December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

one.job:survive

by joekinley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control with mouse and keyboard.
Try to survive.

Collect coins and buy buffs:

1 - Faster ship
2 - Faster shoot
3 - Longer shoot
4 - Stronger shoot
5 - Health

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Audio3.14
#245Fun3.26
#326Mood3.00
#354Overall3.18
#515Graphics2.91
#859Innovation2.26
#939Theme1.91
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01am

It feels so good to control. Real classic fun. But what is the 'only one' theme?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

pew pew pew pew pew pew pew!

Typedeaf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:58am

This was fun ^^ I really like the sound effects ;P It also had very nice effects

miwuc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Cutest shooting sound ever!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Not entirely on theme, but I really liked the pixel effects and was amused by the sounds. Polished.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I loved the sound and the particle effects. It seems the player ship was somehow reversed. Apart from that, the game seemed well polished and solid.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:11am

Missed the theme part, but cool game, very fast and frantic. Would like the bullets to last longer / shoot further and the upgrades come a little faster compared to the difficulty curve.

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:37am

I think the upgrades took a bit too long to save up for, but it wasn't too bad. The particle effects and sound effects are nice.

BluMist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:10am

Classic game play, also liked the pew pew noise.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:13am

I liked this, it was fun to play. The music was awesome.

Inso says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:14am

Good game.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:12am

I'm currently in the middle of wave 22 or 23. I pretty much feel invincible at this point. I emit a pretty much unbroken stream of projectiles that will reach from one corner to the center of the screen. At the moment, they do 9 damage each (I think current enemy health is 5 or 6) and I move quickly enough that I'm starting to have trouble picking up gold. xD

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:21am

Funfunfunfun pew pew sound was cool. Nice game, I liked it :)

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Cool entry. It's pretty fun. It gets a bit repetitive though. Not very challenging either. I'm not sure how I can die, after upgrades.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:10am

pew pew pew! I like this sound :)
The best sound ever! ;D
But, I can't find "only one" theme in game :c

joekinley says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

The only one theme is pressed into the title, your ONLY ONE JOB is to SURVIVE. That's a theme right? :D

burlapjack says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It's a pretty solid shooter. It kind of reminds me of Robotron.

DST says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Well done, good mechanics and nice sound :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Fun, but gets boring quickly...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]