control them all ;) Cool music too ;) It was really fun to play, great work!

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

The key to swing is Z, sorry the font is kind of ambiguous between the two. Thanks a lot for the feedback I really appreciate it.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

Fun concept, good music, good graphics. This was a good one!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

Wait...are you sure you're not violating a copyright here?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Quite nice game mechanics! The different enemy behaviors make gameplay pretty interesting. But 188 kills is waaay too much D:

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Again, ambiguous font. It is 100, not 188. I wonder if that counts as a typo...

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Apart from the iffy font readability I thought it was pretty fun. Hard, but fun.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Ahw.. wanted to play this. Whenever I press ENTER in the main menu nothing happens.. the screen stays black. Ran in Mozilla.

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I liked this, but mostly just because it was related to The Hobbit

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Heh nice! the damn arrows are always the death of me...

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

This seems very derivative... Fight mechanic works well and the music is SWEET. Only loosely tied to the theme though

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

FANTASTIC! The title tune is a great interpretation! Very good graphics, solid gameplay! My favorit!

But as stated elsewhere, 'z' is the worst choice for a button, because it is flipped with 'y' on many localisations(me = german). Funny that so many devs still use it, this is already the third installation in this jam that i experienced..

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28am

I like the music. I would suggest using a better font next time. I too thought I had to kill 188 orcs. All in all a descent game.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Like the reference ! Good job for the ring, aha !

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17pm

good mechanic with the ring! Quite difficult since the collision boxes seem large (pretty unforgiving) and the player moves fast. Had fun though!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:19pm

At first i didn't understand, the second time i understand, the third i liked, and then i found it really fun. i had doubt on the theme but the game work well even if it's really too hard. the bilbo hitbox is bigger than we expect it to be. Nice game

Moosefly says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:49pm

As others have mentioned, there seems to be something weird going on with the hitboxes. Died for no apparent reason a few times. It might have been more interesting had the sprites been bigger.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]